Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori No Sekai Part 3/5: 「ズレる」 & 「ひきずるビート 」

Third post about Zero comma, irotoridori sekai by Mass of the Fermenting Dregs. This post’s song are 「ズレる」and「ひきずるビート
Enjoy!

Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – ズレる

zureru
[picture by Ilya Kuvshinov]

Let’s write down something more interesting than what I think about this song in this part. For example, what does “Mass of the Fermenting Dregs” stand for?
On a interview, the band claimed that “the name has no particular meaning, we just liked how it sounds”.
…I bet you expected more than this.
To me, “zureru” is a song about having so many thoughts racing up inside your mind that they end up resulting in a strange apparent apathy which isn’t in fact as simple as one may could think.
NOTES:
– “docchi datte ii sa” is “both are good”, but I liked “I don’t really mind” better as a translation for the whole theme of the song (the implied meaning doesn’t change). Of course, my translation is not (literally) the best choice, but again, I’m here to translate my feeling towards this song too, not only its words!

Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – ズレる

白か黒か どっちだっていいさ
右か左か どっちだっていいさ

shiro ka kuro ka docchi datte ii sa
migi ka hidari ka docchi datte ii sa

Whether it’s white or black, I don’t really mind
Whether it’s left or right, I don’t really mind

交わったところ なぞってみれば
間違ったところを辿って

majiwatta tokoro nazo tte mireba
machigatta tokoro o tadotte

As each of them got mixed, I could see it becoming a mystery:
I was pursuing right after what was wrong

ズレる昨日が今日を試す

zureru kinou ga kyou o tamesu

The yesterday which just passed by is testing my present

あなたの体 間違って見えた
わたしの体 ハイになって消えた

anata no karada machigatte mieta
watashi no karada hai ni natte kieta

I could see your body was not right
And mine, turned into ashes, disappeared

白か黒か どっちだっていいさ
右か左か どっちだっていいさ

shiro ka kuro ka docchi datte ii sa
migi ka hidari ka docchi datte ii sa

Whether it’s white or black, I don’t really mind
Whether it’s left or right, I don’t really mind

ズレる今日が昨日を探す

zureru kyou ga kinou o sagasu

The yesterday which just passed is searching for my present

Credits

Title: ズレる (zureru) (passing by)
Source: Original
Vocals: Natsuko Miyamoto
Lyrics: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Arrangement:Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Circle: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Album: ゼロコンマ、色とりどりの世界 (Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai)
Release Date: 08/4/2010

Listen to it on Youtube here: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – ズレる

Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – ひきずるビート

biito
[picture by Ilya Kuvshinov]

This song feels so depressing by reading its lyrics, but it’s not depressing at all in terms of music.
Typical of them, I like this contrast a lot and you may know it by now.
By the way, another thing that I’ve always liked about this band is the type of illustration featured in their album’s covers.
I actually never found out the name of the artist or if he/she has done something else aside from MotFD, but I’m really willing to see more by him/her because I really enjoy his/her style.

Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – ひきずるビート

みんなどこか遠く
死んでしまったように

minna doko ka tooku
shindeshimatta you ni

Everyone is somewhere far from here
It feels as if they’ve all died

足を止めずにどこへ行くのか
ここがどこかも分からないまま
加速していくだけのビートに
いま、消えそうだよ

ashi o tomezu ni doko e yuku no ka
koko ga doko ka mo wakaranai mama
kasoku shite iku dake no biito ni
ima, kiesou da yo

Just where am I going, without stopping my pace?
As I don’t even know where am I now
I just feel like disappearing
To the sound of this beat growing in speed

濁った街や人に
見とれていたのは誰?

nigotta machi ya hito ni
mitoreteita no wa dare?

Who will ever be fascinated
By an impure town of impure people?

外は雨だって
きみは泣いていたけれど
染まる青さに
ぼくはいま、嗚咽をもらしていたんだ
あの日みたいに

soto wa ame datte
kimi wa naiteita keredo
somaru aosa ni
boku wa ima, oetsu o morashiteita nda
ano hi mitai ni

You were crying out
“It’s raining outside” – just like that
But on that vivid blueness of now
I’ve let out a cry
Just like that day…

濁った街や人に見とれていたのは
わたしが見たのは
ひどい色に染まっていた
わたしだった

nigotta machi ya hito ni mitoreteita no wa
watashi ga mita no wa
hidoi iro ni somatteita
watashi datta

Who has been fascinated by this impure city of impure people…
What I’ve saw…
Was myself
Painted in an unjust color

Credits

Title: ひきずるビート (hikizuru biito) (forced beat)
Source: Original
Vocals: Natsuko Miyamoto
Lyrics: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Arrangement:Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Circle: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Album: ゼロコンマ、色とりどりの世界 (Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai)
Release Date: 08/4/2010

Listen to it on Youtube here: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – ひきずるビート

Overall credits

zeroconma

Post 1 – .09 – さんざめく
Post 2 – .03 – 終わりのはじまり & .02 – まで。情熱ミックス
Post 3 – .07 – ズレる & .08 – ひきずるビート
Post 4 – .05 – ONEDAY & .06 – サイダーと君 + .04 RAT
Post 5 – .01 – ゼロコンマ、色とりどりの世界

Translations by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use them, but don’t forget to credit!

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Shoegaze and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori No Sekai Part 3/5: 「ズレる」 & 「ひきずるビート 」

  1. Pingback: Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai PART 1/5: さんざめく | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  2. Pingback: Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai PART 2/5: 「終わりのはじまり」 & 「まで。情熱ミックス 」 | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  3. Pingback: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori No Sekai Part 4/5: 「ONEDAY」 & 「 サイダーと君」+ 「RAT 」 | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

  4. Pingback: Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai PART 2/5: 「終わりのはじまり」 & 「まで。情熱ミックス 」 | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

  5. Pingback: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori No Sekai Part 5/5: 「ゼロコンマ、色とりどりの世界」 | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

  6. Pingback: Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai PART 2/5: 「終わりのはじまり」 & 「まで。情熱ミックス 」 | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

  7. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

