[REQUEST] サリー (Sally) – ルク

slrk
[picture by tokoroten (hmmuk), slightly edited]

This song has been requested by Mickey Scarletsius.
That’s not the first Sally post (I think that’s the third one?), but it’s always nice to see chances to translate Sally’s songs.
Sally is probably one of the most important circles to me, and not necessarily in a good way.
I kinda hate this circle because I love it, and I kinda love it because I hate it. It’s almost impossible to explain.
Anyway, it’s a circle that gave me lots of beautiful songs and memories but also disappointed me countless times.
I can say that’s a circle that’s important to me more because of the memories I have of it, rather than the actual time I spend right now listening to it (which is a thing that I actually don’t do that much).
So, correct me if I’m wrong, but today’s song should be something new, right?
I mean, this never appeared on the original Less album, right? From a certain point onwards, I stopped listening with attention to their albums, focusing only on those few tracks I enjoyed a lot.
So, I have no idea how their latest album are structured in terms of number of tracks.
But again, this song I’m going to translate today isn’t a bad song.
I still think it’s far away from Sally’s best works, but compared to most of their disappointing tracks (and there are, like, a lot, at least to me) it’s not bad at all.
For example… I loved zen~然~, and I can easily say it’s one of my favourite track by this circle (of course not as much as min~眠~), but… was it necessary to remix it, ruining its delicate and intense atmosphere?
That’s one of the question humanity can’t answer to.
Just like, “Where do we come from?”, or “Are we alone in this universe?” or “Why is Shion always complaining in his posts intros?”
NOTES:
– 二人の幻 (futari no maboroshi) fourth stanza. It’s “two illusions”, but the counter used for “maboroshi” (illusion) is “hito” (person), so it’s refering to “illusion”, but it’s implying that they’re two persons.

サリー (Sally) – ルク

心を繋いでいた 約束とか
言葉が溢れていた 好きだった

kokoro o tsunaideita yakusoku to ka
kotoba ga afureteita suki datta

Promises and such, fastening my heart
“I loved you” – those were my overflowing word

せめてを期待してた 我が侭とか
笑顔が離れなかった どうしても

semete o kitaishiteta wagamama to ka
egao ga hanarenakatta dou shite mo

In selfishness or such, at least I was hoping
That no matter how your smile won’t leave me

もう戻れないって 言い聞かせたら
もう戻れないって

mou modorenaitte iikikasetara
mou modorenaitte

But I can’t get back to when I was warned
I can’t get back

月が照らしてる 二人の幻
羽根をちぎったら
痛みでもう一度思い出す

tsuki ga terashiteru futari no maboroshi
hane o chigittara
itami de mou ichido omoidasu

If the two illusions illuminated by the Moon
Would lose their wings
They’ll remember it once more, through pain

君が揺らしてる 二人の世界で
抉った傷口
こぼれて生温かくて

kimi ga yurashiteru futari no sekai de
egutta kizuguchi
koborete nama atatakakute

In their world, the world you’re swinging,
That gouging wound
It’s overflowing in lukewarmness

未来を変えられたら 何度でも

mirai o kaeraretara nandodemo

If I could change the future countless times…

もう離さないって 言い聞かせたら
もう離さないって

mou hanasanaitte iikikasetara
mou hanasanaitte

But I can’t get back to when I was warned
I can’t get back

月がわらってる 二人の幻
羽根をちぎったら
痛みでもう一度思い出す

tsuki ga waratteru futari no maboroshi
hane o chigittara
itami de mou ichido omoidasu

If the two illusions the Moon’s laughing at
Would lose their wings
They’ll remember it once more, through pain

時を刻んでる 二人の世界で
抉った傷から
こぼれて甘くて苦くて

toki o kizanderu futari no sekai de
egutta kizuguchi
koborete amakute nigakute

In their world, the world ticking away the time,
That gouging wound
It’s overflowing now sweet, now bitter

もう戻れないって 言い聞かせたら
もう戻れないって

mou modorenaitte iikikasetara
mou modorenaitte

But I can’t get back to when I was warned
I can’t get back

嘘でもいいから 嘘でも逢えたら
言えなかったこと
今更もう一度伝えたい

uso de mo ii kara uso de mo aetara
ienakatta koto
imasara mou ichido tsutaetai

It’s okay even if it’s a lie, if we could meet through it;
I want to say them again, right now,
The things I couldn’t say before

月が照らしてる 二人の世界で
抉った傷口
こぼれて生温かくて

tsuki ga terashiteru futari no sekai de
egutta kizuguchi
koborete nama atatakakute

In their world, the world irradiated by the Moon,
That gouging wound
It’s overflowing in lukewarmness

嘘でもいいから 嘘でもこのまま
言えなかったこと 今更もう一度

uso de mo ii kara uso de mo kono mama
ienakatta koto imasara mou ichido

It’s okay even if it’s a lie, by now even if it’s a lie
The things I couldn’t say before… right now, once more…

Credits

Title: ルク (ruku)
Original Track: 月の妖鳥、化猫の幻 (Strange Bird of the Moon, Illusion of the Mysterious Cat), Ghostly Field Club, track #7
Vocals: めらみぽっぷ (Meramipop)
Lyrics: シュリンプ (Shrimp)
Arrangement:ワニ (Wani)
Circle: サリー (Sally)
Album: LessExtra
Release Event: C89

Listen to it on Youtube here: サリー (Sally) – ルク

Translated by Shion (@FGRNDNoises)
Feel free to use it, but don’t forget to credit!

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [REQUEST] サリー (Sally) – ルク

  1. Eiki says:

    >chances to translate
    That sure explains why so many tracks were left untranslated 😡
    And still are, actually

  2. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

