C-CLAYS – 66

hnk2
[picture by homo 1121 ]

It’s been a while since my last post, even though I’m back.
I had several things to do, but I assure you the recent lack of posts will not last longer. I have plenty of songs I wish to translate as soon as possible.
Kangeki Enkai, let’s speak a bit about it before. No more promos for it. I don’t intend to cancel it or something like that, I think that it’s job it’s (almost) done. All I wanted to do on it was to translate My Dead Girlfriend‘s songs, and some others. But you know what? It’s fine this way. There’s no need for two blogs. If I’d find the remaining MDG’s songs I’m looking for, I’ll post them there, but everything else will be posted here, even if it’s not doujin, even if it’s something that doesn’t fit the touhou world.
That’s what I’ve come to realize by now. Foreground Noises is my one and only blog I’m willing to keep alive.
That aside, expect more posts on this website from now on, I have plenty of things ready to be translated / posted.
Let’s keep going with today’s post, 66 by C-Clays. Of course a Touhou arrange, and from one of my favourite themes, The Lost Emotion.
This song is amazing and funky as hell!
Of course it’s about Hata no Kokoro, and so it focuses on the character’s mindset. “What am I born for?”, “What am I?” and such.
66 is a reference to Kokoro’s mask, or, to say it in another way, the number of the emotions she gathered.
NOTES:
– “shitsubou” and “zetsubou” (first and third stanza) can be both translated as “despair”. “shitsubou” is more like despairing over something that wasn’t as one could have pictured. I guess it’s closer to “disappointment” rather than “despair”.
– 斬りつき (kiritsuki) could be both “to cut”, so “to cut again” in this case, but also refer to 斬月 (zangetsu, wrote with the same kanjis) which is a character for KAMEN-Rider (kamen = mask). It could be a reference to the show which featured masked superheroes, which we can link to Kokoro and her masks, in a funny way.

C-CLAYS – 66

絶望 失う事で知った痛み
ああ許されないと 自分に牙を向け
66の仮面に囚われ
ねぇ、どうかアタシを見ないで

zetsubou ushinau koto de shitta itami
aa yurusarenai to jibun ni kiba o muke
rokujuuroku no kamen ni toraware
nee, douka atashi o minai de

A pain I got to know after despairing over what I’ve lost…
Aah, “I won’t forgive you” as I point my own fangs against myself…
Took away by those 66 masks,
Hey, don’t you dare look at me

隠し続けた むき出しの心
重ねた仮面がコンプリートしていく
涙の色に戸惑わないで
流れた滴が濁っているの

kakushi tsudzuketa mukidashi no kokoro
kasaneta kamen ga konpuriito shite yuku
namida no iro ni tomadowanai de
nagareta shizuku ga nigotteiru no

My completely exposed heart that I kept on hiding
Has become complete with the masks I’ve piled up
Don’t get confused by the color of my tears,
For the flowing drops are growing turbid

失望 どこかで無くしてしまったの
ああ私は何のために生きてるの
66の仮面に奪われ
ねぇ、どうかアタシを探して

shitsubou doko ka de nakushite shimatta no
aa watashi wa nan no tame ni ikiteru no
rokujuuroku no kamen ni ubaware
nee, douka atashi o sagashite

I ended up losing my disappointment somewhere, but where?
Aah, just for which sake am I living for?
I’ve been caught by those 66 masks
Hey, would you find out where I lie?

叫び続けた傷だらけの心
失くしたナイフを 探しまた斬りつき
ボロボロの世界 憧れは遠く
流した滴も偽りと願う

sakebi tsudzuketa kizu darake no kokoro
nakushita naifu o sagashi mata kiritsuki
boroboro no sekai akogare wa tooku
nagashita shizuku mo itsuwari to negau

My scar-covered heart which kept on screaming
Is searching for the knife it has lost so it could cut it again;
The longing for this worn-out world is too distant,
And so I hope for this tears I let flow to be fake too.

失くした事で生まれる自由よ
終わらないで

nakushita koto de umareru jiyuu yo
owaranai de

That’s the freedom born from what I’ve lost
It won’t reach an end

守り続けた臆病な心
重ねた仮面が私に変わってく
諦めないでまだ間に合うと
心に刻む 迷いはないぞ 

mamori tsudzuketa okubyouna kokoro
kasaneta kamen ga watashi ni kawatteku
akiramenaide mada ma ni au to
kokoro ni kizamu mayou wa nai zo

My timid heart that I’ve kept on protecting
Along with the mask I’ve piled up has changed who I am;
And so, I engrave on my own heart, without hesitation
“Don’t give up, you have still time to do it”.

もう誰でもない
I belong to me

mou dare demo nai
I belong to me

There’s no one, no more
I belong to me

Credits

Title: 66 (rokujuuroku)
Original Track: 亡失のエモーション (The Lost Emotion), Hopeless Masquerade, Final Boss Theme
Vocals: 小峠 舞 (Mai Kotohge)
Lyrics: 小峠 舞 (Mai Kotohge)
Arrangement:あとぐる (Atoguru)
Circle: C-CLAYS
Album: 66 -Sixty Six-
Release Event: C88

Listen to it on Youtube here: C-CLAYS – 66

Translated by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use it, but don’t forget to credit!

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to C-CLAYS – 66

  1. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

