[REQUEST] Applice – 誰何記号群

suikaki
[picture by gensou aporo]

This song was requested by Darren Chiu.
I like this song! Even though I can’t really say the lyrics weren’t confusing.
The biggest problem is the title, as you will read in the notes.
And that “H”, and the overall imagery the song is trying to depict, which didn’t really helped me getting an actual image of what is it talking about.
But I like the rhythm and the whole voice + chorus thingy.
Kind of reminds me of other hifuu-related songs I’ve already translated, the one from Kimi no Museum in particular.
It’s still pretty challenging translating touhou stuff, I think I could do it way better if I had more knowledge about each circle / author / whatever.
After all, the main issue here is about trying to convey what the song tried to do. Mission status: completed. With success? I don’t really know, but I don’t think I could reach a different ending. I can’t say I’m not satisfied though.
Here’s a clusterf*ck of notes for you!
NOTES:
– The stanzas with the blank space on the left are the chorus.
– 相室 (soushitsu) on the fourth stanza. I don’t know if it’s a word, but it could be a pun. With other kanjis, 喪失 (soushitsu) could mean “loss”, “death”, “disappearance”, but here it’s wrote with “assembly” and “chamber”, as if it’s recalling the machiai-shitsu (waiting room) on the previous stanza. I tried to blend the meanings.
– Again, on the same stanza, there’s 実 (mi – jitsu) which I don’t know how is read here (it’s part of the chorus), but it could be “fruit” (if it’s read as “mi”) or “truth”, if it’s read as “jitsu”. Again, blended meanings.
– I really don’t know what that “H” refers to. “H” in japanese… well, you know what “ecchi” stands for, don’t you? I highly doubt is that, but I can’t find a clear explaination. It could be the “H” for “Hifuu Kurabu” (Secret Sealing Club), or, by the same kanji, for the word “Himitsu”, meaning “Secret”. That’s what I thought, but I’m not sure.
– The title for this song “suikaki gougun”, which also appears more than once in the song, isn’t an idiom. Thus, it can’t be translated in a single way. I think it’s some sort of pun / reference I’m not getting, thus my translation for it is just an interpretation of the kanjis / words it’s composed of.
– デヰト (deeto) is wrote with ヰ, a (now) unused katakana sign which has the same meaning as ー (in other words, makes vowels longer). It should have been デート instead.

Applice – 誰何記号群

見上げれば夕立を
降らすつもりか いつまでも
ただ気付けば忘れてる
あの熱い色と輪郭を

miagereba yuudachi o
furasu tsumori ka itsumade mo
tada kidzukeba wasureteru
ano atsui iro to rinkaku o

If I could look up to the evening squall
Would it still have the will to pour down?
I’m just forgetting it as I recall it,
That warm color and outline…

  また 重なる
  
  mada kasanaru

  It piles up again

真夜中の待合室に
溜まる息は紫色
誰かが立つ窓の外
暗く淀む茜色して

mayonaka no machiaishitsu ni
tamaru iki wa murasaki iro
dareka ga tatsu mado no soto
kuraku yodomu akaneiro shite

In the midnight’s waiting room
The breathing I’m enduring is purple-colored;
Someone, beyond the window screen
Is standing, in madder red

  相室に溜まる
  紫色の実
  会う時の空は
  茜色してた

  soushitsu ni tamaru
  murasaki iro no mi
  au toki no sora wa
  akaneiro shiteta

  Held in a vanishing room
  A purple fruit of truth
  The sky from when we met
  Was painted in madder red

そこに浮かんでた顔は
鼻や瞳がないけど
歪んでる唇だけが
少し笑って見える

soko ni ukandeta kao wa
hana ya hitomi ga nai kedo
yuganderu kuchibiru dake ga
sukoshi waratte mieru

The face that was floating out there
Had no nose or eyes whatsoever, but
I could just see a pair of crooked lips
Distorted in a slight smile

あれが瞬くのは誰を導くためだ
何故 回り続けて零を重ねる
君に捉えられる時間がまだあるなら
迷い路 消えない火 「H」の魔物
誰何記号群

are ga matataku no wa dare o michibiku tame da
naze mawari tsudzukete zero o kasaneru
kimi ni toraerareru jikan ga mada aru nara
mayoiji kienai hi “H” no mamono
suikaki gougun

But for whose sake is it lighting up a way?
Why the cycling zeroes are still piling up
If the time you took from me is still out there?
On the road I’m lost in, an endless fire, a “H” apparition
Collected challenging signals and memories

