SWING HOLIC – No-PE No-GE

nopenoge
[picture by odori (super normal)]

When it comes to Jazz, the touhou doujin music world hasn’t much to offer.
I like jazz music a lot, and there are lots of touhou songs that claims to be jazz songs but actually aren’t. Aside from Tokyo Active NEETs, which is probably the best touhou-jazz band, Swing Holic is one of the few others full-jazz circles that are really nice.
Plus, their on-vocal songs are always good and keep the standard jazz vibe that will never cease to bore me.
Sadly their lyrics (expecially those from their new albums) seems to be a bit difficult to find online, but there are still some tracks from previous albums that were untouched. Just like today’s post.
To be honest, this one isn’t even a touhou arrange. It’s featured in their Vol.5 along with touhou arranges, but it’s actually an original.
I love the singer’s voice, it’s really something. And while is not the typical voice you’d hear in a jazz song, it fits better than I could have thought.
If you happen to have the lyrics from their latest albums I’d gladly accept them!
About this song’s lyrics… I like to think it’s more something towards music itself rather than a person. No pain no gain, meaning that if you don’t put effort in music, you won’t make any progress. Also, being clumsy, uneasiness masks to protect one’s own dreams… yup, to me it’s a song about the difficulties of music.
NOTES:
– First stanza, “clone” means “a clone of myself”. In other words, she’s saying she’s becoming some other self which is shrouded in uneasiness.
– There are 4 english-only stanzas that I omitted at the end. They go like that: “No pain no gain \ I’ll take it! \ A girl is walking with me \ \No pain no gain \ I’ll take it! \ Don’t go anywhere \No pain no gain \ I’ll take it! \ So many flowers are still here \ No pain no gain I’ll take it!”

SWING HOLIC – No-PE No-GE

1人の時に感じる
本音がとても怖くて
不安をまといクローンになる
夢を守るためだけに

hitori no toki ni kanjiru
honne ga totemo kowakute
fuan o matoi kuroon ni naru
yume o mamoru tame dake ni

I’m really afraid of that real intention
I feel each time I’m alone,
So I become a clone dressed in uneasiness
For the sake of protecting my own dreams

悲しむ顔にゴメンネ。
痛むところはどこ?
震える想いを逃してる
強い自分で

kanashimu kao ni gomen ne.
itamu tokoro wa doko?
furueru omoi o nigashiteru
tsuyoi jubun de

I’m sorry for my grieving face.
Where does it hurt, again?
I’m letting those trembling thoughts escape
From my stronger self

あぁ 小さくまわる
現実は明日を照らす
擦り剥いた傷跡が告げる
変わり始めた
No pain No gain
I’ll take it.

aa chisaku mawaru
genjitsu wa ashita o terasu
surimuita kizuato ga tsugeru
kawari hajimeta
No pain No gain
I’ll take it.

Aah, the slightly spinning present
Will give a light to tomorrow:
It has started changing
Those signs of scratched wounds
No pain No gain
I’ll take it.

光が混ざる
現実は明日を照らす
溢れた想いを飾る
気付き始めた
No pain, no gain
I’ll take it

hikari ga mazaru
genjitsu wa ashita o terasu
afureta omoi o kazaru
kidzuki hajimeta
No pain, no gain
I’ll take it

The light is blending within
This present radiating towards tomorrow;
I just started noticing
How those overflowing memories are decorating it
No pain No gain
I’ll take it.

不器用でゴメンネ
嬉しそうに見えてた?
隠さずに受け止められたら
甘い自分で

bukiyou de gomen ne
ureshisou ni mieteta?
kakusazu ni uketomeraretara
amai jibun de

Sorry for my clumsiness,
Did I look happy about it?
If you’ll react to it without hiding away
Along with my sweet side…

あぁ寂しくまわる
現実は明日を照らす
気付いたら自分が鳴らす
変わり始めた
No pain no gain,
I’ll take it.

aa samishiku mawaru
genjitsu wa ashita o terasu
kidzuitara jibun ga narasu
kawari hajimeta
No pain no gain
I’ll take it.

Aah, the lonely spinning present
Will give a light to tomorrow;
And if you notice it, you’ll be resounding:
Things started to change
No pain no gain
I’ll take it.

光が混ざる
現実は明日を照らす
溢れた想いを飾る
気付き始めた
No pain no gain
I’ll take it.

hikari ga mazaru
genjitsu wa ashita o terasu
afureta omoi o kazaru
kidzuki hajimeta
No pain no gain
I’ll take it.

The light is blending within
This present radiating towards tomorrow;
I just started noticing
How those overflowing memories are decorating it
No pain No gain
I’ll take it.

No pain no gain
I’ll take it.
現実は明日を照らす
擦り剥いた傷跡が告げる
変わり始めた
No pain no gain
I’ll take it.

No pain no gain
I’ll take it.
genjitsu wa ashita o terasu
surimuita kizuato ga tsugeru
kawari hajimeta
No pain no gain
I’ll take it.

No pain no gain
I’ll take it.
The present will make tomorrow shine
Those signs of scratched wounds
Have started changing
No pain no gain
I’ll take it.

Credits

Title: No-PE No-GE
Source: Original
Vocals: A~YA
Lyrics: A~YA
Arrangement:Swing Holic Band
Circle: SWING HOLIC
Album: SWING HOLIC VOL.05
Release Event: Reitaisai 7

Listen to it on Youtube here: SWING HOLIC – No-PE No-GE

Translated by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use it, but don’t forget to credit!

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Song Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

