[REQUEST] 凋叶棕 (Diao Ye Zong) – ヤタガラスカイダイバー

uturin
picture by toutenkou

【Requested by B016

Man, I must say this song is pretty different from the (usual) others arranged by RD-Sounds.
It sounds like an old song, if you ask me. Both because the current RD-Sounds songs have really improved and because Merami‘s vocals too are way more refined than this right now.
It’s so catchy you won’t mind its problems, but it’s still something “outdated”, in terms of comparison.
The lyrics of course focuses on Utsuho, but the song is an arrange from both her and Orin‘s themes, that’s why I choose this picture.
“Sky” (空) appears lots of times on this song, it’s for two reasons. The first, is that the kanji can both mean “sky” and “void” (on some stanzas you should think it’s “void” rather than “sky”), the second is because Utsuho’s nickname, Okuu, is wrote with the same kanji.

凋叶棕 – ヤタガラスカイダイバー

―どうして、この世界には
私よりも光を放つものが居ないのだろう?

doushite, kono sekai ni wa
watashi yori mo hikari o hanatsu mono ga inai no darou?

–I wonder why
Is there nothing in this world that can emit a light brighter than mine?

つねに果て無きトイカケの先に
見出した答えはただひとつだけ。

tsune ni hate naki toikake no saki ni
midashita kotae wa tada hitotsu dake

As always, just before each unfinishing question
The discovered answer will be just one

―いったい、この厚い天蓋の
向こう側に閉じ込められているものは何なのだろう?

ittai, kono atsui tengai no
mukou gawa ni tojikomerareteiru mono wa nan nano darou?

I just wander what does actually lie
Beyond this enclosed thick horizon’s other side?

ときに真理をつくテツガクの先に
見出した道はただひとつだけ。

toki ni shinri o tsuku tetsugaku no saki ni
midashita michi wa tada hitotsu dake

Just before the philosophy connected to the truth
The road I’ll find out about is just one

「空」とは、飽くなき空想の先を
目指すその前に忘れてしまう幻

“sora” to wa, aku naki kuusou no saki o
mezasu sono mae ni wasureteshimau maboroshi

“The sky” as such, just before aiming for that fantasy I’m not going to grow tired of
There lies an illusion that I’ve forgot about

それでも…高まるアコガレ。

soredemo… takamaru akogare.

But still… my longing is rising.

確かめたいその世界
強い希望を胸に
私は飛び出した!

tashikametai sono sekai
tsuyoi kibou o mune ni
watashi wa tobidashita!

I want to make sure that world’s real
Holding a strong hope inside my heart
I’ve started flying!

遍く
“融合”から“対比”へと
翼は今、その姿を変えてゆく。

amaneku
“FUSION” kara “CONTRAST” e to
tsubasa wa ima, sono sugata o kaete yuku.

Everywhere,
From a “FUSION” to a “CONTRAST”,
I’ll now change my wings into that shape.

“狭隘”から“無限”へと
世界も今、その姿を変えてゆく。

“SUBTERRANEAN” kara “INFINITY” e to
sekai mo ima, sono sugata o kaete yuku.

From “SUBTERRANEAN” to “INFINITY”,
I’ll change the very shape of the world into it, now!

「空」とはなんなのでしょう
尽きぬトイカケをはらむ
ヤタガラスの歌声は人知れず…

“sora” to wa nan nano deshou
tsukinu toikake wa haramu
yatagarasu no utagoe wa hitoshirezu…

I wonder what’s that “sky” thing;
As I get filled with this neverending questions
The hell raven’s singing voice, unnoticed, will…

私以外誰もいない
この世界の住人は

watashi igai dare mo inai
kono sekai no juunin wa

There’s no one except for me
As a resident of this world

いったいどこに
いるのでしょうか

ittai doko ni
iru no deshou ka

I just wonder
Where am I?

この「空」に私は一人ぼっち…?

kono “sora” ni watashi wa hitori bocchi…?

Am I completely alone in this “sky”…?

見上げる天高く降り注ぐ光
どこか懐かしいその力の先

miageru tentakaku furisosogu hikari
doko ka natsukashii sono chikara no saki

The light of heavenly heights I’m looking at
Lies before a nostalgic power hidden somewhere

私よりも…大きな太陽。

watashi yori mo… ookina taiyou.

A Sun… bigger than mine.

出会えたんだこの「空」で
同じ光を放つ
もう一人の私に!

deaetanda kono “sora” de
onaji hikari o hanatsu
mou hitori no watashi ni!

I’ve met her under this “sky”
My other self
With a light as bright as mine!

そしてまた
“限界”から“臨界”へと
力は今、その姿を変えてゆく。

soshite mata
“OVERDRIVE” kara “EXCURSION” e to
chikara wa ima, sono sugata o kaete yuku.

And then again
From “OVERDRIVE” to “EXCURSION”,
I’ll now change this power into that shape

“公転”から“自立”へと
私も今、その姿を変えてゆく。

“REVOLUTION” kara “IDENTITY” e to
watashi mo ima, sono sugata o kaete yuku.

From “REVOLUTION” to my “IDENTITY”,
I’ll change my shape into that too, right now

輝く私と同じあなたへと
尽きる事のない歓びの歌声を捧ぐ

kagayaku watashi to onaji anata e to
tsukiru koto no nai yorokobi no utagoe o sasagu

I’ll dedicate an endless song of joy
Both to me and you, radiating the same way

誰よりも高い場所で
ヤタガラスの歌声を響かせて…

dare yori mo takai basho de
yatagarasu no utagoe o hibikasete…

We’ll make the hell raven’s singing voice resound
From the highest place no one could reach…

Notes:

– I think that “融合”(yuugou) and“対比” (taihi) are read as “フュージョン” (let: “fusion”) and コントラスト (let: “contrast”). It’s unclear, but that’s the same meaning as the japanese terms, so I’m guessing they’re most likely right.
– Same goes for the next stanza, “狭隘”(kyouai) is read as “サブテッラニアン” (let: “subterranean”) and“無限”(mugen) is read as “インフィニティー” (let: “infinity”). Again, the meanings are the same, but this time I’m more confident about them.
– Again, some stanzas later, “限界”(genkai) is read as “オバードライブ” (let: “overdrive”) but I have some doubts on how“臨界” (rinkai) is read. I can almost hear エクスプローション (let: “explosion”) but I’m not sure at all about this (edit: it’s EXCURSION). Japanese’s pronunciation of english is to blame, not me. Let me know if you know the right word!
– And again, on the stanza right after that, “公転”(kouten) is read as “レボルーティオン” (let: “revolution”) and “自立” (jiritsu) is read as “アイデンティティー” (let: “identity”).

utai

Title: ヤタハラスカイダイバー (yatagarasu kai daibaa) (Yatagarasu-skydiver)
Circle: 凋叶棕 (Diao Ye Zong)
Album: 謡 (Utai)
Vocals: めらみぽっぷ (Meramipop)
Lyrics: RD-Sounds
Arrangement: RD-Sounds
Release Event: C78
Source: 霊知の太陽信仰 ~ Nuclear Fusion (Solar Sect of Mystic Wisdom ~ Nuclear Fusion), SA, Reiuji Utsuho’s Theme + 死体旅行 ~ Be of good cheer! (Corpse Voyage ~ Be of good cheer!), SA, Kaenbyou Rin’s Theme

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [REQUEST] 凋叶棕 (Diao Ye Zong) – ヤタガラスカイダイバー

  1. Eiki says:

    “excursion” instead of “explosion”

  2. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

