[Request(?)] Sally – min~眠~

min2

【Requested by Helly

…Yeah, yeah, “requested”.
I know you requested me this song because you read this post and you knew that it was my favourite touhou arrange ever. So… thanks, actually!
I simply pretend not to see this reality and translate it anyways, because you know I wanted to! But first, few words.
As you read before on my Top 15 Touhou Arranges (which is kind of becoming a thing among other translators, and I wish it’ll keep being something people want to write about! [2017 edit] but I made it private because I can’t stick to it anymore, at least not at 100%), this is an arrange of a theme that I can hardly remember, of a character that I can hardly remember in a game that I can hardly remember.
I was really disappointed with Ten Desires because I found it way too easy game-wise, too poor music-wise and too disappointing character-wise.
The track I liked the most from this game was Night Sakura of Dead Spirits and… it’s just the first stage theme! Come on!
Kyouko’s theme was a music piece that I’ve never enjoyed that much and never actually considered to be a worthy touhou piece of music, but this song is different.
Giving that its result is awesome and is based off a theme that I don’t like makes it even more amazing than it already is.
This song gives me different feelings, mostly nostalgia and loneliness. And yeah, it’s also true that I remember this song coming to my head on a night of fireworks alone on the beach. I can’t clearly remember if that really happened or I dreamed about it, though.
But that image is perfect, and goes perfectly with what this song makes me feel.
The rap vocals are soothing, gorgeous, perfect! As Kafka Fuura said, “眠 -min- has spoken sex, which is why it’s so good”, and I think he’s right. Hahah
Anyway, this song’s style is amazing, its solo is stunning, the instruments couldn’t be better, everything, everything, everything is perfect.
I like the lyrics too, but that may be the most noticeable “flaw” of it.
Because they’re sometimes really good but, imho, sticks way too much on Kyouko’s character and could have been better if there were no stanzas refering to things such as “yamabiko” or something like that.
That apart, a masterpiece. And something that Sally won’t ever reply, in my opinion. Well, they made other great songs too, actually. OR, zen~然~, Reikon Mythology, plaza roboscape
So yeah, they’re good sometimes, but if I have to say the title of their best song, you know what I’ll say…

Sally – min~眠~

世に虚しさが満ちるならば
其れを捨て 向かう一路彼方
稜線 尾根に沿う裸弦の月
緑の眼下には千の国

yo ni munashisa ga michiru naraba
sore o sute mukau ichiro kanata
ryousen one ni sou ragen no tsuki
midori no ganka ni wa sen no kuni

If in this world emptiness fills everything,
Then why not throwing it away and face towards that far off road?
A thin crescent moon is following the mountains’ ridge
And under my green eyes, thousand of countries

旅ならば全てが私の参道
難攻不落 門前のダンジョン
反響す 錯乱の伴奏
演者なきとき 帰還者の談

tabi naraba sute ga watashi no sandou
nankoufuraku monzen no danjeon
hankyousu sakuran no bansou
enja naki toki kikansha no dan

If yours is a voyage, it’ll lead straight to me,
The impregnable dungeon guarding the gates
My echo will accompaign your confusion
And when no one’s there to talk, their voice resounds

山河総共鳴 地割れに雨
怒れ天は人為の策に負けぬ
いかにもの知らぬと申されようが
断りなくば?この先は通さん

sanga soukyoumei jiware ni ame
ikare ten wa jin’i no saku ni makenu
ika ni mo no shiranu to mousare you ga
kotowarinaku ba? kono saki wa toosan

Mountains and streams, resonate as the rain fills the ground’s cracks
For the angered heavens won’t be defeated by humans’ plans;
And I don’t care if you have something to say:
Do you have the right to pass? Than you won’t.

