[REQUEST] Girls Short Hair – 夢のつづき

tuki
[picture by nurupo (abooon), detail]

This song was requested by Remilia.
Girl’s Short Hair. I know that circle and that’s actually the first post ever involving them.
Clean male vocals are pretty unusual in the touhou doujin music panorama, and this circle, in my opinion, nails them.
What I like the most about this song is the background chorus, to be honest. I love how it follows the original theme’s melody without sounding forced / out of place.
That’s maybe also because I like Lunatic Princess a lot, can’t deny it. I think that Imperishable Night‘s soundtrack is still incredibly beautiful and overall unmatched by other chapters’ complete soundtracks after all these years.
And of course the same thought: simple to understand and easy to transcribe meaningful lyrics are the best.
I don’t think there’s any need for notes, so… have a good reading!

Girls Short Hair – 夢のつづき

心地よい風が 僕の心包む
ふと見上げた空に 浮かぶ満月が
僕を見ている あの日と同じように
二人語った夢は今も 消えない

kokochi yoi kaze ga boku no kokoro tsutsumu
fu to miageta sora ni ukabu mangetsu ga
boku o miteiru ano hi to onaji you ni
futari katatta yume wa ima mo kienai

The pleasant wind wraps up my heart
And the Moon, floating in the sky I casually looked at,
Is looking right at me, just like that day;
The dream we’ve talked about is still here, it hasn’t disappeared

届いてこの空の上 光る星たちのもとへ
歌うよ月が照らした 君の歌を

todoite kono sora no ue hikaru hoshitachi no moto e
utau yo tsuki ga terashita kimi no uta o

I’ll sing your song once illuminated by the Moon,
May it reach the top of the sky from where the stars start shining

夜が明けるまで 君と語り合ったあの日
今でも覚えてる 心の中でまだ輝いてる

yoru ga akeru made kimi to katari atta ano hi
ima demo oboeteru kokoro no naka de mada kagayaiteru

That day in which we talked together until the night turned to dawn…
I can still remember it, it’s still sparkling inside my heart

澄んだこの空に 僕の声が響く
ふとかかった雲が つきを陰らせる
君の夢は 今も続いてるよ
君が残した歌は僕が 歌い続けるから

sunda kono sora ni boku no koe ga hibiku
fu to kakatta kumo ga tsuki o kageraseru
kimi no yume wa ima mo tsudzuiteru yo
kimi ga nokoshita uta wa boku ga utai tsudzukeru kara

My voice is echoing in this clear night sky
As a sudden cloud arrives to cover the Moon;
Your dream is still continuing to this day
Because I’m still singing the song you left to me

届いてこの空の上 光る星たちのもとへ
歌うよ月が照らした 君の歌を

todoite kono sora no ue hikaru hoshitachi no moto e
utau yo tsuki ga terashita kimi no uta o

I’ll sing your song once illuminated by the Moon,
May it reach the top of the sky from where the stars start shining

声がかれるまで 君と歌っていたあの日
ずっと忘れない いつか君に会える日まで
届いているかな 君に聞こえているのかな
心は響き合う 月の光をあびて

koe ga kareru made kimi to utatteita ano hi
zutto wasurenai itsuka kimi ni aeru hi made
todoiteru kana kimi ni kikoeteiru no kana
kokoro wa hibiki au tsuki no hikari o abite

Until the day I’ll be able to meet you again, I’ll never forget
That day in which I sang along with you until my voice became hoarse;
I wonder if it will reach you? Will you be able to hear it?
And I’m here, showered by the light of a Moon where our hearts are resounding along…

Credits

Title: 夢のつづき (yume no tsudzuki) (Dream’s continuation)
Original Track: 竹取飛翔 ~ Lunatic Princess (Flight of the Bamboo Cutter ~ Lunatic Princess), Imperishable Night, Kaguya Houraisan’s Theme
Vocals: yonji
Lyrics: yonji
Arrangement:-nim-
Circle: Girl’s Short Hair
Album: 幻想夜景 (gensou yakei)
Release Event: C76

Listen to it on Youtube here: Girl’s Short Hair – 夢のつづき

Translated by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use it, but don’t forget to credit!

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [REQUEST] Girls Short Hair – 夢のつづき

  1. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

