凋叶棕 (Diao Ye Zong) – 心綺楼

kokoro6
picture by itomugi-kun

凋叶棕 (Diao Ye Zong) – 心綺楼

生きとし生けるものたちよ
その長き命を以って如何にあるのか
悩めど悩めど答えは得られず
ならば咲かせよ刹那に飾る花

ikitoshi ikeru monotachi yo
sono nagaki inochi o motte ika ni aru no ka
nayame do nayame do kotae wa erarezu
naraba sakase yo setsuna ni kazaru hana

To each and every living being, I ask:
How is it like to make an use of such long lifespan?
Worrying over and over, without obtaining any answer
Oh flower decorating this moment, just bloom if that’s how life is!

数多の感情よ 花となれ。

amata no omoi yo hana to nare

Oh countless thoughts of mine, become flowers!

そこな妖怪
博麗の巫女の御前なら
御人気頂戴
ついでにお賽銭も頂戴

soko na youkai
hakurei no miko no onmae nara
oninki choudai
tsuide ni osaisen mo choudai

Hey you, youkai over there,
You’re in front of the Miko of the Hakurei
So give me popularity
And give me your donations too, while you’re at it!

放つ火力は
弛まぬ日々の結晶だから
神秘を越えては
なってしまおう希望へと

hanatsu karyoku wa
tayumanu hibi no kesshou dakara
shinpi o koete wa
natte shimaou kibou e to

I’ll release my heating power
Product of all my crystallized hectic days
And I’ll overcome each arcane
By becoming a hope I didn’t choose

父親の曰く
この戦いに義のあってなお
貴様は既に
スケールの差で負けていよう

oyaji no iwaku
kono tatakai ni gi no atte nao
kisama wa sude ni
sukeeru no sa de maketei you

As the old man told me before
This battle still has to reach righteousness
But I can already see
The likes of you will lose due our strenght gap!

救おう現世
最強僧侶の名にかけて
力を揮うは
物理的に南無宝

sukuou gense
saikyou souryo no na ni kakete
chikara o furuu
butsuriteki ni namusanbou

I’ll try to save the world
Staking my name of the “Strongest Monk”
For the power I’m brandishing
Is that of the physical Three Buddhist Treasures!

かき乱される信仰の在り方に
その影密か手を伸ばす前に
こころにまかせ伝えよ!

kaki midasareru shinkou no arikata ni
sono kage hisoka te o nobasu mae ni
kokoro ni makase tsutae yo!

Just before secretly outstretching my hand
Over the shadow of the current, disturbed state of faith
I’ll rely on my heart and transmit its contents!

この刹那うつろい行く
幾重幾多その感情

kono setsuna utsuroi yuku
ikue ikuta sono omoi

This moment will move on
All my repeated, numerous thoughts

それら平らかならずなら
やって魅せよう一勝負!

sorera taira kanarazu nara
yatte miseyou hito-shoubu!

And if they won’t calm down
Then I’ll show you a charming fight!

さあ人気爆発!
大技激突!

saa ninki bakuhatsu!
oowaza gekitotsu!

Come on! Popularity explosion!
Clash of great techniques!

遍く歓声よ――舞台の花となれ。

amaneku koe yo — butai no hana to nare.

Oh joyful resounding voice– become a flower for this stage!

我は駒なり
この心に曇りなどはなく
そこな御仁は――
敵か?!それならば火を放て

ware wa komanari
kono kokoro ni kumori nado wa naku
soko na ojin wa–
teki ka?! sore naraba hi o hanate

My heart became my pawn
Which nothing could ever cloud anymore;
Hey you, human over there –
Are you an enemy? If that’s so, I’ll blaze up!

我から出でよ
遍く希望のある所は
新たな面
これぞ希望の形なり

ware kara ide yo
amaneku kibou no aru tokoro wa
aratana omote
kore zo kibou no katachi nari

The place filled with hope here and there
Parted away from me
And so this new mask
Will gain the shape of hope

祭りとあらば
緩む財布の紐を狙え
遊びじゃねえんだ
地獄の沙汰さえもなんとやら

matsuri to araba
yurumu saifu no himo o nerae
asobi ja nee nda
jigoku no sata sae mo nanto yara

And if that’s a festival
I’ll aim on taking advantage of it-
I’m not joking around:
Not even the hell’s rules apply to me!

月が出た出た
佐渡の二ッ岩のお通りじゃ
人里歩けど
その正体は知れぬまま

tsuki ga deta deta
sado no futatsuiwa no otoori ja
hitozato arukedo
sono shoutai wa shirenu mama

The Moon came out, it came out
It’s time for Futatsuiwa from Sado to pass through!
And so I walk over the Human Village
Without letting anyone know my true form

次から次へ移ろう信仰に
乱され奪われるその前に
こころのままに伝えよ!

tsugi kara tsugi e utsurou shinkou ni
midasare ubawareru sono mae ni
kokoro no mama ni tsutae yo!

Just before stealing away
Those confused faiths in succession
I’ll transmit my own heart!

先の見えぬ暗がりに
明日なき命送るなら

saki no mienu kuragari ni
asu naki inochi okuru nara

And if I’d lead a tomorrowless life
Over that unseen darkness before my eyes…

ただ笑って眺めよう
生きていればええじゃないか!

tada waratte nagameyou
ikite ireba ee janai ka!

Just gaze at me, smiling:
Isn’t it ok just to be alive!?

さあ人気爆発!
弾幕炸裂!

saa ninki bakuhatsu!
danmaku sakuretsu!

