Further Ahead of Warp – Calm Days Draw a Distant Star

outline

So, before translating other requests, I wanted to post this song so badly.
Calm Days Draw a Distant Star by Further Ahead of Warp is surely on of the recently-discovered song I like the most.
No, that’s not right. It’s my favourite recently-discovered song. I love it so much it’s becoming something I can’t take away from my head.
I already found other translations on the internet, but I decided to translate it myself, because it deserves to. Some parts were grammatically wrong, others had different structures… I didn’t find them very fitting, so I translated them myself from zero, according to my tastes.
I may not be the best at finding the right words, but at least I want to fix some of the grammar horrors I witnessed (just kidding… or not?).
But again, I like this song so much I can’t just not add to my collection. If I don’t add it, I feel like I can’t keep living my wordpress life (?). So, here we go.
This appears to be an arrange from Celestial Wizardry ~ Magical Astronomy, but it doesn’t feel like one of it, to me.
I wanted to use a picture of Yuyuko which appears on the cover of Sleeping Imperfect Blue, the album from where this song is taken, but as I found out it’s an arrange from a ZUN‘s original song… Here’s Mary and Renko for ya’.
I like this picture a lot, it perfectly shows the double-faced meaning of this song.
Closeness and distance, love and fear, rationality and fantasy, joy and sorrow, dreams and reality, nostalgia and hope. I fucking love this song.
Oh, don’t mind the english (uncoloured) part. I know it’s very engrish, but it’s just like that.

Further Ahead of Warp – Calm Days Draw a Distant Star

Where are we going. Your messages disappear into the starry sky
There is out of the world that we didn’t know
Where are you going. Calm days are drawing a distant star
I think about you while sea of stars swallow me

小さな星屑なにも掴めない
考えることが怖くて目を逸らす

chiisana hoshikuzu nanimo tsukamenai
kangaeru koto ga kowakute me o sorasu

Fearing that I won’t be able to catch any of
Those little fragments of stardust, I look away from them

透明に指先描く奇跡
繋ぐ線僕の中で溶ける
今はまだ届かないほど遠い
見てるのは君だけ遠くの君だけ

toumei ni yubisaki egaku kiseki
tsunagu sen boku no naka de tokeru
ima wa mada todokanai hodo tooi
miteru no wa kimi dake tooku no kimi dake

The miracle of the invisible painted wire
Connecting our fingertips is dissolving inside me;
I’m still so far that I can’t reach you
But the only one I’m watching is you, only you who’re far away…

Into the darkness. I’m only a stardust in this universe.
Spread my memories here and be oblivious it one by one
Into the darkness. Voices from beyond the sky.
Spread my memories here and be oblivious it one by one

星の声耳元描く奇跡
子守唄僕の中で溶ける
今はまだ無邪気な子供のまま
夢を見るあの日の背中の温もり

hoshi no koe mimimoto egaku kiseki
komoriuta boku no naka de tokeru
ima wa mada mujakina kodomo no mama
yume o miru ano hi no senaka no nukumori

The miracle of the lullaby that draws the voice
Of the stars in my ears is dissolving inside me;
As I’m still the same unchanged innocent child,
I dream of the warmth of your back from that day.

ズレていく時間から
いつか忘れてしまうね
少し悲しい目をして好きと呟く

zureteyuku jikan kara
itsuka wasureteshimau ne
sukoshi kanashii me o shite suki to tsubuyaku

Because time ticks away so fast
You’ll end up forgetting about it, right?
So, I whisper “I love you”, with a bit sad eyes…

透明に指先描く奇跡
繋ぐ線僕の中で溶ける
今はまだ届かないほど遠い
見てるのは君だけ遠くの君だけ

toumei ni yubisaki egaku kiseki
tsunagu sen boku no naka de tokeru
ima wa mada todokanai hodo tooi
miteru no wa kimi dake tooku no kimi dake

The miracle of the invisible painted wire
Connecting our fingertips is dissolving inside me;
I’m still so far that I can’t reach you
But the only one I’m watching is you, only you who’re far away…

Notes:

– ズレていく (zureteiku) three things. First, it’s wrote as “iku” but she clearly says “yuku”. They mean the same thing, so not a big deal.
Second, “zureru” means “slip”, “slip off”, but giving that we’re talking about time, I translated it as “ticks away”, because it makes more sense.
Third, “iku” at the end indicates that the verb is proceeding, as if it’s making a movement forward; so I added “fast” to underline this fact.

sib

Title: Calm Days Draw a Distant Star
Circle: Further Ahead Of Warp
Album: Sleeping Imperfect Blue
Vocals: 明日から四月, Xu a.k.a. Nuiito (screams)
Lyrics: Xu a.k.a. Nuiito
Arrangement: Xu a.k.a. Nuiito
Release Event: C86
Source: 大空魔術 ~ Magical Astronomy (Celestial Wizardry ~ Magical Astronomy) – Magical Astronomy, track 8

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Further Ahead of Warp – Calm Days Draw a Distant Star

  1. Pingback: [V 3.0] + My Top 15 Touhou Arranges | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  2. Pingback: The very last 2015 post – foregroundnoises’s past, present and future | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

