凋叶棕 (Diao Ye Zong) – 空に近い場所

akyu1
picture by kawashina (momen silicon)

C90 just passed by and here I am posting a song that will probably cause the third world war.
Diao Ye Zong is a great circle, and there are lots of person which love it more than I do, but by the time I’ve listened to this song… no, by the time I’ve read to this songs’ lyrics I wanted to translate them.
I’ve already translated some songs by this circle, and between them there are hidden gems that I’m glad I could add to my collection.
This one too is a song that I want to add to my website. I won’t translate other songs from utsutsu if not requested.
I hope other translators / users won’t thus be offended by this post, giving that I feel kind of “pressured” by what I post and I don’t post.
After all we can’t claim nothing over music.
This song doesn’t belong to me nor to anyone else.
It happened lots of times that I’ve translated songs that were already translated by someone else, but it also happened that songs that I’ve translated before anybody else could were translated anew again by someone else.
Why should I feel criticized for the first reason?
And why should I get angry for the second?
It’s pretty damn meaningless to me. I’m not saying this all to someone in particular, I’m just saying this because I’m posting “hot stuff” which probably caught the attention of lots of people / translators. Don’t worry if you find out about this, you can translate it anew (it’s not like my translations are gold, I don’t think this translation is flawless and I’ll gladly read other translation).
…And yeah, I won’t even lie about the fact that I’m trying to posting it ASAP, but that’s no contraddiction to what I’ve stated before.
So… friends like always, right?
[2017 edit: I remember having trouble with bullshit like that on some previous posts, just that. I’ll keep all of this because it’s still actual.]

凋叶棕 (Diao Ye Zong) – 空に近い場所

「ねぇごめんね。こんなことになって」と
その両目を潤ませ
あなたの手がそっとその震えを伝えて

“nee gomen ne. konna koto ni natte” to
sono ryoume o urumase
anata no te ga sotto sono furue o tsutaete

“Hey… I’m sorry it turned out this way” –
You said, as your eyes got wet;
Your hand transmitted your delicate trembling to me

触れ合う手で何かが伝わるの
何もかも押し付けて
それでもなおきっと伝えきれないことを

fureau te de nani ka ga tsutawaru no
nani mo kamo oshitsukete
soredemo nao kitto tsutaekirenai koto o

Can something be conveyed by our hands joined together?
We’ve press onto each other everything and anything
However I’m sure there are still things we couldn’t completely express

もう
いいともいやとさえも言えずにただ押し黙っては
感じる熱量だけ
もっともっともっともっと……高く。

mou
ii to mo iya to sae mo iezu ni tada oshidamatte wa
kanjiru netsuryou dake
motto motto motto motto… takaku.

But now
Even if you don’t say if it’s okay or not, even if you keep silent
I can just feel your warmth
Increasing more and more, higher and higher…

飛べない
私達には空を知る手立て無く

tobenai
watashitachi ni wa sora o shiru tedate naku

We can’t fly
There’s no way we could know the sky by any means

それでも
あなたはこうして私を求め続け

soredemo
anata wa koushite watashi o motome tsudzuke

And yet
You still kept on seeking for me this way

こうしていれば
まるで空を飛べるかというようにーーー。

koushite ireba
maru de sora o toberu ka to iu you ni…—.

If things will stay as they are
It’ll feel just as if we can actually soar the sky…

擦れあうのは互いの何処なのだろう
その口から零れる
小さな泡沫が意識の飛沫となって

sureau no wa tagai no doko na no darou
sono kuchi kara koboreru
chiisana utakata ga ishiki no himatsu to natte

Where should “quarreling” place between us, I wonder?
That little transience leaking from your lips
Became a splash of your consciousness

返す視線があなたをどうさせるだろう
全て無駄だと知っても
せめてほんのわずか甘く棘を挿すように

kaesu shisen ga anata o dou saseru darou
subete muda da to shittemo
semete honno wazuka amaku toge o sasu you ni

I wonder how can the looks I’m giving you back pierce through you?
Even though I know every bit of it is pointless
At least let me just pierce you with my sweet thorns

結局は
意味など無く永遠に至ることもない
内なる幻想だけ
もっともっともっともっと……深く。

kekkyoku wa
imi nado naku eien ni itaru koto mo nai
uchi naru gensou dake
motto motto motto motto… fukaku.

But in the end
There’s no such thing as making one’s way towards something for the whole eternity with no meaning whatsoever;
There’s just one’s own inner illusion
Which lies deeper and deeper, more and more….

飛べない
夜の何処かを独り独り彷徨うばかり

tobenai
yoru no dokoka o futari samayou bakari

We can’t fly
We’re merely wandering together, somewhere in this night

それでも
わたしはどうしてこの身掻き抱かれて

soredemo
watashi wa doushite kono mi kaki dakarete

But still
I don’t know why my body is being scraped in an embrace

夢と現の
境目にいながらにして戸惑うーーー。

yume to utsutsu no
sakaime ni inagara ni shite tomadou—.

As I lurk in the boundary
Between dreams and reality, I stay bewildered—

内なる願望
求めるものもわからずに
でも願うなら次に会うときにはいつも通りに

uchinaru ganbou
motomeru mono mo wakarazu ni
demo negau nara tsugi ni au toki ni wa itsumo doori ni

My inner wishes…
I don’t even know what I want to strive for
But if I can make a wish, I want the next time we meet to be like always…

飛べない
「貴女」とではどこにも辿りつけない

tobenai
“anata” to de wa doko ni mo tadori tsukenai

We can’t fly
Because if I’m with you, I can’t reach any place

優しく
そっと視線だけあなたを拒むように

yasashiku
sotto shisen dake anata o kobamu you ni

Gently
You were just refusing to cross my glance

それでも
心のどこかあなたを受け容れるのは

soredemo
kokoro no doko ka anata o ukeireru no wa

And yet
The reason for why I want to accept you from somewhere deep down my heart

飛びたい
そう思うこときっと似ているのだろう

tobitai
sou omou koto kitto niteiru no darou

Is because I want to fly
It’s surely something that’s similar to what I’m wishing

こうしていれば
きっと少しだけ空の近くへーー。

kou shite ireba
kitto sukoshi dake sora no chikaku e—.

If we’ll stay like this…
I’m sure we could get a bit closer to the sky…

Notes:

– Not quite sure about this, but where it says “独り独り” (hitori hitori, alone alone) I clearly hear a single “futari” (together, 2 people). There’s nothing confirming so in the booklet, so… I’ll leave it “futari” because I can hear it clearly enough.
– “utakata” can both mean “bubbles” or “transitory”. “Bubbles coming out your mouth” isn’t really… poetic. “ephemeral” / “transient” makes it better and more poetic, doesn’t it? I hope it’s right this way, really. The meaning of that stanza I’ve translated? (at least my version?) “The things you’ve said in certain moments (thus ephemeral) are what made me know about the deepest part of your will”, in other words, “I got to know you through what you’ve said”.

UTSUTSU-350x350

Title: 空に近い場所 (sora ni chikai basho) (Somewhere close to the Sky)
Circle: 凋叶棕 (Diao Ye Zong)
Album: 夢 (utsutsu)
Vocals: めらみぽっぷ (Meramipop)
Lyrics: RD-Sounds
Arrangement: RD-Sounds
Release Event: C90
Source: ジャパニーズサーガ (Japanese Saga), 東方求聞史紀 ~ Perfect Memento in Strict Sense, track #1

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 凋叶棕 (Diao Ye Zong) – 空に近い場所

  1. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

