Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 2/5

FRG02

Here’s the second part of Foreground Eclipse Retrospective (whose title should be something like “me babbling about Foreground Eclipse and forcing my opinions to readers, but we don’t care”).
There’s a link at the bottom of each retrospective post for reading the other parts, so just check it out!
As I stated on the previous post, I’ve decided to start with Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises for a lot of reasons, mainly being that’s the first CD I’ve ever listened from this band.
But today we’re covering the first EP, Missing, Loving… and Suffering as well as their second CD, the last from the Suzuori-era: Tears Will Become Melodies Tonight.
In my opinion, those two don’t shine as much as the other album does, and here’s an important lesson I’m revealing to you all.
I love Foreground Eclipse and they sure are one of my favourite band ever, but I’m not forced to appreciate every song they did.
When you love something or someone, you don’t have to hold back on what you don’t like about it/him/her/whatever.
You’re not forced to lie to yourself and say you like something you don’t!
…Okay, you got the picture. There will be some 1-star-rated songs on this post.
So, what is this post about?
My opinions (I’m writing this again: MY PERSONAL OPINIONS) on Foreground Eclipse’s song, with comments, stories, ratings and everything.
This is purely subjective and it’s not absolutely a critic to Foreground Eclipse.

Missing, Loving… and Suffering

Let’s not count those EPs with two tracks (FgE made a lot of those), I’ll talk about them (if there’s need to do so) on the fifth part of this “retrospective”.
Following the order, Missing, Loving… and Suffering is their very first CD that I’m glad I didn’t listened before Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises.
I think my first impression wouldn’t have been that good if I’d started with this CD instead of the other.
Let’s start the sh*tstorm!!

02. Wandering, Never Wondering
Personal rating: ★★☆☆☆
Long story short: The only reason I can’t give this song 1 star is because I love its guitar / bass lines.
Merami’s vocal are (I can’t believe I’m saying this) AWFUL! I love Merami and I’m f*cking goin’ to fly to Japan and marry the f*ck outta her (that sounded way too rude), but here we have a double engrish-unexperienced singer (Merami grew a lot as a singer during FgE’s carreer) combo which ruined a song with really, REALLY high potential.
But in the sky lies a gentle God that heard our prayers and decided to…
…You’ll find out on part 4 of this retrospective.

03. 恋詠
Personal rating: ★★☆☆☆
A song like others.
An arrange of Faith is for Transient People which is very calming, I must say, but nothing that is strong enough to get stuck on my head.
I can easily forget about this song, but can’t rate it 1 star because its vocals are really well done, and overall is a simple but yet nicely done arrange.
Compared to the track #02, the vocals seem to belong to a different singer.
But, talking about instruments arrange, this song only stands out for the initial guitar riff, while the other was really strong on that point.
Hey, but fear not.
The same God from before listened to our prayers again, and brought us an even better arrange of Faith is for Transient People which completely overshadows this one becau—
Oh wait, I’m not allowed to talk about it now.
Let’s talk about that again on part 3 of this retrospective.

04. Alone With You (Dying To See Your Face)
Personal rating: ☆☆☆☆

……..
………..I’m sorry.
Let’s start saying we’re talking about the CD version of this song, not the demo CD one (which is definetely better).
And that Green Eyed Jealousy is one of my favourite touhou theme ever and it’s so difficult for me to find a fitting arrange, so I’m particularly picky when it comes to arranges for this theme.
I never liked this song.
Engrish vocals and not-so-well done, just like the track #02, but this time the rhythm, that is NOT BAD at all, is not even something that’s hard to forget, plus it completely fucks up the feel of the original theme by ZUN.
I’m sorry, that’s the first one-star song by FgE, in my opinion.
But there’s another version of this song, which we’ll talk again on part 5 of this retrospective.
I’m ending every songs’ opinion with “part (#) of this retrospective. Maybe I’m turning into a robot.

05. Throve Keys
Personal rating: ★★★☆☆
Finally something above 2 stars!
I like this song, and I was really happy to find out it was about Higurashi no Naku Koro ni which has been one of my favourite animes for a long time.
Don’t forget my nickname is Shion! Even though it’s not only due Higurashi. But who cares.
Truth is, this song’s biggest flaw are the vocals, but not because they’re bad.
They’re just weak and overshadowed by the other instruments.
If it was clearer, I would have easily gave this song 4-stars, because I really like it.
But thinking about it again… mmh… Nah, maybe it lacks of something else.
Now that I have a clear picture of how FgE make music and know lots of 5 and 4-stars worth songs, I think a 3-stars is more than fitting for this one.
Expecially if we compare this to another song wh-[COMING ON PART #3 OF THIS F*CKING RETROSPECTIVE]

06. White Wind
Personal rating: ★★★☆☆
This song is really similar both in rhythm and lyrics to Forget me Not from the previous post, but if I had to make a comparison, I’d say this one feels more like a first version of the other, making this a really good song but not as much as Forget me Not, in my opinion.
Again, there’s the problem of the voice that is weak and a bit overshadowed by the other instruments, and that’s a shame too.
This is surely the best track from this CD, and, again, this proves that FgE are really great when it comes to making original music.
Ahh~, why are they gone? WHY?!

