【サリー】 茶太 – con~痕~

hgmgkd

So, few posts ago I’ve posted my Top 15 Touhou arranges, and turned out that min~眠~ is actually the number #1 on my list.
So you may think that Sally should be one of my favourite circles by now…
…But it’s not.
Let’s start saying that I discovered that circle right from the beginning, I randomly gave it a listen when their first album came out and was actually really impressed by it.
Then I’ve listened to other albums and noticed that good tracks were becoming more and more repetitive and, at least to my ears, worse.
That doesn’t mean I don’t like each and every song from this circle.
There’s at least a song I like from each albums they made.
It’s just that… Each album is like the replica of the original album, they copied its style and its structure.
“The first album made us a good reputation? Than let’s make new albums just like this one!”
So, why today’s post?
Because I think con~痕~ (you can already see its title has the same structure as min~眠~’s… But it’s nothing like it) is the best track from Syndrome album.
But still, it’s nothing exceptional, in my opinion.
Still, it kinda surprised me no one has ever translated it in english (NOTE: Because they make no f*cking sense).
After all, either in a good or a bad way, Sally was something that was part of my touhou-arrange musical experience.
Let’s just say this post is a tribute to min~眠~ reaching the first position on my top 15.
NOTES:
– 模様 (moyou) is repeated lots of time in the song. It means “pattern”, “figure”, but in this song is also used as a pun to the words “の様” (no you), meaning “just like…”
– Don’t mind the engrish, please. It’s part of its lyrics.
– 鼓動 on the second stanza is, as always, “beating”, “heartbeat”. But here doesn’t make much sense, so I simply translated it as “sound”.
– 空 (sora) in the 6th stanza, is “sky”, but it could also mean “emptiness”, “void”. “Sky” didn’t make any sense, to me, so I used “void” instead.

[Sally] 茶太 – con~痕~

このまま悲劇から逃れ おしまいと言って暗闇
その姿は まるで 啜り泣く花びら模様

kono mama higeki kara nogare oshimai to itte kurayami
sono sugata wa maru de susurinaku hanabira moyou

Still escaping from the tragedy, in this darkness that calls for an ending;
That silhouette really looks like a weeping shape of petals

木の葉に仕舞う鼓動 もう止まれと言って暗闇
攫う異形の羽 地下に撒く花びら模様

konoha ni shimau kodou mo tomare to itte kurayami
sarau igyou no hane chika ni maku hanabira moyou

A darkness that has already ended the sound of leaves
Strange looking abducted wings scatter underground, like the shape of petals

This all for you is wave or gun.
Below, below

不確かな時を刻み続く 非対称なガラクタで
館奥のドアを閉めたのは 僅かな目を隠す掌

futashikana toki wo kizamitsudzuku hitaishouna garakuta de
yakata oku no doa o shimeta no wa wazukana me o kakusu tenohira

I’ll keep marking the passage of an uncertain time over asymmetrical rubbish,
Who shut the door of the mansion’s depths is slightly covering her eyes with the palm of her hand

ヒビ割れた綿の迷路は 深さ知らず
黒柄に触れたものは いつの間にか萎れた

hibiwareta wata no meiro wa fukasa shirazu
kurogara ni fureta mono wa itsu no ma ni ka shioreta

I don’t know the depth of this cracked labyrinth of cotton
Everything touched by this black pattern withers in a blink of an eye

その歌 を紡ぐ序章 空に
もう終わりと言って暗闇
限りなくひとり 幾年と花びらの錠

sono uta o tsumugu joshou sora ni
mou owari to itte kurayami
kagiri naku hitori ikutose to hanabira no jou

This song that makes yarn to a void prologue
It’s already a darkness that calls for an end
Alone for all the eternity, with petal shackles of years and years

一目のみとなれど お芝居をうって暗闇
虹色 歪めて 赤く咲く花びら模様

hitome nomi to naredo oshibai o utte kurayami
niji’iro hizumete akaku saku hanabira moyou

A darkness just like a drama saw with nothing but an eye
Just like a distorted rainbow-colored shape of a blooming red petal

ひとひらだけ 水面にくべてくべて
「もしも」と換えて 距離など埋めて全て

hitohira dake minamo ni kubete kubete
“moshimo” to kaete kyori nado umete subete

I’ll burn just a petal, only one, on the water’s surface
I’ll bury everything and anything, so distances and such could turn into “what if…”

粉々に果てた からだ こころ たゆたうだけ
孤独には安らぎさえ潜み
影宿る 最後の火が消えた気がした

konagona ni hateta karada kokoro tayutau dake
kodoku ni wa yasuragi sae hisomi
kage yadoru saigo no hi ga kieta ki ga shita

My body is turned into tiny pieces, only my soul is still flickering
In my loneliness, even the calmness lies dormant
I have the feeling that last fire left on my shadow has vanished

跡形も残らぬほどに 別れたなら
二の句を紡ぐ間際 狂気を見ていられた

atokata mo nokoranu hodo ni wakareta nara
ni no ku o tsumugu magiwa kuuki o miteirareta

If I’d be parted away to the point all my traces disappear,
I will be staring into my craziness, waiting for the moment I’ll grasp an answer

サヨナラ ああ 愛しい熱よ 脈を打つ管 名残りよ
落ちる雫の絵 夜を裂く花びら模様

sayonara aa itoshii netsu yo myaku o utsu kan nagori yo
ochiru shizuku no e yoru o saku hanabira moyou

Goodbye, oh my beloved warmth; I’ll miss the pulse of your lungs
A painting of a falling dew, just like the shape of a night petal tore away

逆さ廻りの針 何処までゆこうと暗闇
お外は今日も雨 よるを巻く花びら模様

sakasa mawari no hari doko made yukou to kurayami
osoto wa kyou mo ame yoru o maku hanabira moyou

In the darkness of the clockhand rotating backwards as far as it can,
Outside is still raining, just like the shape of a petal swayed by the night

Be gone. Unknown un-continued
Bit, bit
This all for you is wave and gun.
Below,below

Credits

Title: con~痕~ (con ~kon~) // (marks)
Original Track: U.N. オーエンは彼女なのか? (U.N. Owen was Her?) Embodiment of Scarlet Devil, Flandre Scarlet’s Theme
Vocals: 茶太 (Chata)
Lyrics: shuriken
Arrangement:NSY
Circle: サリー (Sally)
Album: シンドローム (Syndrome)
Release Event: Reitaisai 9

Listen to it on Youtube here: Sally – con~痕~

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

