My Dead Girlfriend – Skyscraper Kills My Ghost In Your Memory (v.1)


picture by maij

My Dead Girlfriend – Skyscraper Kills My Ghost In Your Memory

後ろから取り憑いて
水辺から飛び降りて

ushiro kara tori tsuite
mizube kara tobi orite

You grappled me from my back
And jumped off with me from waterfront

絡まってるのは君と同級生のは
絡まってなさい
今から

karamatteru no wa kimi to doukyuusei no wa
karamette nasai
ima kara

Who’s involved with you is a classmate of yours
So just let it be
From now on

揺れる体かぶ死体
君とあのこのテレパシー
いつか全てが消えるなら
君に会いに行かなくちゃ

yureru karada ukabu shikai
kimi to ano ko no terepashii
itsuka subete ga kieru nara
kimi ni ai ni ikanakucha

A shaking body, a floating corpse
If all of this telepathy between you and that girl
One day will fade away
Then I just have to go meet you

揺れる体浮かぶ死体
君とあのこのテレパシー
いつか全てが消えるけど
二人だけの秘密だよ

yureru karada ukabu shikai
kimi to ano ko no terepashii
itsuka subete ga kieru kedo
futari dake no himitsu da yo

A shaking body, a floating corpse
If all of this telepathy between you and that girl
One day will fade away
Then this will be our shared secret

Notes:

– Lyrics transcribed by ear by youtube user 木下芙蓉. There’s no 100% guarantee they’re right, but they most likely are. (歌詞を書いてくださった方:木下芙蓉)
– The first stanza is repeated throughout the whole song several times. Same goes for the last stanza.
– On 木下芙蓉 there’s a 視界 (shikai, point of view) instead of 死体 (shitai, corpse). I’m guessing is the latter, being that every song by them seems to talk about corpses and it kind of became a trademark for their lyrics. Also, i hear “shitai” over “shikai”. Same goes for “NASA”. It made sense to me, but could also be -nasai, a polite form showing a command. I modified it for this translation on foregroundnoises. Lastly, “wa” in the second stanza is wrote with the kanji for “ring” (輪) in his transcription, I choosed to make it a simple “wa”, marking the subject. An alternate translation following 木下芙蓉’s untouched ear-copied lyrics is available on my second wordpress, kangeki enkai 感激宴会.

Title: Skyscraper Kills My Ghost In Your Memory
Circle: 死んだ僕の彼女 (My Dead Girlfriend)
Album: Underdrawing For Three Forms Of Unhappiness At The State Of Existence
Vocals: Ishikawa, Takahashi
Lyrics: 死んだ僕の彼女 (My Dead Girlfriend)
Arrangement: 死んだ僕の彼女 (My Dead Girlfriend)
Release Date: 03/14/2012
Source: Original

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Shoegaze and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Dead Girlfriend – Skyscraper Kills My Ghost In Your Memory (v.1)

  1. Pingback: My Dead Girlfriend – Skyscraper Kills My Ghost In Your Memory (v.2) – 感激宴会 ~ Kangeki Enkai

  2. Pingback: My Dead Girlfriend – Sunny Sunday, I Love You | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

  3. FFF says:

    I noticed your romaji lyrics are almost perfect, but the last stanza has a little mistake. The line “itsuka subete ga kieru nara” should be “itsuka subete ga kieru kedo.” Even the kanji lyrics look like that (いつか全てが消えるけど instead of いつか全てが消えるなら). Other than that, I really appreciate this. I found this band a few days ago and… well, I listen to their songs, the melodies make me want to give them hugs, and the lyrics are like simple versions of what I think of romance in certain situations. I really like them. So thank you too~

    • Thanks for your comment, I copied the previous stanza (laziness!) and forgot to fix the little change, I’m fixing it right now! 🙂
      Also, I’m glad you grew to like this band, I can relate to what you’ve just wrote!

Leave a Reply