その歩 訳ありとは聞く
オアシス 忘れじのイチ道理
願いの源泉からの衝撃波
残っていた哀歌

sono aruki wake ari to wa kiku
oashisu wasureji no ichi douri
negai no gensei kara no shougeki-ha
nokotteita aika

And when someone asked me what’s the meaning of life’s walk
The single truth lied on a oasis I forgot about
The shockwave from my desire’s source
Left just this song

時の狭間の
ほとりに咲く華のように
もうあなたを
見送るだけしかないから
つらい

toki no hazama no
hotori ni saku hana no you ni
mou anata o
miokuru dake shika nai kara
tsurai

Just like a flower
Blooming on the side of the cracks of time
I can’t do anything
But watching you go
It’s painful…

恐るな人よ、殺生は好かぬ
その声を返そう これも縁よ
鬼の面相など山に合わぬ。が
犬、鳥にあらずもののけである

osoruna hito yo, sesshou wa sukanu
sono koe o kaesou kore mo en yo
oni no mensou nado yama ni awanu. ga
inu, tori ni arazu mononoke de aru

Don’t be afraid of me, for I don’t like killing
I’ll return to you that voice, and that too is karma
For a mountain, an evil face doesn’t suit well
But after all I’m just a creature which is not a dog nor a bird

あるいは岩 とさえ言うものもいた
言葉は棘ともなると見た
詞は長い夜に溶けるやまびこ
バラ色 幽玄 気質の知行と経

arui wa iwa to sae iu mono mo ita
kotoba wa toge to mo naru to mita
shi wa nagai yoru ni tokeru yamabiko
bara iro yuugen katagi no chigyou to kyou

There was even someone who thought I was a stone
And so I saw how words can be one with thorns
This song’s content is like an echo melting in the long night
Rose-colored, profound, a manor of appearence and a sutra

そっと触れた夢の中身が
記憶で塗りつぶされ見えない

sotto fureta yume no nakami ga
kioku de nuri tsubusare mienai

The contents of that dream I faintly touched…
Are painted by my memories, so I can’t see them…

心のアザを
隠し通せるはずなどなく
もう弱さを
抱いてた腕に力が、

kokoro no aza o
kakushi tooseru hazu nado naku
mou yowasa o
daiteta ude ni chikara ga,

“I should be able to hid my heart’s scar”
There’s no such thing
The strenght of the arm that held my weakness
Is no more… It…

ひとり泣いても
越えてゆけるはずなどなく
愛しい手の
跡がまだここにある、Love you, cry

hitori naitemo
koete yukeru hazu nado naku
itoshii te no
ato ga mada koko ni aru, love you, cry

Even if I’d cry alone,
There’s no way I could make through it
For the traces of the hand of my beloved one
Are still there, love you, cry

そっと触れた夢の中身は
ずっと 待てば来るような気がして

sotto fureta yume no nakami wa
zutto mateba kuru you na ki ga shite

I have the feeling that if I keep waiting forever
For the contents of that dream I barely touched, they’ll come back…

恋と染めてよ
この身小さく 儚い空
急いでよ
指の隙間から消え
You’re too,
Far

koi to somete yo
kono mi chiisaku hakanai sora
isoide yo
yubi no sukima kara kie
you’re too
far

Paint me with love,
Fleeting sky above this small body of mine!
And make haste!
For it’s fading between my fingers
You’re too
Far

あなたを
見送るだけしかないから

anata o
miokuru dake shika nai kara

I couldn’t do anything
But see you go away…

sally

Title: min~眠~
Circle: サリー (Sally)
Album: サリー (Sally)
Vocals: 茶太 (Chata)
Lyrics: shuriken
Arrangement: NSY
Release Event: C80
Source: 門前の妖怪小娘 (Youkai Girl at the Gate) – Ten Desires, Kasodani Kyouko’s Theme

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [Request(?)] Sally – min~眠~

  1. Pingback: [V 3.0] + My Top 15 Touhou Arranges | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  2. Helly says:

    Hey! I kinda felt like a criminal when reading your introduction d:
    And actually thank YOU for the translation!

Leave a Reply

