TUMENECO – ヒミツナグモノ

toshi
picture by hisona (suaritesumi)

This will be the last post on Foreground Noises for at least 1 Month from now (or probably a bit more).
I’ll explain the details in my next post which I’ll publish soon!
Anyway, TUMENECO again, with an arrange from Urban Legend in Limbo.
I love that circle, I can’t help it!
I like Sumireko‘s theme a lot too, so this song was one of the greatest C88 discovery. Why hasn’t this been translated before? I have no idea.
I’d love to write more, but there’s a f*ckload of notes for this song, which, by the way, I had lot of fun translating.
Check them, and enjoy this last post! I’ll see you again with the next translation on May (tba)!

TUMENECO – ヒミツナグモノ

思い焦がれてた綺麗なものを 夢中で蒐めてた
瞳閉ざしてる間に映る影 手を伸ばしてた

omoi kogareteta kirei na mono o muchuu de atsumeteta
hitomi tozashiteru aida ni utsuru kage te o nobashiteta

I collected with zeal all those the graceful things I’d been yearning for,
Outstretching my arms towards the shadow projected in the time lapse when my eyes were closed

「今貴女のすぐ後ろにいるの」意識の外、その声が
酷く寂しく聞こえたのは 誰が望む夢だろう

“ima anata no sugu ushiro ni iru no” ishiki no soto, sono koe ga
hidoku sabishiku kikoeta no wa dare ga nozomu yume darou

Outside my conscious, I could hear a frightening and lonely voice saying
“I’m right behind you”; but whose dream is it? Who’s longing for it?

『ひみつをあばくもの』
その名を次ぐ君が歩みを躊躇わぬ様に
『ひみつの名継ぐもの』
その出逢いをいつか暴けるように
此処に置いていくから

“himitsu o abaku mono”
sono na o tsugu kimi ga ayumi o tamerawanu you ni
“himitsu no natsugu mono”
sono deai o itsuka abakeru you ni
koko ni oiteyuku kara

“Someone who could uncover a secret”
You were sort of hesitating from walking beyond that name you’re carrying along,
“A person who’ll inherit this secret’s name”
Someday this encounter will have to happen,
So I’ll leave everything here as it is

幾つ並べても願った影は 触れずにすり抜けて
流れ祈ってた光のひとつ 染まる事を決めた

ikutsu narabete mo nagatta kage wa furezu ni surinukete
nagare inotteta hikari no hitotsu somaru koto o kimeta

I’m slipping through each countless lined up shades I’ve prayed for without touching them:
I’ve decided I’ll give a color to a single flowing light I’ve been praying for

『今貴女のすぐ傍にいるもの』
標識の先の声が 遥か遠く聞こえてるのは
君が望む夢だろう?

“ima anata no sugu soba ni iru mono”
hyoushiki no saki no koe ga haruka tooku kikoeteru no wa
kimi ga nozomu yume darou?

“Someone is right on your side by now”
The voice before that sign that I could hear from far, far away
Belongs to the dream you’re wishing for, doesn’t it?

「何処に居たとしても見付けられる」様に
一人きりにしない様に
「何時を画してても視、尾けられる」様に
欠片をひとつ君に置いていくから

“doko ni ita to shite mo mitsukerareru” you ni
hitori kiri ni shinai you ni
“itsu o kakushitete mo mitsukerareru” you ni
kakera o hitotsu kimi ni oite yuku kara

“I’ll find you for sure, wherever you are”, just like that,
So I won’t be left alone again;
“I’ll lay my eyes on you, even if you’ll hide away”, just like that,
Because I’ll lay a single fragment on you

『秘、貢ぐもの』『封ざしたもの』
『倶に夢を視るもの』『楽でたもの』
『描かれたもの』
その名前を継ぐもの

“himitsugu mono” “tozashita mono”
“tomo ni yume o miru mono” “kanadeta mono”
“wakareta mono”
sono namae o tsugu mono

“Some secret I’m holding up”, “Someone who’s being sealed”,
“Someone to have a dream to share with”, “Something I could dance at ease to”,
“Something I could grasp”
Someone who could inherit those names…

『幻えるもの』『想わぬもの』
『郷を振り還るもの』『縁るもの』
『起きえたもの』
書き遺した文の続きを

“mayoeru mono” “omowanu mono”
“sato o furikaeru mono” “tsunagaru mono”
“okieta mono”
kaki nokoshita fumi no tsudzuki o

