Dantalian Calculated Symphony

dalian2
ダンタリアンの書架 (Dantalian no Shoka) – official novel artwork

This post is kind of the sequel from my previous one (and an unusual, unrepeating post).
And it’s also an emblem of my paradoxal attitude. In fact, this song is actually a Vocaloid one, the first I’ve ever translated and published and probably the last I’ll do.
There won’t be future posts like this one, it’s a promise.
With this post, I’ve officially came to an end with my old wordpress (thedistantjourney) which served as the basis for making this wordpress come to life and helped me getting acquainted with wordpress in general.
My old wordpress was a japanese->italian translation one (but I mostly translated from already existing english translations), and another feature it had, was a translation for the japanese novel Dantalian no Shoka.
It was a good novel and I loved its setting, sadly the anime was a total failure (at least to me) which ruined its mood and atmosphere.
Today’s song, Dantalian Calculated Symphony mix is a perfect example of the atmosphere this novel had, that’s why I loved it that much to the point I translated it in italian… poorly.
Now I can do it better, and so, it’s the final post of something I’ve already tried to do!
Sadly, this song is sung by Hatsune Miku, which, of course, being a Vocaloid stays away from what it could have been with a real person singing. There’s a cover by snowwhite somewhere, but it’s not exactly fitting for this song’s atmosphere (which, vocals aside, it’s really good in terms of rhythm: just listen to that solo at 3:47!).
I’d pay billions to hear Hanatan performing this!
And I wish someday some good singer would cover it. It’s only, big flaw is that it has no singer to perform it. But it’s still something I want to re-translate properly.
This post’s pretty nostalgic to me, lots of things sure have changed…

Dantalian Calculated Symphony mix

誰?

dare?

Who’s there?

幾多の文字と眠り
螺旋の奥で待ち続ける
作られた命のように白い手
人間ではない…私は…

ikuta no moji to nemuri
rasen no oku de machitsudzukeru
tsukurareta inochi no you ni shiroi te
hito de wa nai… watashi wa…

Countless characters and sleeps
Are still waiting in the depths of this spiral
The white hand, just like a fabricated life,
Doesn’t belong to a human, I am…

惑わせて積み重なる
その闇を求めて

madowasete tsumikasanaru
sono yami o motomete

Piling up in a great confusion,
Seeking for that darkness…

黒いドレスを纏って
踊るこの手に鍵を
この名に架せた使命
受け継がれていく問いは
I ask of thee Art thou mankind?

kuroi doresu o matotte
odoru kono te ni kagi o
kono na ni kaseta shimei
uketsugarete iku toi wa
I ask of thee Art thou mankind?

Wearing a black dress
Spinning a key on this hand of mine
That’s the message bound to this name
And the question that will follow is
“I ask of thee, Art thou mankind?”

風さえ迷う時間に
乱れて響く靴の音が
静寂を終わらせていく
奏でた雨の声を塞いで

kaze sae mayou toki ni
midarete hibiku kutsu no oto ga
seijaku o owaraseteiku
kanadeta ame no koe o fusaide

Just when the winds losts his way too
The sound of footsepts echoing in chaos
Will gradually put an end to this silence
Covering the voice of the dancing drizzle

魅せられて増え続ける
過ちの数だけ…

miserarete fuetsudzukeru
ayamachi no kazu dake…

Being enchanted by them, they keep increasing…
Just the number of my faults…

黒い髪を踊らせ
時の針眠らせて
描かれるこの姿
引き継がれていく問いは
I ask of thee Art thou mankind?

kuroi kami o odorase
toki no hari nemurasete
egakareru kono sugata
hikitsugareteiku toi wa
I ask of thee Art thou mankind?

As I make my black hair dance
As I put the clockhand of time to sleep
This figure that’s been drawn
Is handing over a question:
“I ask of thee, Art thou mankind?”

No.

この世に在らざるもの
知るべきではないこと
届く声は読姫
深い闇に描いて

kono yo ni arazaru mono
shiru beki de wa nai koto
todoku koe wa yomihime
fukai yami ni egaite

Things that shouldn’t be in this world
Are things you shouldn’t know about;
The voice of the Reading Princess ir reaching you
Drawing something in a deep darkness…

黒いドレスを纏って
踊るこの手に鍵を
この名に架せた使命
受け継がれていく問いは
I ask of thee Art thou mankind?

kuroi doresu o matotte
odoru kono te ni kagi o
kono na ni kaseta shimei
uketsugarete iku toi wa
I ask of thee Art thou mankind?

Wearing a black dress
Spinning a key on this hand of mine
That’s the message bound to this name
And the question that will follow is
“I ask of thee, Art thou mankind?”

黒い髪を踊らせ
時の針眠らせて
描かれるこの姿
引き継がれていく問いは
I ask of thee Art thou mankind?

kuroi kami o odorase
toki no hari nemurasete
egakareru kono sugata
hikitsugareteiku toi wa
I ask of thee Art thou mankind?

As I make my black hair dance
As I put the clockhand of time to sleep
This figure that’s been drawn
Is handing over a question:
“I ask of thee, Art thou mankind?”

Notes:

– Of course the song is about the novel / manga, so it’s full of quotes and particulars from it. “I ask of thee, art thou mankind” is one of those. But also the “yomi-hime”, which translates as “reading princess”, which is a sort of sorcerer in the Dantalian no Shoka world. When the subject is not present, is most likely talking about books.
– First stanza, 人間 (ningen, “human”) is read as “hito” (人, “person”).
– Fourth stanza, 時間 (jikan, “time”) is read as “toki” (時, “time”).

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Song Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dantalian Calculated Symphony

  1. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

