Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 4/5

FRG04

Looks like this serie is echoing a lot on twitter / comments / whatever.
Do you really like reading my blabbering that much? Maybe I’ll continue posting something like that from now on.
But let’s go straight to the content of this (actually not) last post of Foreground Eclipse’s Retrospective (whose title should be something like “Offering flowers to FgE’s gravestone while tacitly stating my flowers are better than yours: The Movie”).
There’s a link at the bottom of each retrospective post for reading the other parts, so just check it out!
Today’s post is about their very last album, Stories That Last Through The Sleepless Nights which came out 2 years ago, and I think it’s better to talk about it before, because Seated with Liquor isn’t a 100% FgE album and the other tracks are not featured on any other album fully by them.
Long story short, as you read on the bottom on other posts, this is the last part yet it isn’t, because there will be a fifth and (this time for real) last part which will cover Seated with Liquor as well as random FgE’s tracks from random albums, Demo CDs and Bonus Tracks (which of course I haven’t forgot about on the previous posts).
When I read this album was going to come out I was really excited, but that just because I didn’t read Teto’s statement about disbanding Foreground Eclipse after its release.
It was both beautiful and horrible.
They’ve been my favourite band and I’ve always dreamed about going to a live show by them someday.
It’s horrible to see both your dream and your favourite band shatter.
That’s why I listened to this album like I never did before with another one.
I can remember every feeling behind it. I can clearly remember the joy I felt listening to their new tracks as well as the tears I shed.
It was an amazing experience just between happiness and sadness.
This album features lots of song I got to listen to before thanks to Demo CDs or such, but also 2 original tracks we never listened before and a secret track that we won’t talk about today.
On another side, back on the day I’ve listened to this album my life wasn’t really going that well, and the album itself is linked to some memories that I wish I could erase (nothing that has to do with FgE, of course).
I don’t know if I love this album or not. It’s tainted with bad memories but it also shines under a special light I never saw again from that day.
One thing is for sure: It’s beautiful.
…Well, except for the typo on its cover (Stories That Last THOROUGH… Come on, Teto!)
So, what is this post about?
My opinions (I’m writing this again: MY PERSONAL OPINIONS) on Foreground Eclipse’s song, with comments, stories, ratings and everything.
This is purely subjective and it’s not absolutely a critic to Foreground Eclipse.

Stories That Last Through The Sleepless Nights

This album is the last one they ever made till today.
But “The Distant Journey” continues, right? And “I won’t say goodbye because we’ll meet again someday“, right?
You said so, Foreground Eclipse…
With Each and Every Word Leaves me Here Alone and the Demo CDs FgE’s fans now finally understood what was their new direction, so we could say that everyone was expecting those kind of arranges like the ones featuring this last CD.
Well, I guess no one was expecting them to break up out of the blue after it, though…
There are few things that I don’t find so outstanding about this CD, but thinking of it as their last CD, I can’t say I’m not satisfied.
The last part of this CD is expecially good and gives the right atmosphere, but we’ll see this later on this post and again on the next and final part of this retrospective.
Let’s start talking about this CDs’ contents.

02. Dear, Are You Getting Sober?
Personal rating: ★★★★★
No surprise on this one, you should have read it before on this post I made some time ago.
I also stated on this post that I wasn’t going to explain why I like this song so much, that because I planned to do this FgE Retrospective to begin with! (全ては計画通り!)
Anyway, I can easily say that this is my favourite Touhou arrange by them.
Meaning that it’s the only 100%-foreground-eclipse, non-original-track, non-other-arrange track touhou-related song that I like the most by them.
And it’s pretty strange, because that’s also one of their most cheerful songs in term of rhythms, and partly also in lyrics.
Let’s start saying that this song first came out with 東方魔法少女 アルティメット☆れいむ, another CD not by FE but in which they cooperated bringing this song with them.
And let’s also say that the first version of this song didn’t have its short intro “01, R.U.” which, for how much short it is, I think that’s the best intro they ever made, it blends perfectly with the song and it’s absolutely epic. Like the whole song, after all.
So, why I like this song that much?
First of all, the arrange is brilliant and features the new FgE style in every aspect of it, but it’s also a matter of spirit.
I think this song holds the real Foreground Eclipse’ spirit, starting from its title to its lyrics content and covering up everything else, from the screams to the vocals, from the instruments to the digressions.
It’s short, it’s simple. Its musical economy is perfect and I think everyone would love to listen to a song like this one, even someone who’s not so fond of japanese music. A good way to start a CD, and surely the best they ever made.

03. Last Liar Standing
Personal rating: ★★★★
This should be one of the main song from this album, giving that it’s an arrange of Satori‘s theme and she also appears on the cover.
But damn, this is short!
I like this song a lot, but I think they could have done better both in lenght / arrangement.
The thing I like the most of this song is how the vocals blend with the guitars.
I can’t simply describe how they make me feel, but they give me a strange feeling of uneasiness / helplessness which is really amazing and fits the lyrics perfectly.
I like these lyrics a lot, as well as the title itself which is really clever in my opinion.
There are lots of other tracks that may overshadow this one a little bit more, so, even if it’s an arrange of Satori’s theme, it’s not the first song that comes to my mind when thinking about the whole album.
But is still something. I think this track would have been better if was featured on the previous album.

