[REQUEST] ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY – Mellow

mellow

【Requested by Tiyanaryuh

First of all, thanks to Tiyanaryuh for sending me EVERY single ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY‘s booklet out there.
I owe you one.
Second, this is a half-request. It’s true that he suggested me to translate this song, but I’d probably would have done anyway.
Because this song is absolutely (seewhatIdidtherehuehuehuhe) outstanding.
When ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY sticks to a more eastern-style of music, it’s a guaranteed masterpiece, as we heard before on other songs such as 慟哭の杜, とおりゃんせ or 待宵姫 (click ’em and read ’em).
What can I say about this song? Nothing, actually. It speaks for itself. It’s stunning. One of the best song I’ve ever translated, seriously.
Everytime I listen to some ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY’s tracks, I want to cry because of how unpopular they are compared to several other more successful doujin circle they’re not worth being.
Reality is kinda harsh.
But that’s why I keep posting them now and then. The world must know!
About the song, for some reason some stanzas are entirely wrote in katakana (I traced out every single word in the romaji, so don’t worry).
I didn’t get why this choice.
Sometimes katakana is used to mark words, but, strangely, in this song it looks like as if it’s the opposite.
The words in katakana seem to be far away from the rest of the lyrics, as the kanjis in some full-katakana sentences made me realize.
Why is that? I don’t know, but I don’t feel it to be so strange.
Maybe is just a matter of style, but it works, oddly enough.
Also, I kept the title as “Mellow” instead of メロウ in katakana because it’s the same thing.

ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY – Mellow

気高き魂の行く末は風の中
何を望み 何を見て 何を悟る
希望はおぼろげにちらついて追いつけはしない
渇いた鼓動が水を求める

ketakaki tamashii no yukusue wa kaze no naka
nani o nozomi nani o mite nani o satoru
kibou wa oboroge ni chiratsuite oitsuke wa shinai
kawaita kodou ga mizu o motomeru

The fate of a noble soul dwells inside the wind
What does it wish for? What can it see? What can realize?
Hope is flickering faintly, it can’t catch up
The dried heartbeat longs for water

イトシイ ユルサレナイ ムネガイタイ
イトシクオモウホド
コワイ マジワラナイ ソレデモイイ
イタミサエイトシイ

itoshii yurusarenai mune ga itai
itoshiku omou hodo
kowai maji waranai sore demo ii
itami sae itoshii

My dear, I can’t forgive you, my heart aches
No matter how my memory is dear to me
It’s scary, I can’t get apart from it, but it’s alright;
Even this pain is dear to me

一人 宵闇紛れて歩いた
みずたまり 冷たさが足に触れた

hitori yoiyami magirete aruita
mizutamari tsumetasa ga ashi ni fureta

I walked into the twilight, confused, alone
My feet felt the coldness of a puddle

どれだけおもっていても 許されない感情もあるわ
理解してる 慣れているの 心を抑えること

doredake omotteite mo yurusarenai kanjou mo aru wa
rikaishiteru nareteiru no kokoro o osaeru koto

No matter how much I think about it, there are even unforgivable feelings
Understand it, get used to it… to the fact that the heart can be sealed

気高き魂があるのなら見せてほしい
何を感じ 何を知り 何をすれば
希望の煙は消えないで照らしてくれるの
涙も痛みも 超えたいのに

ketakaki tamashii ga aru no nara misete hoshii
nani o kanji nani o shiri nani o sureba
kibou no tomoshibi wa kienai de terashite kureru no
namida mo itami mo koetai no ni

If there’s a noble soul out there, then please let me see it
What do I feel? What do I know? What should I do?
The light of hope won’t fade away, it will light upon me
Even though I’d want to overcome even those tears, this pain…

トケテク マザッテイク ニジムシカイ
セカイハカワラズ

toketeku mazatte iku nijimu shikai
sekai wa kawarazu

Melting and mixing on my blurry vision field
The world isn’t changing

二人 夕焼け 重なるシルエット
一番に望んでたその結末

futari yuuyake kasanaru shiruetto
ichiban ni nozondeta sono ketsumatsu

Our silhouettes becoming one in the sunset…
That’s the conclusion I wished for the most

何よりかけがえのないあなただから”幸せになれ”と
これでいいの これがいいの ずっと願っていたの

nani yori kakegae no nai anata dakara “shiawase ni nare” to
kore de ii no kore ga ii no zutto negatteita no

And because you’re my irreplaceable one, I said to you “be happy”
And it’s okay this way, it’s fine as it is… that’s what I always prayed for…

