My Dead Girlfriend – Nasty Mayor’s Daughter


picture by clea

My Dead Girlfriend – Nasty Mayor’s Daughter

意地悪な町長の娘は
僕の方に手をかけながら笑っていた

ijiwaru na chouchou no musume wa
boku no kata ni te o kakenagara waratteita

The malicious daughter of the Mayor
Was smiling while placing her hands over me

君がみた一瞬に
夜のツインピークス消えていく

kimi ga mita isshun ni
yoru no tsuinpiikusu kiete yuku

The moment you saw that
The nighttime Twin Peaks started fading away

あのこ死んだ 夏の午前八時三分
プールサイド腰掛けながら待ってたのに

ano ko shinda natsu no gozen hachiji sanpun
puurusaido koshi kake nagara matteta no ni

That girl died in a summer evening at 8:03 P.M.
Even though I was waiting for her, sitting over the poolside

君がみた一瞬に
夜のツインピークス消えていく

kimi ga mita isshun ni
yoru no tsuinpiikusu kiete yuku

The moment you saw that
The nighttime Twin Peaks started fading away

意地悪な顔をして笑ってるよ 今夜も
意地悪な町長が笑ってるよ

ijiwaru na kao o shite waratteru yo kon’ya mo
ijiwaru na chouchou ga waratteru yo

And even tonight, he’s smiling at me with a malicious face;
The malicious mayor is smiling

Notes:

– Lyrics transcribed by ear by youtube user 木下芙蓉. There’s no 100% guarantee they’re right, but they most likely are. (歌詞を書いてくださった方:木下芙蓉)
– As you can see, like most of My Dead Girlfriend’s songs, the lyrics are about the usual topics and shares lots of common words appearing in almost every other song by them (“ano ko ga shinda”, “puurusaido”, “waratteiru”…)
– Even though the name of the song is based off “ijiwaru na chouchou no musume” appearing in the first stanza and on, I’ve decided to translate “ijiwaru” as “malicious” rather than “nasty”, because I liked it more and its meaning is closer to “ijiwaru” in terms of “unkindness” rather than the “gross” meaning associated with the word “nasty”.
– The “ツインピークス” on the second stanza refers to Twin Peaks, a popular 90’s horror / mystery drama (its third season is airing this year). I guess in this song is a metaphor for “strangeness”, “aberration”, “mystery”.

Title: Nasty Mayor’s Daughter
Circle: 死んだ僕の彼女 (My Dead Girlfriend)
Album: Underdrawing For Three Forms Of Unhappiness At The State Of Existence
Vocals: Ishikawa, Takahashi
Lyrics: 死んだ僕の彼女 (My Dead Girlfriend)
Arrangement: 死んだ僕の彼女 (My Dead Girlfriend)
Release Date: 03/14/2012
Source: Original

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Shoegaze and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