04. Wandering, Never Wondering (There Exists A Shade)
Personal rating: ★★★★★
On the second part of this retrospective I’ve talked about Wandering Never Wondering and I’ve also said that while I like its overall arrangement, I didn’t like the vocals at all and was a song with a huge potential that ended up sounding quite lame in its final result.
Well, (There Exists A Shade) is a new and WAY MORE F*CKING AMAZING version of it.
It’s like FgE listened to my wishes.
It’s also true that this song first appeared in DJF 2012 COMPILATION similar to how Dear Are You Getting Sober? did, so it wasn’t really a “new” song to me.
I think this is one of the best arrangements for Last Remote ever made, and I love its lyrics way too much.
The vocals are amazing and the rhythm is overall way better than its previous version.
This CD is full of songs we already listened to before from other CDs / Demo CDs / Collaborations, but that’s mainly because of two reasons.
The first is because, being their last CDs and having changed their sound, they wanted to give a new shape to old songs by them…

05. Truths, Ironies, The Secret Lyrics
Personal rating: ★★★★
…Like they did with Truth Ironies The Secret Lyrics, releasing it on a single CD before having it feature on this CD.
There’s not really much I can say about this song that I haven’t say on part 1 of this retrospective, but I have to give it four stars instead of three because I like this version a lot more than the previous one.
So it’s not really a four-star song, it’s rather a threePLUS-star song.
Anyway…

06. (I Don’t Need Any Titles To This Song!)
Personal rating: ★★★☆☆
This song too came out before their last album, and as soon as it came out I couldn’t stop listening to it.
But I don’t know, maybe because I can understand its lyrics as I listen to them, maybe because they made new songs, truth is I don’t find this song that good as I think it was before.
Well, it’s still a good song, but I think I’ve forgot the reason why I liked it that much.
Probably, this song is not that fitting for an album like this one, being their last.
Or probably it is?
I mean, it talks about starting a story (the way you do in a RPG), so wouldn’t be weird if a song which screams “this is a beginning” from everywhere is featured in a CD that screams “this is the end” from everywhere?
Mhh…
The breakdown at 1:50 is still amazing, though.

07. From Under Cover (Caught Up In A Love Song)
Personal rating: ★★★★
As I was saying before, the first reason for their choice to focus on old and already-heard song is because of their sound change, but the second is probably because of the last part of the CD which features two original songs and an extra.
This is the first of the two original songs featured in Stories That Last Through The Sleepless Nights, and, for some reason, I though this was an arrange at first.
That’s probably why while I like this song I can’t say it’s something that stands out more than other songs.
Probably because while it’s an original it kinda sounds like something already heard before.
I mean, in terms of lyrics and arrange it’s awesome, and I liked this song a lot when first listening to it (and I still do).
But I can’t say it’s a masterpiece.

08. Storytellers
Personal rating: ★★★★★
Ok, I don’t think I can write about this song without getting chills down my spine. Let’s try.
…I already failed and I haven’t started writing anything. Geez.
Storytellers is the last track from Stories That Last Through The Sleepless Nights, and, in my opinion, not only the best track from this CD, but also probably the best track Foreground Eclipse ever composed.
It’s a really touching goodbye song that never gets old and makes me feel the exact same way as 2 years ago.
I’m not lying when I say that this song made me cry the first time I got to listen to it.
Starting off with its title, “Storytellers”.
The Storytellers are Foreground Eclipse, the music, the lyrics, everything, anyone.
We are the Storytellers.
Music connects people from everywhere in this world.
I am italian and I love Foreground Eclipse, how could this be possible in a world where everyone is confined to their own, small reality?
Telling a story will keep everything alive.
It could be a wonderful story or a love story, it could be the story of a voyage, the story of a group of friends, a story which has ended lots of years ago or a story that hasn’t ended yet.
As long as we are Storytellers, we can keep this stories alive.
Because we live in a world where it’s necessary to keep chasing our own path, but we must never forget the stories we carried along with us.
It doesn’t matter if it’s a happy story or a sad one, or if it’s something that makes us cry or laugh when we think about it.
As long as we can remember the times which made our ordinary life in this world even a little bit special and getting to tell more stories and listening to them, then they won’t die, they’ll never fade away from inside.
And that’s just the title.
I think that’s what this song is trying to tell us.
That we shouldn’t be afraid of anything, because things will eventually come to an end.
But what is left from them isn’t going to fade.
Things can change, but feelings don’t.
The love for someone we loved will always be eternal, even though space, time and conditions to keep it alive aren’t.
That’s exactly what this song’s about.
One day, we could find out about more things that we don’t know.
We could even discover the love of our life, or the goal of our own existence.
But we can’t do this alone, we can’t do this if we never experienced precious, ordinary things and kept them sealed in our hearts.
I would have never started this blog if I haven’t listened to Foreground Eclipse years and years ago, for example.
It’s a small thing, but isn’t the world made of small things?
So, it doesn’t matter if we “call it love or call it a miracle”, or if “what lies in here is something that’s not anywhere else”, because the world is made off small things that together builds up a huge, complex and unperfect yet beautiful and neverending puzzle called life.
Thank you for everything, Foreground Eclipse.
This is not a goodbye, isn’t that right? The distant journey will continue…
Because we are the Storytellers.
No other song could make me feel all of this as this one does every time.
And I think no other song could have ended this album as good as this one did.
Or maybe… [つづく]

