Gaki no Tsukai translations: Info, FAQs & Everything else

[DUE COPYRIGHT ISSUES WITH MY CHANNEL, THIS POST’S CONTENT ARE NO LONGER VALID (AT LEAST FOR NOW)]

gakinotsukai

First of all: That’s not a translation post / a post related to japanese music whatsoever.
As someone who follows my blog or my youtube page already knows, I’m translating Gaki no Tsukai clips by years.
What is Gaki no Tsukai? I’m not wasting any time explaining that, just google it and you won’t regret it.
So, what’s this post about? Let’s try to explain.

Fansubbing & Encoding

I started fansubbing 2-3 years ago for fun and I noticed that people actually watched my translated videos and enjoyed them a lot, and that’s amazing.
I learned by myself how to add subtitles, how to set the “right” timing and how to encode everything at the end, but it was annoying the first time and annoying even today.
I won’t lie if I say that the most difficult thing about fansubbing is timing the subtitles instead of translating what the guys in the videos are saying.
I struggled a bit, but I managed to upload a bunch of subbed clips on my channel, and eventually I got over 1000 subscribers (which is a lot to me, considering how this started so suddenly and without no one helping me).
And I’m not considering quitting. I love Gaki no Tsukai and I love to spread some new clips to gaki fans who can’t speak or understand japanese.
Oh, by the way, I helped translating 1 hour of the Earth Defense Force Batsu Game with Team Gaki, but on my youtube channel (due copyright issues / complaining and sh*t) I only upload short clips of Gaki.
Anyway, while I’d like to keep translating and having a frequent upload pace, life is life and a lot of stuff comes in the way.
I’m graduating this year and I’m studying a lot in order to be able to do so… And than there’s this blog’s translations (which don’t take me much time as timing subtitles does…), books to read, friends to meet, graduation thesis to write, concerts to perform with my band, hobbies and stuff that leaves me only a few spare time that I don’t like to spend doing something I don’t like to do.
And while I like translating, I DON’T like timing.

Timing

“There’s the rub”, would write Shakespeare.
Truth is, I suck at timing subtitles, and I usually spend more than 2 hours for just a 1 minute clip. That’s crazy and tires me up to death.
I recently uploaded a short clip just as a sign, like “Hey guys, I’m not dead yet, but, y’know, I suck at timing subtitles and I won’t fucking stand a clip longer than a minute, I’m sorry”.
But hey! I’m doing this for free! I don’t want to die timing!
On another clip (and on this blog) I wrote about the fact that I’m looking for someone to help me timing my clips.
Read HERE for more, but let me explain it further. (CLICK HERE TO READ)
I don’t think I’m able to be the leader of a fansub group (as much as I wish to be one), having tons of stuff to do.
That’s why this project is not a “fansub team” project, but just clips uploaded on my channel, by me.
My channel grew a lot and I think it can grow more, so it will be a shame to leave it as it is by now.
If you’re good at timing subtitle and want to help me spreading Gaki no Tsukai, just let me know!
Just read the other post I linked before to read the instructions. You’ll be credited, so don’t worry!

FAQ

Q: Why are those clips so short?
A: Mainly because of two reasons. First of all, if youtube notices that a full episode is uploaded, the chances that it’ll get removed will be higher than a short one. Second, because, as I stated before, I suck at timing and I really hate doing it, so I stick to short clips so I can upload without spending a year timing the subtitles and losing my hair due nervousness.

Q: What’s wrong with the videos’ quality?
A: Yeah, uhm, again, two reasons. First, just like before, higher quality means that the clip is more easy to be found and more similar to the clip aired on television. Just so you know, subtitling and uploading isn’t actually something that should be encouraged, but we’re fan and we’re doing what fans do! …But youtube doesn’t like this, so if it finds out I uploaded a HQ rip from a japanese tv show, he fucks me up.
Second reason is… I don’t know. I mean, I try my best trying to keep my video quality not high but not so low either. Usually I try to keep it between 360p and 480p (which is medium-low), but somehow during the upload process something always goes wrong and yeah… quality drops to 240p and sometimes to 144p.
I don’t really know, I’m technologically retarded.

Q: Will you translate the full episode from where this clip comes from?
A: Uh… it depends. If the full episode is around 20 minutes, not HQ and (most important) already timed/typesetted by someone else, yeah, I’d love to! If that’s not the case… I’m sorry, I won’t.

Q: From which episode does this clip come from?
A: Most of the time you just have to read the description to answer that question. But sometimes I don’t know. I just happen to find on the internet some clips that catch my attention and I start translating them without knowing what they are or where they come from.

Q: Will you translate X?
A: Will you typeset/time X for me?

Projects

There are actually lots of project I planned working at, but couldn’t because the clips were long and I couldn’t stand timing 24 friggin’ minutes of japanese people talking.
I just… I can’t time subtitles. I’m sorry.
Here are some of the clips that I planned subbing, and I still am.
So, if you’re interested in lending me a hand, you can already start timing / typesetting the subs (.ass files) and send them to me!
– ガキの使い おもしろ廊下歩きコンテスト (Gaki no Tsukai – Funny Corridor Walking Contest)
– ガキの使い 藤原の500のコト (Gaki no Tsukai – 500 Things About Fujiwara)
– ガキの使い 松本 挑戦 (Gaki no Tsukai – Matsumoto Challenge) (EVERY UNSUBBED EPISODE)
– キキシリーズ (Kiki Series) (EVERY UNSUBBED EPISODE)
– ガキの使い コスプレバスツアー (Gaki no Tsukai – Cosplay Bus Tour) (EVERY UNSUBBED EPISODE)
– ガキの使い 七変化 (Gaki no Tsukai – ShichiHenge) (EVERY UNSUBBED EPISODE)
Obviously those are only few of the clips I’d like to translate.
If you’re willing to help me, you also get the right to choose which Gaki clip (not only those listed here) we should work to.

There’s really nothing else to add.
Once again, to get a clearer picture read HERE.
Hope you’ll help me, let’s work together!
I actually found someone who wanted to help me, but one has disappeared and the other… I don’t remember. Truth is, I’m still searching for helpers, and I’d love to work with you, and you, and you too!

Contacts

Here’s a tutorial to how to contact me (people always find istructions VERY hard).

Prerequisites:
– Being able to read
– Being able to read and understand
– Being able to read and understand and read once more so you’re really sure you understood what you just read

Nice! Now, if you fullfil the prerequisites, here’s how you can contact me (which, obviously, means everything else that’s not wrote down here is not a valid method):
– via mail: write me an e-mail to m_baratta@hotmail.it adress.
– via Twitter: send me a tweet / PM to @FGRNDNoises.
– via Facebook: send a message my account.
– via Skype: add flakyz2 to your contacts.
– Simply comment this post.

You can ask me everything you want in the mail / messages. We’ll talk about what to do and decide together which clip we should start to work to. Lending me a hand doesn’t mean being bounded to my translations. In other words, you’re not obliged to keep typesetting for me! You can also typeset a clip and then get the f*ck back to your home planet far far away in the galaxy! That’s totally cool!
You’re basically help me when you want to: I can’t force you to continue or to do what I want to do.
I hope this post doesn’t sound stupid / pretentious, but I’m really looking forward to working with other Gaki fans who share my passion.
Let’s keep subbing and spreading the love!

And keep an eye to my channel: マウロ (Shion)
(this post was created in order to put it under my videos descriptions AKA those things that no one ever reads)

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Blog News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

