[REQUEST] UNDEAD CORPORATION – うつぼ舟

nues
picture by hima (mizu ni tsuyoi)

【Requested by Helly

I have the feeling I have heard this song before, but I actually haven’t.
But I swear the intro reminds me of a Merami song I’ve forgot about (was it Black Parrot?).
This song booklet wasn’t my best ally. No readings whatsoever, and also featured some cut sentences which I had to write myself.
The song itself is nice, though.
Let’s make a note before the other notes. The title for this song (which also appears in the lyrics) is “utsubo-bune”. I did some researches, because I had no idea what it meant.
It looks like this utsubo-bune (also known as “utsuro-bune” “虚舟” – hollow ship) is a legend first appeared in the 19th century on several japanese folk tales and novels, as well as on several illustration.
It’s about a cylindrical UFO-shaped ship which appears from the sky and lands on Earth, along with a beautiful woman which is not able to speak human’s language.
This tale is both considered part of japanese folklore and, according to some ufologists, an undeniable proof of close encounters of the third kind.
I left “hollow ship” on the translation, but keep this story in mind. Of course is refering to Nue, which is considered to be a sort of “alien” in the Touhou universe.
Also, the whole concept of UFO themselves in TH12 is probably based off utsubo-bune to begin with.

UNDEAD CORPORATION – うつぼ舟

許してと叫んでも どこにも届かない どうしてなの
深い黒煙の中 わたしを捕えているのは誰

yurushite to sakendemo doko ni mo todokanai doushite na no
fukai kokuen no naka watashi o toraeteiru no wa dare

I wonder why no matter how much I scream my voice won’t reach anywhere;
Who’s capturing me, inside this deep black smoke?

忍び寄る影に歪む口元
振り返るものの闇があるだけ
泣き叫ぶがいい枯れ果てるまで
どこにも出口などありはしない

shinobi yoru kage ni yugamu kuchimoto
furikaeru mono no yami ga aru dake
nakisakebu ga ii karehateru made
doko ni mo deguchi nado ari wa shinai

A shadow draws near, unnoticed, with a crooked smile
Darkness is the only thing I can look back at
I guess it’s fine if I’d cry until the very end
Because there’s no thing such as an escape

喉に喰い込んだの猛虎の刃
囚われしものを離しはしない

nodo ni kuikonda no mouko no yaiba
torawareshi mono o hanashi wa shinai

The fierce-tiger blade stuck on my troath
Won’t release none of the humans it has captured

切り刻みて海に流せど闇は晴れぬぞ!

kirikizamite umi ni nagase do yami wa harenu zo!

Even if you’d cut it in pieces and let it flow in the sea, the darkness won’t clear up!

許してと叫んでも どこにも届かない どうしてなの
深い黒煙の中 わたしを捕えているのは誰

yurushite to sakendemo doko ni mo todokanai doushite na no
fukai kokuen no naka watashi o toraeteiru no wa dare

I wonder why no matter how much I scream my voice won’t reach anywhere;
Who’s capturing me, inside this deep black smoke?

脳髄を駆け巡る鳴き声に
背中に走るは蛇の鞭跡
頬を伝うのは紅のすじ
傷跡の上にまた傷跡を

nouzui o kakemeguru nakigoe ni
senaka ni hashiru wa hebi no muchiato
hoho wo tsutau no wa kurenai no suji
kizuato no ue ni mata kizuato o

This roaring voice running through my head
Is that of the snake running on my back
My cheeks makes a crimson line appear
Making new scars right where there were already others

ひとすじの光を掴めどそれはただ虚空

hitosuji no hikari o tsukame do sore wa tada kokuu

Even if I’d grasp a single ray of light, it’ll be just void

どれほど時が経てば 闇の底から抜け出せるの
この身体蝕まれ 獣に成り果てる前に

dore hodo toki ga tateba yami no soko kara nukedaseru no
kono karada mushibamare kemono ni narihateru mae ni

How many time should pass before I can leap away from this deep darkness?
Before my body will be consumed, before I’d be reduced into a mere beast…

ゆらゆら たゆたう この空舟にゆられて
このままどこまでも どこまでも
こころと身体がゆれている 苦しみと快楽
交り合って堕ちて飛べなくなったら

yurayura tayutau kono utsubo-bune ni yurarete
kono mama dokomade mo dokomade mo
kokoro to karada ga yureteiru kurushimi to kairaku
majiri atte ochite tobenakunattara

Swaying up and down, I’m swayed by this hollow-ship
Everywhere, everywhere, just like that;
The suffering and pleasure swayed by my body and heart…
If they would blend together and fall down, unable to fly again, then…

許してと叫んでも どこにも届かない どうしてなの
深い黒煙の中 わたしを捕えているのは誰

yurushite to sakendemo doko ni mo todokanai doushite na no
fukai kokuen no naka watashi o toraeteiru no wa dare

I wonder why no matter how much I scream my voice won’t reach anywhere;
Who’s capturing me, inside this deep black smoke?

どれほど時が経てば 闇の底から抜け出せるの
この身体蝕まれ 獣に成り果てる前に
獣に成り果てる前に

dore hodo toki ga tateba yami no soko kara nukedaseru no
kono karada mushibamare kemono ni narihateru mae ni
kemono ni nare

How many time should pass before I can leap away from this deep darkness?
Before my body will be consumed, before I’d be reduced into a mere beast…
…Become a beast.

Notes:

– 猛虎の刃 (mouko no yaiba) ok, that’s probably some kind of quote / whatever I didn’t grasp. “mouko” is “fierce tiger” (literally), “yaiba” is sword / knife.
So…? Beats me. The whole song is about Nue, not only the character, but also the creature. So, “black smoke” or “tiger” could be linked to the Nue creature, which bears resemblance with a tiger and it’s said to be able to turn into a black mist.
– I have NO idea how 底 is read on the fourth to last stanza. It should be read “soko”, but on the booklet there’s no reading for it. I keep on hearing 空想~空想家 (kuusou – kuusouka | fantasy, visionary) but I can’t understand clearly. Plus this song is 120% vocal effects, so understanding what she’s saying is not easy. I’m very sorry about this. If you know what she says, let me know.

tohobox

Title: うつぼ舟 (utsubo-bune) (Hollow Ship)
Circle: UNDEAD CORPORATION
Album: 特ーSPECIALー (Included with TOHO COMPLETE BOX)
Vocals: 桂琳
Lyrics: パインツリー (Pine Tree)
Arrangement: パインツリー (Pine Tree)
Release Event: C85
Source: 平安のエイリアン (Heian Alien), Unidentified Fantastic Object, Nue Houjuu’s Theme

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [REQUEST] UNDEAD CORPORATION – うつぼ舟

  1. Pingback: The very last 2016 post – Foreground Noises: Retrospective & Avanspective | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

  2. Johnny says:

    Hello, for 底 instead of soko, I hear her sing okusoko 奥底. Maybe it’s just me? But she pronounces “oku” really quickly before the “soko” part.

    As for,
    nodo ni kuikonda no mouko no yaiba
    torawareshi mono o hanashi wa shinai

    The fierce-tiger blade stuck on my troath
    Won’t release none of the humans it has captured

    I feel like yaiba/blade could be more loosely interpreted as fang since there is a fierce tiger there after all… So something like, “The fierce tiger’s fangs sinking into my throat”. If that makes sense to you.

    Also, she pronounces 獣 as kedamono instead of kemono in the song.

    Thank you very much for translating this song! I also found it difficult to hear her pronounce some words with the vocal effects.

Leave a Reply

