My Dead Girlfriend – Conception For Three Forms Of Unhappiness At The State Of Existence

yuuhi2
[picture by johannes voss, detail]

I guess today’s post is different from the others, a little bit more serious, and probably holds a bigger value than lots of previous ones.
I want to talk a bit about it, about music, about everything that makes my vision a little bit more clear.
I always separated japanese music from non-japanese music.
For some reason, I can’t easily say that I listen to some artists / bands and also to japanese ones. It’s just too strange to me, and I really don’t know why. Even though I listen more to non-japanese music, I love japanese music, whether it’s doujin, touhou, arranges, originals, whatever.
Then, I’ve found out about Shoegaze, a post-rock musical sub-genre.
There are lots of japanese shoegaze bands that I’ve listened to until now.
Finding out about shoegaze and similar post-rock styles of music opened up a new world before my very eyes.
The barrier between japanese and non japanese music suddenly crumbled for a while. I think japanese shoegaze was the music genre I was unconsciously searching for a long time.
That’ why today’s post is a special one. Because rather than the song itself, it’s about a genre, about music, about a new look to the same world.
But of course it’s also a translation post, being this blog about them, at least on a foreground side.
I can’t do anything more than suggesting you bands like My Dead Girlfriend, Shoujoskip, Tokyo Shoegazer, Clams, She Her Her Hers, Asobi Sex, Parasol, and lots more…
I wish I could make posts like this one, introducing to you more songs, artist, band and styles of this genre, but the sad thing is that the lyrics are pretty damn impossible to find.
So, if I happen to find some, expect more shoegaze-focused posts like this.
I think this style of music reflects my style / ideals / vision of the world more than touhou arranges / doujin music does, that’s why I want to give it more space on my wordpress.
And that’s why it’s so important to me. I couldn’t care less about becoming someone online.
But if I have to write about something, I’d like to write more about what really matters to me… or better, to the one behind Shion, behind Foreground Noises, behind everything else. This is just like poetry, kind of. Maybe more fitting for such a place.
Let’s get to the song, Conception For Three Forms Of Unhappiness At The State Of Existence (kind of a long title, huh?).
It’s not the song I love the most from My Dead Girlfriend (those could may be Watashi no Aishita Manatsu no Shinigami, Sweet Days and Her Last Kiss or Nou ni Tokeru Asobi etc etc…), and I don’t even think that’s the most appropriate song to act as a symbol for japanese shoegaze, but I like it a lot anyways, and I was lucky enough to find its lyrics online.
I don’t think these lyrics are about a suicide. Or better, not an actual one.
I can totally see a love story filled with gaps they couldn’t fill, something the person talking in the lyrics maybe didn’t want, but now can’t stop thinking about.
As if he/she finally understood the value of something he/she had right after he/she lost it.
While the other… jumped down. To his/her own life. Towards his/her own choices that, maybe, lead him/her into someone else.
Songs like that can only come out from the cracks of a broken heart. That’s what makes it really beautiful.
That’s probably why I can feel it all very close to me.
I hope someone will spend some minutes to read this and to listen to this song and others.
I think that’s the beginning of a new type of posts.
It’s a matter of lyrics after all. Expect more posts like that in the future. From the same band too (foreshadowing next post?).

My Dead Girlfriend – Conception For Three Forms Of Unhappiness At The State Of Existence

蝉がぽとりと落ちて
夏の響きが蘇る
朽ち果てた腕 抱えて
君との日々を思い出す

semi ga potori to ochite
natsu no hibiki ga yomigaeru
kuchihateta ude kakaete
kimi to no hibi o omoidasu

A cicada falls down making a faint sound
And the echo of summer is yet revived
Holding my arm under yours, decayed,
Remembering the days I spent with you

“いつかは”なんて はしゃいで
夏の畦道 暮れる夕陽
繋いだ腕が離れて
田んぼの悪魔 踊りだす

“itsuka wa” nante hashai de
natsu no azemichi kureru yuuhi
tsunaida ude ga hanarete
tanbo no akuma odoridasu

“One day”, with such joy,
On a footpath between rice fields, by the setting sun
The arm I held firmly slipped away
As the ricefield’s demons started dancing

追いかけて 追いかけて
君の肩を捕まえて
追いかけて 追いかけて
君の息に捕まえて

oikakete oikakete
kimi no kata o tsukamaete
oikakete oikakete
kimi no iki tsukamaete

I’ll run after you, I’ll chase you
And I’ll lay my hands on your shoulders
I’ll run after you, I’ll chase you
And I’ll catch your breath

少し晴れた日曜日に
外の世界へ連れ出した
君は少しはにかんで
僕の袖口を捕まえた

sukoshi hareta nichiyoubi ni
soto no sekai e tsuredashita
kimi wa sukoshi hanikande
boku no sodeguchi o tsukamaeta

You took me on an outside world
On that almost cloudless sunday
And, a bit bashfully,
You held my sleeves tightly

少し晴れた日曜日に
君を騙して閉じ込めた
二度と元に戻せない
君は一人で飛び降りた

sukoshi hareta nichiyoubi ni
kimi o damashite tojikometa
nido to moto ni modosenai
kimi wa hitori de tobi orita

On that almost cloudless sunday
I locked you up in my lies;
I can’t go back from the beginning
Because you jumped down by yourself

少し晴れた日曜日に
外の世界へ連れ出した
君は少しはにかんで
僕の袖口を捕まえた

sukoshi hareta nichiyoubi ni
soto no sekai e tsuredashita
kimi wa sukoshi hani kande
boku no sodeguchi o tsukamaeta

You took me on an outside world
On that almost cloudless sunday
And, a bit bashfully,
You held my sleeves tightly

少し晴れた日曜日に
君を騙して閉じ込めた
二度と元に戻せない
君は一人で飛び降りた

sukoshi hareta nichiyoubi ni
kimi o damashite tojikometa
nido to moto ni modosenai
kimi wa hitori de tobi orita

On that almost cloudless sunday
I locked you up in my lies;
I can’t go back from the beginning
Because you jumped down by yourself

Credits

Title: Conception For Three Forms Of Unhappiness At The State Of Existence
Source: Original
Vocals: Ishikawa, Takahashi
Lyrics: My Dead Girlfriend (死んだ僕の彼女)
Arrangement:石田ショーキチ (Ishida Shoukichi)
Circle: My Dead Girlfriend (死んだ僕の彼女)
Album: Underdrawing for Three Forms of Unhappiness at the State of Existence
Release Date: 03/14/2012

Listen to it on Youtube here: My Dead Girlfriend – Conception For Three Forms Of Unhappiness At The State Of Existence

Translated by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use it, but don’t forget to credit!

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Shoegaze and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Dead Girlfriend – Conception For Three Forms Of Unhappiness At The State Of Existence

  1. Attaris says:

    I really think that my dead girlfriend should have more audience. Is one of the most honest bands i’ve ever heard. Its simply too emotional and full of meaning.
    I like Ixtab more than Loveless its self. Because My dead girlfriend have something that i cannot describe. Something that make me think about the loss and the melancholy of loss.
    Is a poetry for the eternal suffering of love.
    Also, thaks for the lyrics. I get a little obsesed finding the meaning of all of his songs
    Greetings from Mexico (And sorry for my awful english)

    • Thanks for your comment, the english was absolutely fine and I think the same too! If you want to read more lyrics for their song, visit my other wordpress (www.kangekienkai.wordpress.com), I’ve translated almost every song by them in here 🙂

  2. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

