My Dead Girlfriend – Sweet Days and Her Last Kiss *耳コピ歌詞

swdet
[picture by yamaada, detail]

It’s true that 感激宴会 – kangeki enkai was the wordpress which collected each My Dead Girlfriend‘s songs (also, the band knows and supports that website), but I wanted to post this song so dear to me in here, as I’ve stated on the previous post.
I love this song so much and I tried finding its lyrics literally EVERYWHERE, without results. I transcribed the lyrics from a cover video I found online, in which the vocals were clearer. I still have some doubts about the lyrics, but there will be the notes covering that problem.
Also, it took me a while to publish this post because I also wanted to upload the subbed song on my youtube account, without having someone else doing it before me (it’s always like this).
This song hurts in a good way. I’m kind of sick of it, but can’t go on without it either. Strange, isn’t it?
Sweet days and her last kiss“, isn’t it a great title? This song is also known as “haru no hachiouji” during lives. Hachiouji is a place in Japan (part of Tokyo if I’m not wrong), and if I remember correctly is the place in which the leader of the band spent his youth / university years in.
In fact, there are 4 songs talking about Hachiouji, one for each season: fuyu (winter) no Hachiouji, aki (fall) no Hachiouji, natsu (summer) no Hachiouji and this one, which is haru (spring) no Hachiouji.
This is one of the first song I’ve discovered by them and it’s one of the ones I love the most, just like Watashi no Aishita Manatsu no Shinigami, Nou ni Tokeru Asobi and My Piggish Girl Died Miserably.
I hope you’ll enjoy this post. Love.
NOTES:
– 陽春 on the first stanza is something I’m not sure of. It fit pretty well so I left it. If it’s wrong, please let me know and I’ll fix it ASAP.
– 飛び降りて on the first stanza: same thing.
– 流石 on the last stanza (repeated 4 times, by the way) is the thing I’m less sure about. I keep hearing “sasupa” or “sasuba” or “sansupa” or something like that, but all of these seems to be name of brands. I used a “sasuga” which is pretty vague and fit nicely the lyrics.
– [EDIT 16/01/2017] I just listened to a live version in which I could hear 帽子 (“boushi”, “hat”) REALLY clearly instead of “youshun”. And it made sense really easily. Again, in the same video, I could hear “aozamete” (pale) instead of “aratamete”. I’m still not sure about “Sasuga”, though. Everything else should be fixed by now.
もし間違いでもあったら、ご遠慮なく教えてください!すぐ直しますから!

My Dead Girlfriend – Sweet Days and her Last Kiss

自転車で風を追い出したら
思い出にさよなら
強い風帽子が飛ばされて
思い出にさよなら

jitensha de kaze o oidashitara
omoide ni sayonara
tsuyoi kaze boushi ga tobasarete
omoide ni sayonara

Chasing down the wind with my bike
I bid farewell to my memories
As the hat I’m wearing is blew away by a strong wind
I bid farewell to my memories

春の八王子
君はもういない
独り八王子
君はいないから

haru no Hachiouji
kimi wa mou inai
hitori Hachiouji
kimi wa inai kara

You’re not here anymore
In this springtime Hachiouji
And because you’re not here
I’m in Hachiouji, alone

春の八王子
君はもういない
独り八王子
君はいないから
飛び降りて

haru no Hachiouji
kimi wa mou inai
hitori Hachiouji
kimi wa inai kara
tobiorite

You’re not here anymore
In this springtime Hachiouji
And because you’re not here
I’m in Hachiouji, alone
So I jump off it

二人きり流石
青ざめた
二人きり
飛び降りて

futari kiri sasuga
aozameta
futari kiri
tobi orite

Just the two of us
I’m sure, turning pale
Just the two of us
We’ll jump down together

二人きり流石
青ざめた
二人きり
飛び降りて

futari kiri sasuga
aozameta
futari kiri
tobi orite

Just the two of us
I’m sure, turning pale
Just the two of us
We’ll jump off it together

Credits

Title: Sweet Days and Her Last Kiss // Haru no Hachiouji
Source: Original
Vocals: Ishikawa, Takahashi
Lyrics: My Dead Girlfriend
Circle: My Dead Girlfriend (死んだ僕の彼女 – shinda boku no kanojo)
Arrangement:石田ショーキチ (Ishida Shoukichi)
Album: Sweet Days and Her Last Kiss
Release Date: 2008/17/09

Listen to it on Youtube here: My Dead Girlfriend – Sweet Days and her Last Kiss

Translated by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use it, but don’t forget to credit!

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Shoegaze and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Dead Girlfriend – Sweet Days and Her Last Kiss *耳コピ歌詞

  1. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

  2. Pingback: My Dead Girlfriend – Fuyu no Hachiouji | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

