DAOKO – Girl (Side A – さみしいかみさま) part 1/2

girlpart1

One year ago, there was this Me!Me!Me! music video that everyone has watched at least 1000 times.
Well, here’s its spiritual sequel! Girl, DAOKO again.
They’re both from the same author and the songs featuring in them are by the same singer.
Well, at least this time the whole focus won’t be on tits and asses and whatthefuckamaIwatching, right?
Well, to be honest, what caught my attention on Me!Me!Me! were the colors and the animation, and in this one they’re even better.
It’s so fresh to see color so bright and animation so fluid in this era where every anime looks the friggin’ same (reminder: I’m not watching an anime since JoJo ended).
The whole song is, like Me!Me!Me!, cut in more than a part.
While Me!Me!Me! had three segments, this one has only two.
I was planning on doing a double post to fit them both, but I have no time to do it, and so I’m kinda forced to make two posts about them.
The first is, of course, this one, the next one will be posted within 24 hours.
I’m rushing! I feel the urge to add it to foregroundnoises!
The lyrics were on the original websites, so I just had to make a translation out of them!
Let’s fucking go!
NOTES:
– First stanza: 月の裏側 (tsuki no uragawa) means “the other side of the moon”, but I felt like “dark side of the moon” was better. I-it’s not like I fucking love Pink Floyd or something…
– Second stanza: さみしい (samishii, which is also in the title), could mean a lot of things. “sad”, “lonely” or even “pitiful”. I thought “lonely” was the best option.
– Third stanza: 影 (kage) usually is “shadow”. I left it this way. But it could mean a lot of things, like reflection, image, silhouette. In this song, is placed without a context, so…
– Last stanza: “I” (in english) is pronounced as 愛 (ai), japanese word for “love”. Puns!
– The “I love” part on the last stanza is like a chorus, so the lyrics on its right side are the actual lyrics segment.

DAOKO – GIRL -Side A- さみしいかみさま

触れたら崩壊 仮想の世界
何度も創りなおして
ずっと待ってた 身体甘くして
月の裏側から

furetara houkai kasou no sekai
nandomo tsukurinaoshite
zutto matteta karada amakushite
tsuki no uragawa kara

If I touch it, it crumbles; an imaginary world
I rebuilt it times over times
This body, always waiting, has been made sweet
By the dark side of the moon

さみしいかみさま
あたしのこといってんの
さみしくなんかない
さみしいとか考えない

samishii kamisama
atashi no koto itten no
samishiku nanka nai
samishii to ka kangaenai

A lonely God
Only a particle, to me,
I’m not lonely at all,
I can’t think of things such as loneliness

ねえ きみの生まれた世界は
きみの過ごしてる味は
甘い 辛い しょっぱい 苦い
それとも 酸っぱいの?
どれくらいの愛情を
この世界に向けてんの?
影 嘘くさいな
仮面舞踏会みたい

nee kimi no umareta sekai wa
kimi no sugoshiteru aji wa
amai karai shoppai nigai
soretomo suppai no?
dore kurai no aijou o
kono sekai ni muketen’no?
kage usokusai na
kamenbudoukai mitai

Say, the world you were born in
The flavours you’ve been tasting
Were sweet, spicy, salty, bitter
Or maybe sour?
How many of this feeling of love
Have you been sending towards this world?
Its shadow sounds like a lie
Just like a masquerade ball

ぐるぐるぐるぐる まわる
すぐすぐすぐすぐ空いちゃう
ぽっかり空いた穴から
甘い 淡い 痛い 溢れる

guruguruguruguru mawaru
sugusugusugusugu haichau
bokkari aita ana kara
amai awai itai afureru

Spinning around and round and round and round
Opening up rapidly, rapidly, rapidly
From the gaping hole freshly opened
Sweetness, paleness and sorrow overflow

触れたら崩壊 仮想の世界
何度も創りなおして
ずっと待ってた 身体甘くして
月の裏側から

furetara houkai kasou no sekai
nandomo tsukurinaoshite
zutto matteta karada amakushite
tsuki no uragawa kara

If I touch it, it crumbles; an imaginary world
I rebuilt it times over times
This body, always waiting, has been made sweet
By the dark side of the moon

触れたら崩壊 妄想の果て
何度も創りなおして
ほらみて触れて
何か感じて 本当のアタシを

furetara houkai mousou no hate
nandomo tsukurinaoshite
hora mite furete
nanka kanjite hontou no atashi o

If I touch it, it crumbles; the edge of delusions
I rebuilt it times over times
Here, look, touch it
I’ve kind of felt something, the real me

触れたら崩壊 妄想の果て
何度も創りなおして
触れた途端に崩れて消える
あたしの中のアタシ

furetara houkai mousou no hate
nandomo tsukurinaoshite
fureta totan ni kuzuretekieru
atashi no naka no atashi

If I touch it, it crumbles; the edge of delusions
I rebuilt it times over times
The moment I touched it, it crumbled and vanished-
The me inside myself

I 愛 I 愛 I 愛 しりたい
I 愛 I 愛 I 愛 あいして
I 愛 I 愛 I 愛 アイがなくちゃ
この世界は破滅よ

I ai I ai I ai shiritai
I ai I ai I ai aishite
I ai I ai I ai ai ga nakucha
kono sekai wa hametsu yo

I love I love I love I want to know
I love I love I love loving
I love I love I love has gone away
This world is a ruin.

Credits

Title: Girl (さみしいかみさま)
Vocals: DAOKO
Lyrics: DAOKO
Circle:TOY’S FACTORY
Arrangement:小島英也 (ORESAMA)
Album: 「さみしいかみさま / ShibuyaK」
Release Date: TBA (October 21st, 2015)

Listen to it on Youtube here: DAOKO – Girl

Read part 2 here: DAOKO – Girl (Side B – ゆめみてたのあたし)

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Song Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to DAOKO – Girl (Side A – さみしいかみさま) part 1/2

  1. Pingback: DAOKO – Girl (Side B – ゆめみてたのあたし) part 2/2 | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  2. hataketsu says:

    Amazing work!! I love your translation and comments. One question : did you use Google translator or by yourself? I just want to deeperly understand it 😀
    Best regard.

  3. hataketsu says:

    I like Japanese too and self-study now. Your blog is a great place with lyrics and translation :like: . I like Vocaloid most btw 😉

  4. Karen says:

    Thank yooooou!! ❤

  5. roger smith says:

    thanks! i need this 😀

  6. Pingback: GIRL by daoko 「ガール」 | shannaroshoujo

  7. Pingback: The very last 2015 post – foregroundnoises’s past, present and future | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  8. Pingback: ORESAMA – ドラマチック | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  9. Fuwa Fuwa says:

    Thank you for the English lyrics. I will translate English to Turkish and I’ll share it on youtube. But don’t worry. I’ll put this website’s link. I hope that, that’s not a problem for you. If it’s a problem please say 🙂

  10. Pingback: DAOKO – もしも僕らがGAMEの主役で | (Wishes Hidden in the) Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

