[REQUEST] ロリィタノイロォゼ – religieuse

rpnn
[picture by asahiro (algl)]

This song was requested by Eiki.
You know what? This song is really pretty.
Sadly I don’t know much about it, so I don’t know what its topic is, what is it talking about, why it keeps quoting old tales or fantasy creatures.
That’s up to the reader, I guess?
After all, isn’t it always like that?
I guess that’s the only thing that I didn’t like about it. After all, it doesn’t make much sense to me, but I know for sure it’s only because I don’t know much about it. Sounds deeper than it seems, and it surely is.
NOTES:
– 人魚の涙 in the second stanza (ningyo no namida, “tears of the mermaid”) is read as “houseki”(宝石)(jewel). I got their meanings blended.
– on the same stanza, 金 is read as “gin” (silver) instead of “kin” (gold).
– ラパチーニ (Rappaccini) comes from Rappaccini’s Daughter, a short tale by Nathaniel Hawthorne. By the way this one caught my attention, I’ll read it when I’ll have some time to do so.
– シレーヌ (shireenu) Sireno, according to what internet taught me. It should be another quote from another book / novel / tale / whatever, but this time I wasn’t smart enough to get the reference.
– The Charkha is the traditional indian spinning wheel which is used to spin threads. It’s also one of the oldest kind of its genre.
– 代替 (daitai) on the last stanza is read as “kawari”, though their meaning is pretty much the same.

ロリィタノイロォゼ – religieuse

夏の終わり 冷たい雨
見惚れるのような光の暈
密やかな恋に落ちた

natsu no owari tsumetai ame
mihoreru no youna hikari no kasa
hisoyakana koi ni ochita

In a cold rain on Summer’s last days,
I quietly fell in love, as if charmed,
With an umbrella made of light

透ける肌へ金の針糸を通し
人魚の涙を縫いとめて
「ピアスにして飾って」

sukeru hada e gin no hari ito otooshi
houseki wo nuitomete
“piasu ni shite kazatte”

A silver wire and needle through her transparent skin
Are sewing a mermaid tear’s jewel
“Make it a pair of earrings”

ラパチーニの庭 シレーヌの海
悲しみも 倖福のシノニムも
分かち合うことは許されないと
知っていたのに

rapachiini no niwa shireenu no umi
kanashimi mo koufuku no shinonimu mo
wakachiau koto wa yurusarenai to
shitteita no ni

Rappaccini’s garden, Sireno’s sea,
Both sadness and a synonim for luck,
Even though I knew
Sharing them wasn’t something you would forgive

東欧、桐の花 チャルカーを抱き
生きる場所を違えた 私は
この脚と伝えたい言葉を失くし
貴方の代替に

touou, kiri no hana charukaa wo idaki
ikiru basho wo tadaeta watashi wa
kono ashi to tsutaetai kotoba wo nakushi
anata no kawari ni

A flower of Paulownia embraces a Charkhā in the Eastern Europe,
And I, who failed searching for a place to live,
Have lost the words I could convey with my feet
Taking your place

Credits

Title: religieuse
Source: Original
Vocals: りみゆ
Lyrics: りみゆ
Arrangement:りみゆ、pre-holder
Circle: ロリィタノイロォゼ (lolita-neurosis)
Album: Regina S
Release Event: M3-37

Listen to it on Youtube here: ロリィタノイロォゼ – religieuse
Translated by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use it, but don’t forget to credit!

More music!

I have another wordpress, 感激宴会 ~ kangeki enkai in which I translate non-touhou / non-anime / non-doujin / non-videogame japanese music, mainly post-rock, shoegaze and indie songs.
It’s a bit different from Foreground Noises, but it’s about a type of music which fits my tastes better.
Check it out if you want! It’s a good chance to find out about some hidden gems and enjoy some good not-so-popular music. Click the logo to reach the website!

kangeki2

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Song Lyrics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [REQUEST] ロリィタノイロォゼ – religieuse

  1. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