“Some illusion I could get lost in”, “Something out of my imagination”,
“Someone who’s leaving its village behind”, “Someone to connect to”,
“Someone who could wake up”
The continuation of the letter I’ve left behind will…

『ひみつをあばくもの』
その名を継ぐ君が 握る手を離さぬ様に
『ひみつの名継ぐもの』
その出逢いにいつか笑えるように
此処で 繋ぐ名前 きっと出逢える日まで

“himitsu o abaku mono”
sono na o tsugu kimi ga nigiru te o hanasanu you ni
“himitsu no natsugu mono”
sono deai ni itsuka waraeru you ni
koko de tsunagu namae kitto deaeru hi made

“Something that could uncover a secret”
You were holding firmly to my hand, carrying your name with you;
“A person who’ll inherit this secret’s name”
Someday, we’ll be laughing together to this encounter,
For sure, until the day we’ll be bound by that name here…

Notes:

– This song is full of puns and quotes. Starting by its title, “himitsunagu mono”, which blends the words “himitsu” (secret) and “tsunagu” (to link two things or more). So, “Something bound to a secret”, which, translated this way, kinda explains the pun.
– The first stanza says “muchuu” (夢中) which means “with zeal”, but here could have also a hidden meaning, being Sumireko able to enter Gensokyo through her dreams. The kanjis for this word are, in fact, the one from “dream” (夢) and the one from “inside” (中). Also, it follows up describing this very fact right after it, talking about a “shadow that’s projected when my eyes are closed” (Gensokyo in her dreams).
– Each time the word “you” appears in the translation, it refers to a girl, being “anata” wrote 貴女, with the kanji for “woman” (女).
– In the third stanza, “mono” could be both “thing” or “person”. I think that it could be a reference to Renko in this part, being that it’s talking about some kind of heritage, which could possibly be the Secret Sealing Club’s leader role, which we know it’s something in the hands of Renko & Maribel in the near future while it once belonged to Sumireko during the current Touhou events.
– The seventh stanza is worth several notes. First off, “hi, mitsugu mono” is another pun similar to the title, where “himitsu” (secret, which appears as “hi” with the 秘 kanji) blends along with “mitsugu” (貢ぐ) which means “to support”. Following up, “tozashita” which means “closed” is wrote with the kanji for “seal”, “sealing” (封), which brings a more mystical meaning to the sentence, without changing its content that much. Again, “kanadeta mono” is wrote with 楽 (pleasure) instead of 奏 (dance). I tried blending the meanings. Lastly, “egakareta mono” (描かれたもの) (something that’s been drawn) is read as “wakareta mono” (something I could understand).
– The eight stanza is pretty strange too. It features lots of links to the Touhou world. First off, “mayoeru mono” (something that could get lost) is wrote with 幻 (“maboroshi”, “illusion”) instead of 迷 (“mayou”, “to get lost”). Next to it, “omowanu mono” is wrote with 想 rather than 思 (which should be the correct one). Though, both have “omou” as a reading. While the second means “to think”, the first one is more like “to recollect, to imagine”. There’s a reason why they choose the first kanji rather than the second, but I’ll explain it later.
Lastly, for the first part of this note, we found 郷 (sato, “village”) which is a pretty common word, usually wrote as 里 even though the other reading isn’t an error.
The first three kanji appearing in those lines, forms the word “幻想郷” which is read as “Gensokyo”. That’s brilliant! That’s exactly why they choose those kanjis instead of others.
– I’m pretty sure that, in the eight stanza, “tsunagaru” wrote with the 緑 (midori, “green”) kanji is a special reading. It kind of reminds me of the stage 1 theme from LoLK, 忘れがたき、よすがの緑 (That unforgettable greenery of connection), being that “tsunagaru” means “to connect”.

himitunagu

Title: ヒミツナグモノ (himitsunagu mono) (Something bound to a secret)
Circle: TUMENECO
Album: ヒミツナグモノ
Vocals: Yukina
Lyrics: ななせ, ななつめ (nanase, nanatsume)
Arrangement: tomoya
Release Event: C88
Source: ラストオカルティズム ~ 現し世の秘術師 (Last Occultism ~ Esotericist of the Present World) Urban Legend in Limbo, Sumireko Usami’s Theme

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TUMENECO – ヒミツナグモノ

  1. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