Tears Will Become Melodies Tonight

This is the last album of Suzuori-era, which marks a new phase of FgE’s musical experience.
When I got into FgE’s music, this album was already out.
I clearly remember I listened to every other EPs / tracks as soon as they came out just after this album.
So, in a way, this album marked a new phase on my experience too.
I really enjoyed waiting for FgE to announce stuff, and, I must say, I really miss that feeling.
There’s no western / eastern band that was hyped for as much as I was for Foreground Eclipse…
[screamo sigh]

02. Fall Of Tears
Personal rating: ★★☆☆☆
I’ve listened to this song… really few times.
Because no matter what, I can’t get into it.
I know it’s not a bad song, but, at least to me, its impact is small.
For instance, its intro made a bigger impact to me than the whole song, and that’s nothing good, if you ask me.
Also, this song seems to be this CD’s most popular track (and also its symbolic track), so I’m actually kind of sad I’m not able to enjoy it as I would.
But maybe that’s also because I don’t like that much the original theme from where this comes from?
Mh. I don’t know. This song simply doesn’t talk to me.

03. Flames Within These Black Feathers
Personal rating: ★★★☆☆
Okay, this track is awesome.
It’s the most brutal from the whole album f—- No wait, it’s not. I remembered another one.
Why am I writing this when I could have simply erased the text?
Anyways.
I like this song and I remember liking it even more years ago.
And that’s why it’s a three-star. Because I like it, but not as much as I did before.
The drumtrack still makes me air-drum, though.
But… was it necessary the screaming? Mh…
There’s another version without screaming, and it’s probably a little bit better.
Nothing against screams, of course, but having heard the screamless version before, this one never quite felt like something better than the other.
Maybe let’s talk again about it on the fifth part? I’m sick of writing this sh*tty “let’s talk on post blablah” stuff.

04. Angels, Monsters, The Secret Lyrics
Personal rating: ★★☆☆☆
This song is like the melting clocks on Salvador Dali‘s paintings.
He drew them and realized people like it, so he put them again in at least 100 other f*cking paintings.
In other words, just because the first song was a success, it doesn’t mean you should do it over and over and over again.
This song is merely a parody of the previous one, both in style and title.
At least it’s pretty funny and the rhythm is catchy, but I can’t listen to it without hearing the other Secret Lyrics.
So… yeah, it’s nice but just nice.
By the way, this CD has the songs by FgE I forgot the most about.

05. Iris
Personal rating: ☆☆☆☆
Let’s just say this.
I forgot this song EXISTED until I came across it writing this post.
It’s not that bad actually, but… it has no shadow.
I can’t rate it 2 stars, because it’s not even close to the others I’ve rated as this.
It’s not foreground-eclipsish (WTFSRSLY) at all, and forgettable, and bland.
And, again, maybe it’s because I like the original theme a lot that this “critic” sounds amplified.
Or because it doesn’t sound like something Foreground Eclipse would have done.
But still, I couldn’t even remember this song’s existence.
That alone says it all.
I don’t actually think this song is that bad. It’s presence is just… wait, presence? I don’t think it has one to begin with. That’s the issue.

06. Magus Night
Personal rating: ★★☆☆☆
I remember this song years ago was my sh*t, I couldn’t stop listening to it.
Then, something happened.
It sounds so boring now, and I really don’t know why.
It’s not bad, of course. But not even something I’d listen until my ears would bleed.
In my opinion, this song is far from an “arrange”, and it’s more like a total transposition of the original theme into a song.
It’s not very original and it’s also very repetitive.
I can’t remember how I could have liked this song that much, but I can’t hate it either.
In the middle. Just like the whole CD.

07. Perchance To Dream: Ay, There’s The Rub
Personal rating: ★★★★★
…Okay, scrap that last part.
I f*cking loved this song when it came out on the demo CD and I still f*cking love it to this day.
I can’t even say why.
First of all, it’s an arrange of Ultimate Truth but not even a single bit of it seems like the original theme.
And that’s probably it.
Maybe it’s because it feels more like an original track that I like it that much.
Also, the engRish in this song is hard to comprehend, and so I have no problems with it, strangely.
Though I clearly remember I was shocked to find out it was actually in english.
Oh, by the way that’s the most brutal track from the CD I was talking about before, IMHO.
I don’t know why and I can’t explain why I love this song this much.
Really. It’s hard.
Let’s just accept the fact that it’s worth 5 stars, to me.
…But I actually like the demo-CD version a little better, for some reason. So this is not a full 5 stars, actually. Let’s say a 4,75 stars.