About This Post

My eyes are all sparkly right now, I’m not joking!
It was amazing to start this retrospective thing, because I think it’s important to share our opinions and our feelings.
I love how lots of people told me what they thought about Foreground Eclipse’s song, and I’d really love to do something like that in the future.
Ah, but that’s not the end. There’s still one post left!
Also, about Storytellers. Maybe I haven’t say that much, but I can assure you I will very soon. Maybe tomorrow?
And of course, don’t miss the next posts, that’s really important too! There are lots of missing songs that I like a lot and lots of things to say!
So… See you tomorrow and really soon for the next post!
Love you~
Next post coming… Within the first week of December, I think.

Rating system:
☆☆☆☆ – Poor
★★☆☆☆ – Nice
★★★☆☆ – Good
★★★★☆ – Very Good
★★★★★ – Excellent

Retrospective parts:

Part 1: Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises
Part 2: Missing, Loving… and Suffering + Tears Will Become Melodies Tonight
Part 3: Each And Every Word Leaves Me Here Alone
Part 4: Stories That Last Through The Sleepless Nights
Part 5: Extra, Bonus tracks, Seated with Liquor

See you next post!

PS: RETURN PLZ. WE WANT MIMA BACK! …wait, I feel like something’s wrong.

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Useless Opinions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 4/5

  1. alv (@GWAlv) says:

    I honestly both like and hate this album. For one, I can say that all the songs here are top-notch, with Dear probably being in my Top 5 Favorite FgE songs, because of its intro and it being amazing. Both From Under Cover and Storytellers are amazing as their grand finale, and the rerecordings of old tracks all sound great (least favorite song here being the Suika arrange)
    … However, and this just might be me having ridiculous expectations, this doesn’t feel at all like a finale album. We get the same number of new content as Seated With Liquor (not counting their cover, so two originals & one arrange), and the rest is all rerecordings and songs from compilations. Don’t get me wrong, obviously that’s good for the people who didn’t want to get a comp for a single song… But in most overseas fans’ cases, we already heard them. And I do like their rerecorded songs more than the originals, but I would’ve liked more new stuff or something (by that time, DDC and Hopeless Masquerade were both out).
    As for what this album means to me… well, on the one hand it represents my utter failure to support one of my favorite bands (by the end of 2013 I was able to get doujin CDs, still never managed to get anything by FgE), that the band that had got me into metal in the first place was done, and that I’d never see them live. On the other hand, they left on a high note, and shall be remembered fondly; while some of their songs aren’t my cup of tea, I can say that even their rare “bad” songs are still good songs to listen to. Storytellers pretty much shifts the focus from a “last-hurrah” vibe that some of the songs (Dear, Under Cover) seemed to give to a “See you again” vibe, because we never know what the future might bring, only that life is a journey in which many people cross our paths, and we should enjoy it because it’s OUR journey… and that’s why I like this album too.
    Sorry if I don’t have many in-depth comments for the songs in this one. As I said, my Top 3 would be Dear, Under Cover and Storytellers. By the time they had released the album I was not as involved with FgE as I was before Seated With Liquor (and had heard pretty much all of the album except the three new songs). If this weren’t the last album, I wouldn’t consider it nearly as good as it is. As for why I was not as involved with Foreground Eclipse by that time… Well, more on that next post, but this statement might give an idea as to why: “(in my opinion) the best FgE song in Seated With Liquor is Escapes. Second place goes to You May Not Want To Hear This But.”

    • Yeah, I was kind of disappointed too for this CD’s content being mostly already heard stuff.
      And I also agree with you when it comes to CD, live and stuff.
      The fact I hadn’t the chance to see them live or to buy all of their CDs (I only own a copy of this one) is something I’ll regret forever.
      I was thinking about Hopeless Masquarede too when this album was announced, I was really into Lost Emotion and I hoped to the very end that they would arrange it.
      Sadly, I may expected too much from this album, but knowing that (maybe) this would have been their last I’ve apreciated it a lot anyways.
      The next post will explain more things about it, because there’s a missing track from this album that’s very important too, in my opinion.
      But once again I’m glad you wrote all of this, I can agree with you to mostly anything and I totally see your point on everything you said!

  2. Pingback: Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 5/5 [final] | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  3. Pingback: Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 3/5 | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  4. Pingback: Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 2/5 | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  5. Pingback: Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 1/5 | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

