[REQUEST] ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY – 黄昏トンボ

tanabata
[picture by yuufuushi, detail]

【Requested by Dora Bocancea

Man, it’s been a while since last time I’ve listened to this song, and I never actually thought someone could end up requesting it to me.
I’d be 100% honest if I’d say I almost forgot about this song’s existence.
It may be my impression, but I’m pretty sure this song is about (or at least, it makes clear quotes from) the myth celebrated during the Tanabata (it’s almost time!) of Orihime and Hikoboshi‘s love story.
Long story short… Nah, you all know that. Anyway, it’s pretty clear it’s refering to it, at least a little bit. It’s nice I got this request just some days before Tanabata!

ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY – 黄昏トンボ

いと恋しや、と再会を願う
天河の岸と岸のよう出逢えぬ二人

ito koishi ya, to saikai o negau
ama-no-gawa no kishi to kishi no you deaeunu futari

As I dwell in nostalgia I pray for the reunion of us,
Unable to meet by chance just like two opposite banks of the Milky Way

望月まに、星は薄燈く流れ
芒は風にしなうまま
宵は更けて、刻は過ぎ去るの

mochidzuki ma ni, hoshi wa usuakaku nagare
susuki wa kaze ni shinau mama
yoi wa fukete, toki wa sugisaru no

As Full Moon shines, stars are flowing in a dim light
And while the tall grass is bent by the wind
The evening grows late and the time goes by

一夜一夜の恋心
一色一色織り重ねても
叶うことなく、帰るとなく
遥空に散り溶け消えてゆく

hitoyo hitoyo no koigokoro
hitotsu hitotsu orikasanetemo
kanau koto naku, kuru to naku
sora ni chiri toke kiete yuku

This one night only awakened love, for only one night,
Even if I’d wave it a bit after another piling it up
It won’t come true, it would come back to nothingness
Scattering, melting and disappearing in the distant sky

彼は誰とき、と待ち続けても
おとない人は夫婦の黄昏トンボだけ

kare wa dare toki, to machitsudzukete mo
otonai hito wa meoto no tasogare tonbo dake

Even if I’ll keep waiting for him, for whom to come,
The only sound I hear is the dusk dragonfly of couples

淋しさ余り、空に消えられたのなら
あの人は追いかけてくれるのかと、
ふと思いながら

samishisa amari, sora ni kierareta no nara
ano hito wa oikakete kureru no ka to
fu to omoi nagara

If I’d be erased by the sky because of my loneliness
I wonder if that person would chase me up for my sake–
–That’s what I was suddenly thinking

くるりくるりと周り道
るううるううと風が泣く
悟ること悲し、哀れとも
別れの時を予感する

kururi kururi to mawari michi
ruuu ruuu to kaze ga naku
satoru koto kanashi, aware to mo
wakare no toki o yokan suru

Round and round, the road is spinning
Wooshh wooshh, the wind is howling
Even if realizing it is sad and pitiful
I can feel the time we’ll part away will come…

一夜一夜の恋心
一色一色織り重ねても
叶うことなく、帰るとなく
遥空に散り溶け消えてゆく

hitoyo hitoyo no koigokoro
hitotsu hitotsu orikasanetemo
kanau koto naku, kuru to naku
sora ni chiri toke kiete yuku

This one night only awakened love, for only one night,
Even if I’d wave it a bit after another piling it up
It won’t come true, it would come back to nothingness
Scattering, melting and disappearing in the distant sky

一夜一夜の恋心
一色一色織り重ねても
叶うことなく、帰るとなく
遥空に散り溶け消えてゆく

hitoyo hitoyo no koigokoro
hitotsu hitotsu orikasanetemo
kanau koto naku, kuru to naku
sora ni chiri toke kiete yuku

This one night only awakened love, for only one night,
Even if I’d wave it a bit after another piling it up
It won’t come true, it would come back to nothingness
Scattering, melting and disappearing in the distant sky

Notes:

– Starting off with the title, “tonbo” means “dragonfly”, and I’m pretty sure it’s refering to something I didn’t get. The stanza where “tasogare tonbo” appears, means, at least to my interpretation, that she’s waiting for his lover (or even someone else, being lonely, thus “誰”) to come, but it won’t happen, and only a dusk (symbol of transiety) firefly, which symbolized married couples (夫婦) reaches her. I think what it means is that she’s haunted by those visions of other couples who were able to fullfil their dream to find someone, but are transient compared to a love that can’t happen nor wither as the one Orihime (or whoever is the singer’s character) feels.
– This song is full of “strange” readings, meaning both kirakira readings / sophisticated readings.
– First stanza: ama-no-gawa is wrote without “no”, but that’s not actually that strange.
– Second stanza: “toki” is wrote with 刻 instead of 時. Also, I’ve translated “Susuki” as “tall grass”, while it’s actually the name of a plant I don’t know in english. It’s basically tall grass, by the way.
– Third stanza: “hitoyo” instead of “hitoya” (I think they’re both fine btw), “hitotsu” (one) as the reading for 一色 (one color), 帰る (kaeru, “to go back home”) is read as 来る (kuru, “to come”) and 遥空, wrote with the kanji of “haruka” (distant) and “sky” (sora) is simply read as “sora”. Of course, I tried keeping their compound meanings anyways.
– Fourth stanza: 夫婦 is normally read as “fuufu”, here is read as “meoto”, which is a more classical way to read this compound.

kinouta

Title: 黄昏トンボ (tasogare tonbo) (Dusk Firefly)
Circle: ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY
Album: 季ノ唄 (Ki no Uta)
Vocals: Mitsuki Nakae
Lyrics: Mitsuki Nakae
Arrangement: ジン (Jin)
Release Event: M3-19
Source: Original

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Song Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to [REQUEST] ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY – 黄昏トンボ

  1. My goodness! I never would’ve thought you would actually grant my request. I can’t thank you enough. I’m so happy I finally know the meaning. Many many thanks.

  2. I could feel even without understanding the language that the song’s heart touching, now that I see the translation I think it’s even more. You also gave me something to research: “the myth celebrated during the Tanabata (it’s almost time!) of Orihime and Hikoboshi‘s love story.” Thanks.

Leave a Reply

