My Dead Girlfriend – Watashi no Aishita Manatsu no Shinigami

manatu
[original picture by GUM, edited]

Japanese shoegaze is something between japanese and western music, and that’s why I love it so much. Also, that’s why these posts are always wrote in romaji even in their titles. Romajis also appear on the CD songs list without a single trace of kanji, so it’s not only a choice of mine.
I want to keep posting more songs from this band (though I also want to post others), because I think I ended up falling in love with them more than I thought I could.
I love today’s song even more than the other from the previous post, both in terms of music and lyrics. And it’s absolutely my favourite song by My Dead Girlfriend
Let’s start with its title “watashi no aishita manatsu no shinigami” (My Beloved Midsummer God of Death). That alone was enough to charm me.
Summer itself it’s a pretty nostalic season in my mind. As I picture summer, I always picture a twilight, and a reddening setting Sun which seems it could last forever, but never actually does.
Also, Summer was the season where some of the most important encounters (and heartbreaks, I guess) happened in my life.
That’s why the title caught my attention so much. Because it reminded me of my very own “Midsummer God of Death”.
She appeared without being noticed on the hottest summer, she took away my life, and she disappeared. But I still can’t stop thinking about her. –that’s the feeling this song gaves me. Again, it talks about death, but I don’t think it’s really about it. As “disappearing” means “death”.
Maybe I’m feeling this song like this because of things that happened, because of my memories, because of my own midsummer nights’ dreams, but I still love this song anyways.
I couldn’t find a picture that perfectly resembles what this song makes me feel, though. And I’m really sad about it. “Twilight” is probably the word that describes them best.
A twilight which, again, seems to last eternally… but it won’t.
I really care about this post, this song, my translation, everything on it.
I hope you enjoy. I’ll also leave a subbed video for this song by me.
NOTES:
– Last stanza (last?) features a personal choice of mine. “yureru” (揺れる) means “to sway”, but of course it’s implying the movement of the hair while being rustled by the wind. Thus my translation. Because I love that kind of image and I know it’s what the song’s talking about. It would also felt kind of weird, otherwise.

My Dead Girlfriend – Watashi no Aishita Manatsu no Shinigami

打ち上げ花火、浮かんだ
腐乱した君の死体
最後の夜だとしても
一緒にいれてよかった

uchiage hanabi, ukanda
furanshita kimi no shitai
saigo no yoru da to shite mo
issho ni irete yokatta

Skyrocket fireworks and your
floating decomposing corpse;
Even if this will be our last night
I’m glad we could be together

打ち上げ花火と消えた
儚いあのこの気持ち
最後に言えたとしても
きっと伝わらなかった

uchiage hanabi to kieta
hakanai ano ko no kimochi
saigo ni ieta to shite mo
kitto tsutawaranakatta

Those fickle feelings from that time
Disappeared along with the skyrocket fireworks
Even if I’d tell you at the very end
You wouldn’t understand it, I’m sure of it

燦々と照らす太陽の下
僕は一人、目をまわす
畑に咲く向日葵さえ、僕を笑ってる
だんだんと暮れてゆく夕日で
君のことを思い出す
いつかは忘れる思い出
離れられずにいる

sansan to terasu taiyou no shita
boku wa hitori, me o mawasu
hatake ni saku himawari sae, boku o waratteiru
dandan to kureteyuku yuuhi de
kimi no koto o omoidasu
itsuka wa wasureru omoide
hanarerarezu ni iru

Under the bright shining Sun
I’m alone, looking around
As even sunflowers blooming on the fields are laughing at me;
By the setting Sun, sinking gradually,
I’m remembering about you
As the memories one day I’ll forget
Are still here, without getting away

揺れる君の髪の毛や
遠く響く足音に
僕の頭の中では
今も会いに行ける

yureru kimi no kami no ke ya
tooku hibiku ashioto ni
boku no atama no naka de wa
ima mo ai ni yukeru

Your hair rustled by the wind
Or the sound of your steps, echoing in distance;
They’re all inside my head
And I can even meet them now

燦々と照らす太陽の下
僕は一人、目をまわす
畑に咲く向日葵さえ、僕を笑ってる
だんだんと暮れてゆく夕日で
君のことを思い出す
いつかは忘れる思い出
離れられずにいる

sansan to terasu taiyou no shita
boku wa hitori, me o mawasu
hatake ni saku himawari sae, boku o waratteiru
dandan to kureteyuku yuuhi de
kimi no koto o omoidasu
itsuka wa wasureru omoide
hanarerarezu ni iru

Under the bright shining Sun
I’m alone, looking around
As even sunflowers blooming on the fields are laughing at me;
By the setting Sun, sinking gradually,
I’m remembering about you
As the memories one day I’ll forget
Are still here, without getting away

揺れる君の髪の毛や
遠く響く足音に
僕の頭の中では
今も会いに行ける

yureru kimi no kami no ke ya
tooku hibiku ashioto ni
boku no atama no naka de wa
ima mo ai ni yukeru

Your hair rustled by the wind
Or the sound of your steps, echoing in distance;
They’re all inside my head
And I can even meet them now

Credits

Title: Watashi no Aishita Manatsu no Shinigami (My Beloved Midsummer God of Death)
Source: Original
Vocals: Ishikawa, Takahashi
Lyrics: My Dead Girlfriend (死んだ僕の彼女)
Arrangement: 石田ショーキチ (Ishida Shoukichi)
Circle: My Dead Girlfriend (死んだ僕の彼女)
Album: Ixtab
Release Date: 03/10/2010

Listen to it on Youtube here: My Dead Girlfriend – Watashi no Aishita Manatsu no Shinigami

Translated by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use it, but don’t forget to credit!

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Shoegaze and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Dead Girlfriend – Watashi no Aishita Manatsu no Shinigami

  1. dusomlyser says:

    Hi!
    Could you make a lyrics from the song Yotogibanashi no Kamikakushi?
    It would be really cool!

    • Can I get more info about it? Like, band, album, etc.? I don’t know how to search for it if I don’t have this!
      Also, if you have the lyrics / booklet in kanji it would be better. Or else, I’ll try searching for the lyrics myself, but I can’t guarantee anything!
      I’ll add it to the request list once you let me know more about it!

  2. Pingback: My Dead Girlfriend – Sweet Days and Her Last Kiss *耳コピ歌詞 | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

  3. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