08. Calm Eyes Fixed On Me, Screaming
Personal rating: ★★★☆☆
This is by far the most famous FgE’s song from the Suzuori period.
Most of you probably don’t even know this, but this song is pretty well know in the western screamo panorama too. I clearly remember reading about it and seeing covers of it on youtube done by western fans.
Anyway, this song had a strange impact to me.
At first I didn’t like it at all, but now it’s different.
There are several parts of this song that I really like a lot (the first verses and lots of guitar riffs), but some others that I don’t like at all (some choruses, some bridges).
It’s like this song is constantly bouncing over a pitfall towards the heavens, just to fall down again and keep bouncing.
Bouncing from up to down can only mean three stars.
It’s a good song, but lacks of an integrity that, maybe, could have made this song a better one.

09. Florentia
Personal rating: ★★☆☆☆
The exact same things I’ve said about Iris applies to this one.
Except for two facts: it’s not from a touhou theme I like a lot & I somewhat remembered it more clearly.
Nothing remarkable but a bit more foreground-eclipse-ish and overall a nice song.
But again, I’ve listened to this CD very few times. So of course this post is about the absolute nothingness.

About this post

I think I can’t add anything about these two cds anymore.
At first I was sure that with Suzuori’s dismissions the band would have fall down, but this was proved to be wrong.
The next period, which starts with the Demo CD n°6 towards Each And Every Word Leaves Me Here Alone marks the rebirth of Foreground Eclipse, in which they’ll produce the best songs they ever made.
So, wait for the next post, because there will be tons and tons of stars!
Next post coming… whenever I feel like it.

Rating system:
☆☆☆☆ – Poor
★★☆☆☆ – Nice
★★★☆☆ – Good
★★★★☆ – Very Good
★★★★★ – Excellent

Retrospective parts:

Part 1: Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises
Part 2: Missing, Loving… and Suffering + Tears Will Become Melodies Tonight
Part 3: Each And Every Word Leaves Me Here Alone
Part 4: Stories That Last Through The Sleepless Nights
Part 5: Extra, Bonus tracks, Seated with Liquor

See you next post!
PS: don’t take my blabbering as universal laws.

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Useless Opinions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 2/5

  1. Pingback: Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 1/5 | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  2. alv (@GWAlv) says:

    Welp. Time to sound (unintentionally) contrarian. While I feel the same way you do regarding these two, it’s for different reasons. In retrospect I can’t really say that much about the Missing EP… except that 恋詠 is my personal “Iris”, and that the others are to me, for the most part, all around three stars; they’re iconic and, while they could be better, they could be a LOT worse.
    As for Tears, it was the first album by them I actually could get hype for, and back then I probably listened to it more than Wishes, but now some opinions have changed, and others stayed the same. I’ve always liked Fall Of Tears, though I nowadays think it is the worst intro to their albums (discounting Missing EP). Flames Within These Black Feathers is one of my favorite songs by them… and I heard the album version first, so personally can’t hear it without the screams (JUST COUNT ON ME!!). Secret Lyrics 2 was… eh, compared to the first one; fun, but eh. While I originally really liked Iris, it probably was because I like Shanghai Teahouse a lot (and then I got “Memory of colors” by DtE, fuck YES); it probably IS the least FgE-y song there is. Magus Night… for the most part didn’t care about it; was way too similar to the original. While I did think that Perchance and Calm Eyes were good back then, I still don’t get as pumped with them as I do with Flames (tho they’d share my 2nd place in the album). With Florentia, I’d say that it’s way better than Iris… but I can’t describe why (it can’t be the original theme, as “Twilight acting” would later bring the best build-up with it)
    … my, what a wall of text. If there are final thoughts left regarding Tears, is that Perchance and Calm Eyes do show two particular things: the latter is one of the most (if not THE most) “Post-Hardcore” song by them (tho I can’t classify genres at all), and the former shows an early taste of Teto’s other specialty besides drums and screams. Next time on the retrospective: Synthesizers.

    • I love this exchange of opinions and I seriously hope it’ll keep on till the last part!
      I think my only real 1 star in this post is Alone with You, never liked it at all, the others aren’t bad songs imho, they’re just not the type of arrange I could have expected from FgE.
      Also, all these three CDs’ ratings are not-so-high because of the changes FgE went through after them.
      If they would have keep this pace, I think my ratings would have been higher.
      And yes, I died at “Next time on the retrospective: Synthesizers.” because that’s the truest truth.

  3. Eiki says:

    Koi-Ei 2 stars…. Why…
    Also, I know this is totally a coincidence, but my channel has 1 year anniversary today and you made that Eiki banner…

  4. Pingback: Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 3/5 | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  5. kafkafuura says:

    Florentia fan right here, haha. It’s probably my favorite of Tears, but some of that has to do with me liking energy-laden 天空の花の都 arrangements in general.

    • It’s not like I dislike it, actually.
      Well, I like them anyways after all!
      I think the main reason I couldn’t enjoy some tracks as I wish I could was because I was “late” discovering them.
      Nothing comes as close as the feeling of first listening to an album as soon as it comes out, and that’s probably why I’ve enjoyed FgE more from Each and Every Word onwards.
      Aa~h, good times, good times…

  6. Pingback: Foreground Eclipse – A Retrospective: Part 5/5 [final] | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

