Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai PART 2/5: 「終わりのはじまり」 & 「まで。情熱ミックス 」

Back in May I’ve translated さんざめく by Mass of The Fermenting Dregs, and I feel like keeping on translating songs from that album.
So, there will be 5 posts about this album, the first being the one I translated in May, the second being this one (which is a double post) and the others coming soon on other different posts.

Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – 終わりのはじまり

owarihajimari
[picture by Ilya Kuvshinov]

So, the first song from this post is the 3rd track from the album, 終わりのはじまり.
Not exactly the most original title (“the beginning of the end”, I mean…), but the song is surely something.
I really like the contrast between rhythm / lyrics. If you think about it, they’re pretty different, with the rhythm being energetic and the lyrics being not really that positive.
I really like when artists can do things like that, because it’s not something anyone can do without having it sounding dull.
NOTES:
– I’ve left “I” as the subject of the first two stanzas. That “you” form is usually used when someone’s stating “let’s do X”, so it could also have been a plural, as in “we”, but I liked it that way more, because it delines better the contrast I was talking about before.

Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – 終わりのはじまり

壊してはじめよう
いま、来たばかりの道も
遠回りしよう
いま、見たばかりの道をさ

kowashite hajimeyou
ima, kita bakari no michi mo
toomawarishiyou
ima, mita bakari no michi o sa

I’ll start breaking everything
Right now, even the way that appeared just before me
I’ll take a detour
Right now, on that way I just saw

歩いて行けば
ここから続いていく道は
君の思い描く色に染まっていくよ

aruite ikeba
koko kara tsudzuite iku michi wa
kimi no omoi egaku iro ni somatte iku yo

If I’ll go by walk
The road that goes on from this point onwards
Will be painted in the colors you’re thinking about

さよならとこんにちは
繰り返しているんだ
君もぼくも同じ今日のもと

sayonara to konnichi wa
kurikaeshiteiru nda
kimi mo boku mo onaji kyou no moto

We’re just repeating all over
Each “hello” and each “goodbye”,
As we’re both staying on the same present

鳥が飛んだのを見て はじまりを知った
終わりとは こうして はじまるものだと

tori ga tonda no o mite hajimari o shitta
owari to wa kou shite hajimaru mono da to

By looking at the birds flying, I understood what a beginning was about,
And that an end, in the same way, isn’t but a beginning.

Credits

Title: 終わりのはじまり (owari no hajimari) (The beginning of the end)
Source: Original
Vocals: Natsuko Miyamoto
Lyrics: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Arrangement:Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Circle: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Album: ゼロコンマ、色とりどりの世界 (Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai)
Release Date: 08/4/2010

Listen to it on Youtube here: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – 終わりのはじまり

Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – まで。情熱ミックス

mikk
[picture by Ilya Kuvshinov]

And the second song from this post is track n°2, “made, jounetsu mikkusu”.
It was initially featured in a promo E.P. by them, but made it out to this album in the end.
What I like about this band is that even if they’re under the shoegaze genre of music, they’re pretty different form your average shoegaze band’s sound.
I think that their style of music is someway more approachable by anyone than some other shoegaze bands such as Tokyo Shoegazers, Shoujo Skip, Tokenai Namae, CLAMs or even My Dead Girlfriend.
Mainly because they’re song are more oriented on the pop/rock side.
Anyway, another amazing thing is that they only use few instruments but they always sound great. Stunning soloes, amazing basslines, outstanding drumtracks.
That’s simply it.

Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – まで。情熱ミックス

あの日のようだった
彼は首かしげて
わたしの涙を飲み干していった

ano hi no you datta
kare wa kubi kashigete
watashi no namida o nomihoshite itta

It was just like that day,
He tilted his neck
And drained all my tears away

擦り減らしては、埋める作業だな
これをあなたは何と呼ぶ?

suriherashite wa, umeru sagyou da na
kore o anata wa nan to yobu?

To wear it all away is just a way to get rid of it, isn’t it?
How do you call all of this?

言い掛けの「さようなら」
どうしても、言えなくて

iikake no “sayounara”
doushitemo, ienakute

But I couldn’t manage anyhow
To say that “goodbye” I’ve left incomplete

託つけて
腰を振る作業
繋いでおいた
あまい思い出さえ
両手いっぱいで もう持てない

kakotsukete
koshi o furu sagyou
tsunaide oita
amai omoide sae
ryoute ippai de mou motenai

By making an excuse
You shook your hips
With my surprise;
By now I can’t fully hold anymore
Your sweet memories with both my hands

誰かのせいにして
ここから逃げたいよ

dareka no sei ni shite
koko kara nigetai yo

I just want lay the blame on someone else
And get away from where I’m now

嘘をついて
鍵をなくす真似
見抜いて欲しいの
叱って欲しいの
ただ、今日が今日であって欲しいの

uso o tsuite
kaki o nakusu mane
minuite hoshii no
kanatte hoshii no
tada, kyou ga kyou de atta hoshii no

With a lie
You pretended to have lost a key
But I want to see through it,
I want to make it real,
I just want for today to be today…

明日がくるまで 昨日が去るまで

ashita ga kuru made kinou ga saru made

…Until tomorrow will come, until yesterday will go away.

Credits

Title: まで。情熱ミックス (made – jounetsu mikkusu) (Until – Passion MIX)
Source: Original
Vocals: Natsuko Miyamoto
Lyrics: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Arrangement:Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Circle: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Album: ゼロコンマ、色とりどりの世界 (Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai)
Release Date: 08/4/2010

Listen to it on Youtube here: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – まで。情熱ミックス

Overall credits

zeroconma

Post 1 – .09 – さんざめく
Post 2 – .03 – 終わりのはじまり & .02 – まで。情熱ミックス
Post 3 – .07 – ズレる & .08 – ひきずるビート
Post 4 – .05 – ONEDAY & .06 – サイダーと君 + .04 RAT
Post 5 – .01 – ゼロコンマ、色とりどりの世界

Translations by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use them, but don’t forget to credit!

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Shoegaze and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai PART 2/5: 「終わりのはじまり」 & 「まで。情熱ミックス 」

  1. Pingback: Mass Of The Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori no Sekai PART 1/5: さんざめく | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  2. Pingback: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori No Sekai Part 3/5: 「ズレる」 & 「ひきずるビート 」 | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  3. Pingback: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori No Sekai Part 4/5: 「ONEDAY」 & 「 サイダーと君」+ 「RAT 」 | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

  4. Pingback: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs – Zero Comma, Irotoridori No Sekai Part 5/5: 「ゼロコンマ、色とりどりの世界」 | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

  5. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

