音召缶 (OTOMEKAN) – HOWLING at the MOON

moya

When it comes to touhou music, I always end up searching for arranges of theme I like a lot.
And that’s how I found out about this song.
HOWLING AT THE MOON is an arrange of Bamboo Forest in Flames from the recent game Urban Legend in Limbo.
I love this theme. It’s not by ZUN, but I still love it.
It’s the theme for the Bamboo Forest of the Lost, and you can hear it throughout the story mode each time you face Fujiwara no Mokou.
Not only Mokou is one of my favourite touhou character, but with ULiL I come to like her even more.
And it’s a shame this theme isn’t considered to be Mokou’s, ’cause I find it very fitting for her character and her style in ULiL.
Nevertheless, I like to think of 竹林インフレイム as Mokou’s secondary theme.
This post is a message to touhou doujin circles: Arrange this f*cking theme, please! It’s AWESOME!
…Actually this whole post is probably more about chikurin in flame rather than the arrange itself…

音召缶 (OTOMEKAN) – HOWLING at the MOON

君の中 潜む 月夜へと隠したい想い
ah… 今すぐに此処で曝け出してしまえたら
変わり出す姿 本当の君になれたら
ah… 本能のままに従えばらしくなれるね

kimi no naka hisomu tsukiyo e to kakushitai omoi
ah… ima sugu ni koko de sarake dashite shimaetara
kawaridasu sugata hontou no kimi ni naretara
ah… honnou no mama ni shitagaeba rashiku nareru ne

The wishes I want to hide in the moonlight night concealed inside you
Ah… If I would end up exposing all of them right now and here,
If your shape, always changing, would become the real you…
Ah… I would be able to follow up my instincts as they are

誰しもが孤独だと思いながら過ごしてた
どんな日も一人きり 求めることもなくて
繋がった瞬間に寂しさを知ってしまう
そんな君が何よりも愛おしく思うよ

dareshimo ga kodoku da to omoi nagara sugoshiteta
donna hi mo hitori kiri motomeru koto mo nakute
tsunagatta shunkan ni samishisa o shitteshimau
sonna kimi ga nani yori mo itooshiku omou yo

Time goes by, as I think that everyone is lonely
All the days spent completely alone without seeking for anything
In the moments linked to them, I got to know what the lonesome is
And you, only you, were the most beloved thought I had

HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON 全てが変わり出した
月夜に誓いを 君と今 始めよう
HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON 求めたその先へと
二人の軌跡を永遠に 描き続けて

HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON subete ga kawaridashita
tsukiyo ni chiaki o kimi to ima hajimeyou
HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON motometa sono saki e to
futari no kiseki o eien ni egaki tsudzukete

HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON and everything is changing;
I’ll start making a promise to this moonlit night now, for you
HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON Just before I seek it
I’ll keep drawing forever our path!

君が今 照らす横顔をただ見つめた
ah… 時が今止まる そんな気がしていたのに
悲しげな瞳 静かに君を抱き締めた
ah… 優しさが君を追い詰めてしまわないよに

kimi ga ima terasu yokogao o tada mitsumeta
ah… toki ga ima tomaru sonna ki ga shiteita no ni
kanashigena hitomi shizuka ni kimi o dakishimeta
ah… yasashisa ga kimi o oitsumeteshimawanai yo ni

I was just looking at your profile under the light
Ah… Even though I had the feeling the time just stopped
I embraced you silently, with sad eyes
Ah… I hope this kindness won’t drive you away from me…

人知れず涙した 孤独の意味を知る度
こんなにも切なくて 胸が痛くなるから
側にいて 君の声 月が二人を見ていた
こんな夜が永遠に続くよな気がした

hito shirezu namida shita kodoku no imi o shiru tabi
konna ni mo setsunakute mune ga itakunaru kara
soba ni ite kimi no koe tsuki ga futari o miteita
konna yoru ga eien ni tsudzuku yo na ki ga shita

Each time I’m reminded of my loneliness, a tears falls down, unnoticed
And because such a thing is so sad my hearts starts hurting
Make your voice be by my side; As the moon looks down at us
I had the feeling this night was going to continue for all the eternity…

HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON 強く気高き者よ
孤独を切り裂き 今はただ望むまま
HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON 求めて私のコト
愛さえ知らない夢なんて 見たくないから

HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON tsuyoku kedakaki mono yo
kodoku o kirisaki ima wa tada nozomu mama
HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON motomete watashi no koto
ai sae shiranai yume nante mitakunai kara

HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON You’re such a sublime strong being!
Tear this loneliness to pieces, I just want to keep wishing
HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON Seek for me
Because I don’t want to have a dream where I can’t even love

誰しもが孤独だと思いながら過ごしてた
どんな日も一人きり 求めることもなくて
繋がった瞬間に寂しさを知ってしまう
そんな君が何よりも愛おしく思うよ

dareshimo ga kodoku da to omoinagara sugoshiteta
donna hi mo hitori kiri motomeru koto mo nakute
tsunagatta shunkan ni samishisa o shitteshimau
sonna kimi ga nani yori mo itooshiku omou yo

Time goes by, as I think that everyone is lonely
All the days spent completely alone without seeking for anything
In the moments linked to them, I got to know what the lonesome is
And you, only you, were the most beloved thought I had

HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON 全てが変わり出した
月夜に誓いを 君と今 始めよう
HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON 求めたその先へと
二人の軌跡を永遠に 描き続けて

HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON subete ga kawaridashita
tsukiyo ni chikai o kimi to ima hajimeyou
HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON motometa sono saki e to
futari no kiseki o eien ni egaki tsudzukete

HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON and everything is changing;
I’ll start making a promise to this moonlit night now, for you
HOWLING! HOWLING at the MOON Just before I seek it
Let’s keep drawing forever our miracle!

Notes:

– Third stanza: “kiseki” wrote with those kanjis means “train tracks” (which I translated to “path” because c’mon, we’re not talking about trains). But the word, with different kanjis, can also mean “miracle”. That’s why I translated like this when it appears again. 99% is what the song’s meaning wanted to convey to begin with.

COVERUNAVAILABLE

Title: HOWLING at the MOON
Circle: 音召缶 (OTOMEKAN)
Album: HOWLING at the MOON
Vocals: Renna
Lyrics: —
Arrangement: MUZIK SERVANT
Release Event: C88
Source: 竹林インフレイム (Bamboo Forest in Flames) – Urban Legend in Limbo, Mokou’s Stage Theme

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