いつしか無意識に溜め込んだ痛みの雫は
間もなく溢れてしまうのかしら

itsu shika muishiki ni tamekonda itami no shizuku wa
ma mo naku afurete shimau no kashira

The unnoticed drops of pain accumulated in my unconscious
Will probably end up overflowing in a blink of an eye

今だけ許してほしい 明日には戻るわ
ダレニモ イエナイ オモイヲ
アメニナガシテ
あなたがすき
サヨナラ サヨナラ
イトシイ貴女 サヨナラ

ima dake yurushite hoshii asu ni wa modoru wa
dare ni mo ienai omoi o
ame ni nagashite
anata ga suki
sayonara sayonara
itoshii anata sayonara

I just want to be forgiven now, tomorrow I’ll be back
I’ll let flow along with the rain
Those thoughts I can’t say to anyone
“I love you”
Goodbye, goodbye
Goodbye, my beloved one…

気高き魂の行く末は風の中
何を望み 本音は 何を見て 逃げ去る 何を悟る
希望はおぼろげにちらついて追いつけはしない
渇いた心が鼓動が叫んで水を求めて

ketakaki tamashii no yukusue wa kaze no naka
nani o nozomi hon’ne wa nani o mite nigesaru nani o satoru
kibou wa oboroge ni chiratsuite oitsuke wa shinai
kawaita kokoro ga kodou ga sakende mizu o motomete

The fate of a noble soul dwells inside the wind
What does it wish for? What is its intention? What can it see and disappear? What does it realize?
Hope is flickering faintly, it can’t catch up
The dried heartbeat longs for water, screaming

あなたの幸せを誰よりも望んでる
打ち寄せては 秘めてた
押し返す 理想の 想い超えて
痛みの最果てに辿りつく答えはあるのか
解らない 掴めない
それでも いつの日か 超えてみせるわ

anata no shiawase o dare yori mo nozonderu
uchi yosete wa himeteta
oshikaesu risou no omoi koete
itami no saihate ni tadoritsuku kotae wa aru no ka
wakaranai tsukamenai
soredemo itsu no hi ka koete miseru wa

I wish for your happiness more than everyone else’s
Concealed by the water passing by
Overcoming the ideal thoughts I held back
I wonder if there lies an answer in the furthest edge of pain?
I don’t know, I can’t seize it
But still, one of these days, I’ll show you I can overcome this all

絡んだ糸ほどいて
素直なまま 無垢な心のまま
落ちる涙雨に 甘えたまま
少し泣いていい・・・?

karanda ito hodoite
sunao na mama mukuna kokoro no mama
ochiru namida ame ni amaeta mama
sukoshi naite ii…?

I untie the string I had entwined on me
And while I’m being honest, while my heart is so pure
As a rain of tears falling down on me is mocking me…
It’s okay if I cry a little bit…?

Notes:

– 鼓動 (kodou) is not necessarily “heartbeat”, it’s simply “beat”. But most of the time it stands for “heartbeat”, and I found it pretty fitting for this stanza.
– 心を抑えること (fourth stanza) I translated this as “the heart can be sealed”, and I hope it doesn’t sound strange. That’s the most literal translation. The meaning I wanted to convey (and the meaning the song implies) is that the heart, in other words feelings, toughts, memory etc. can be “sealed”, so can be ignored, one can look away from them. I really like this stanza. And this song. And everything.
– 煙 (fifth stanza) is usually read as “kemuri” and means “smoke”, but here is read as 灯火 (tomoshibi), meaning “light”, “lamp”.
– The last stanza is probably talking about the aka-ito (赤糸) japanese legend. This whole song is about a person trying to forget another person he/she loves but doesn’t love him/her back.
The legend of akaito states that every soulmates has a red string of fate tied to their pinkies, and eventually they’ll find each other thanks to this bound.
In the last stanza, the person who stills loves the other that doesn’t anymore, is forcedly removing that string of fate from his/her finger, because, in the end, he/she realized how things can’t work out, how, maybe, it was all an sweet illusion to begin with. This hits home so close I want to scream. And, by the way, this is beautiful. Terribly, horribly beautiful.

confetti1

Title: メロウ (Mellow)
Circle: ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY
Album: 金平糖レトロチカ (Confetti Retrotica)
Vocals: Nakae Mitsuki
Lyrics: Nakae Mitsuki
Arrangement: 塚越雄一朗 (Tsukagoshi Yuichiro)
Release Event: C86
Source: Original

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Song Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [REQUEST] ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY – Mellow

  1. Pingback: The very last 2015 post – foregroundnoises’s past, present and future | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