Come on! Popularity explosion!
Danmaku deflagration!

飛び交う怒声よ――舞台の花となれ。

tobi kau koe yo — butai no hana to nare.

Oh fluttering roaring voice– become a flower for this stage!

命は心の在る処
数多営み
人から人へ物から物へ
斯く斯くの物語

inochi wa kokoro no aru tokoro
amata itonami
hito kara hito e mono kara mono e
kaku kaku no monogatari

Life is something dwelling in hearts
Composed of thousand layers
Moving from person to person, from object to object
It’s the tale of all of that

明日は行方知らず
蜃気楼の中
それでも尚も心のまま
明日へと伝え行け

ashita wa yukue shirazu
shinkirou no naka
sore demo nao mo kokoro no mama
asu e to tsutae yuke

Inside this mirage
I don’t know tomorrow’s whereabouts
And yet, as I still can feel my heart,
I’ll open it up towards the future

その始まりより至るまで
全ての感情を見渡せど
悩み乱れて心地虚ろ
未だ満ちねば
希望をこの手に!

sono hajimari yori itaru made
subete no omoi o miwatasedo
nayami midarete kokochi utsuro
imada michineba
kibou o kono te ni!

Until I’ll come close to that beginning
I’ll take an extensive view of all my thoughts and feelings
Feeling void over a chaos of worries
Nothing has been filled yet
So I’ll get the hope in my hands!

宴も酣か
悪しき能も見納めよう
三位一体調き伏せて
恨む勿れよ面霊気!

utage mo takenawa ka
ashiki nou mo miosameyou
sanmi ittai toki fusete
uramu nakare yo menreiki!

The party seems to have reached its climax
So I’ll show them my evil Nou for last
As this trinity’s sections argue with each other
I’ll stand as the Menreiki that won’t bear grudges!

しかしてこちらも負けられぬ
全ての希望がために
舞ってみせよう今一度
さあ”この名”の命ずるまま!

shikashite kochira mo makerarenu
subete no kibou no tame ni
matte miseyou ima ichido
saa “kokoro” no meizuru mama!

But then I can’t afford to lose too
For the sake of the whole hope
So now, I’ll show you my dance once more:
Come forth, for I’m calling you out!

人気爆発!
符乱れ飛ぶ!

ninki bakuhatsu!
superu midare tobu

Popularity explosion!
Scattered flying spells!

希望の希求よ――舞台の花となれ。

kibou no koe yo — butai no hana to nare.

This is the voice of a unfilled hope — become the flower for this stage!

――花となれ。

— hana to nare.

—Become its flower!

Notes:

– This song is mainly about Kokoro‘s story in Hopeless Masquerade. While it’s an arrange of The Lost Emotion, it has hints of other themes inside it (Ex: you can hear Nitori‘s theme at 3:54 and Mamizou‘s shortly thereafter).
– Its title is the japanese name for Touhou 13.5 – Hopeless Masquerade (shinkirou).
– On the second stanza, “感情” (kanjou, “emotion”) is read as “omoi” (思い~想い, “thought”, “dream”, “wish”). This choice is repeated more than once throughout the song.
– The sixth stanza refers to Byakuren, maybe as if it’s her talking. And probably the fifth stanza is from Ichirin‘s point of view, giving that “Old man” line.
– 魅せよう should be “見せよう” (to see) but the kanji for “mi” is 魅 (“charm”). I blended the meanings.
– “歓声” (kansei) is read as “koe” (声) on the eleventh stanza. “Koe” is “voice”, “kansei” is “joyful voice”.
– The stanza which starts with “matsuri araba” plays over japanese sayings involving money. The first being “spending more than one should” / “wasting money” and the other comes from “jigoku no sata mo kane shidai”, meaning “money is the best lawyer”. I don’t think money’s the actual subject, so I tried giving it a different meaning.
– Next, “kokoro” is both her name / heart. That stanza where it says “kokoro no mama” plays on that pun.
– Same on the 20th stanza, “怒声” (dosei) is read as “koe” again. “Dosei” means “angry voice”, “shouting voice (in anger)”.
– On the fourth to last stanza, “この名” (“kono na”, “this name”) is read as “Kokoro”.
– I’ve decided to left “danmaku” untranslated. Literally, it’s “barrage”.
– I think “Trinity” (三位一体) refers to “Shinto”, “Buddhism” and “Taoism” (following up Hopeless Masquerade’s story). On the same stanza, “menreiki” (mask essence) is the class of youkai Kokoro belongs to.
– I’m not sure about the reading of 符乱れ飛ぶ on the second to last stanza. I don’t know other readings than “fu” for the first kanji, I’m assuming is a made-up reading for this song. [edit] (courtesy of Violet) it is indeed a special reading, it’s read as “spell” (スペル “superu”).
– One more time, on the second to last stanza, “希求” (kikyuu, “seek”, “longing”) is read as “koe” (voice).
– (courtesy of Violet) The title / song refers to “Shinkirou”, which is the title of Hata no Kokoro / Futatsuiwa Mamizou’s Nou play describing the events happening in “Hopeless Masquerade”.

tutae

Title: 心綺楼 (Shinkirou) (Heart Fabric Tower)
Circle: 凋叶棕 (Diao Ye Zong)
Album: 伝 (tsutae)
Vocals: めらみぽっぷ (Meramipop)
Lyrics: RD-Sounds
Arrangement: RD-Sounds
Release Event: C91
Source: 亡失のエモーション (The Lost Emotion), Hopeless Masquerade, Hata no Kokoro’s Theme

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