繰り返す夕立の
隙間からやっと息をして
透明な膜の中で
今も鳴いているカナリアが

kurikaesu yuudachi no
sukima kara yatto iki o shite
toumei na maku no naka de
ima mo naiteiru kanaria ga

Throught the gaps of a repeating evening squall
I can finally let out my breath;
Inside a transparent membrane
Still lies a weeping canary

  いま もういちど
  
  ima mou ichido

  Right now, once more

ねじ巻き式のアナログな
時計の針 飲み込んでる
悲鳴と退屈だけで
埋まるメモリならへし折ろう

nejimaki shiki no anarogu na
tokei no hari nomikondeiru
himei to taikutsu dake de
umaru memori nara heshiorou

The clock hands of a wind-up type analog clock
Are being swallowed away;
I’ll break each of those buried memories
If they’re just a pile of boredom and screams

  アナログなデヰト
  飲み込んでる声
  何も足りないのなら
  へし折られた

  anarogu na deeto
  nomikonderu koe
  nanimo tarinai no nara
  heshiorareta

  An analog date,
  A swallowed up voice
  If nothing will be enough
  Everything will be smashed up

終わらない旅路に
仮想的終点を建てて
幸福と名を付ける人を見て
君は笑った

owaranai tabiji ni
kasouteki shuuten tatete
koufuku to na o tsukeru hito o mite
kimi wa waratta

I’m building a virtual Terminus
To this endless voyage;
And you were smiling
Looking at those people with names and happiness attached to them

きっと瞬くあれを見て 見えてるほうが
もう手遅れなんだと気づいたから
新しい列車が走る予定の道を
蹴散らし飛び込んだ 君の居る場所
誰何記号群

kitto matataku are o mite mieteru hou ga
mou te okurenanda to kidzuita kara
atarashii ressha ga hashiru yotei no michi o
kechirashi tobikonda kimi no iru basho
suikaki gougun

I’ll surely look to what’s radiating, but the more I look
The more I realize I’m too late to do anything, and so
I’ll just waste some time jumping towards the place you’re at
On the planned road were a new train is running
Collected challenging signals and memories

もうすぐ桜が咲いて
いつか春と呼んだ季節になる

mou sugu sakura ga saite
itsuka haru to yonda kisetsu ni naru

Cherry flowers are going to bloom soon,
And the season called “Spring” will come

未だに天蓋は動かないまま
時も場所も同じ数のまま

imadani tengai wa ugokanai mama
toki mo basho mo onaji kazu no mama

Even now, as the horizon is still unmoving,
As the time and the place are still on the same numbers…

そこがどこで 誰が何で今があるのか
鉛筆の折れそうな
鋭角で描く伝説の童話

soko ga doko de dare ga nande ima ga aru no ka
enpitsu no oresou na
eikaku de egaku densetsu no douwa

That place… where is it? Who’s there, and why it there?
That’s the legendary fairy-tail
Drawn by the acute-angled pencil which seems about to break

君が輝くのはその先にあるものが
蜃気楼さえ現実的なほど
誰が何だと分かるはずないものだから
秘かに飛び込んだ 君の居る場所
誰何記号群

kimi ga kagayaku no wa sono saki ni aru mono ga
shinkirou sae genjitsuteki na hodo
dare ga nan da to wakaru hazu nai mono dakara
hisoka ni tobikonda kimi no iru basho
suikaki gougun

The moment where your light was brighter was just before that point,
Somewhere between the boundary of mirages and truth,
But that’s something no one is supposed to understand at all
And so, secretly, I jumped off, towards the place you’re in.
Collected challenging signals and memories

Credits

Title: 誰何記号群 (suikaki gougun)
Original Track: 天空のグリニッジ (Greenwich in the Sky), from Magical Astronomy (track #2)
Vocals: またろう (Matarou)
Lyrics: どろにさん (doroni-san)
Arrangement:みっつん (Mittsun)
Circle: Applice
Album: 斥状回輝線
Release Event: C86

Listen to it on Youtube here: Applice – 誰何記号群

Translated by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use it, but don’t forget to credit!

More music!

I have another wordpress, 感激宴会 ~ kangeki enkai in which I translate non-touhou / non-anime / non-doujin / non-videogame japanese music, mainly post-rock, shoegaze and indie songs.
It’s a bit different from Foreground Noises, but it’s about a type of music which fits my tastes better.
Check it out if you want! It’s a good chance to find out about some hidden gems and enjoy some good not-so-popular music. Click the logo to reach the website!

kangeki2

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [REQUEST] Applice – 誰何記号群

  1. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

