[REQUEST] Thousand Stories – 覚醒の火種

marisa2

【Requested by Helly

Thousand Stories – 覚醒の火種

注ぐ光にこの身を焼かれては逃げる術も無く
いつかの敗者はどこへ消えたのか結界に今踊らされ

sosogu hikari ni kono mi o yakarete wa nigeru sube mo naku
itsuka no haisha wa doko e kieta no ka kekkai ni ima odorasare

Not even letting my body burn to the pouring light is a way to escape;
The losers that will eventually vanish are now forcedly dancing inside a barrier.

思い返してみても腑に落ちないけれど
ただ敗北を味わう今の自分がいるだけで

omoikaeshite mite mo fu ni ochinai keredo
tada haiboku o ajiwau ima no jibun ga iru dake de

Though it doesn’t make sense even if I’d change my mind,
Right now, with defeat as the only thing I can taste,

「どういうこと」問いかけることしかできず
無表情なその答えは「手を抜いていただけよ」

“douiukoto” toikakeru koto shika dekizu
muhyoujou na sono kotae wa “te o nuiteitadake yo”

,I can’t do anything but asking myself “What’s the meaning of this?”
“Just let everything ease up for you”, that’s the expressionless answer.

恐れていた言葉不意に投げかけられ認められなくて
「事実をただ受け入れなさい」勝者は冷徹を貫く

osoreteita kotoba fui ni nagekakerare mitomerarenakute
“jijitsu o tada ukeirenasai” shousha wa reitetsu o tsuranuku

I won’t accept those sudden words I used to fear,
“Just accept the reality”, braces the cool-headed victorious.

返す言葉もない 今はただ俯くだけで
涙すら流れずに……

kaesu kotoba mo nai ima wa tada utsumuku dake de
namida sura nagarezu ni…

I’m just bending down without any words of rebut,
If only I could do this without having my tears flowing…

独り空を仰ぎながら想う
今までこんな絶望があったか

hitori sora o aoginagara omou
ima made konna zetsubou ga atta ka

While looking up to the sky, alone, I think:
Has this despair up until now always been there…?

木々の隙間漏れてくる光が
やけに眩しく瞳を閉じていた

kigi no sukima moretekuru hikari ga
yake ni mabushiku hitomi o tojiteita

The light shining through the space between many trees
Violently closed my eyes with its radiance

何かが違っている無数の敗北たちとは
考えてみたところで答えは見えない

nani ka ga chigatteiru musuu no haibokutachi to wa
kangaete mita tokoro de kotae wa mienai

There’s no answer I can grasp after trying to think about
The infinite number of defeats which have something wrong.

「奢っていれば勝てるわけもない」と
聴きなれた声この耳をとらえて

“ogotteireba kateru wake mo nai” to
kikinareta koe kono mimi o toraete

“There’s no way you can win if you you’re being that extravagant”,
This sentence spoke by that voice I got used hearing is what my ear grasps…

「勇気と知志なら ̄ ̄」

“yuuki to chie nara–“

“But if you’ll use wisdom and courage—“

見落としていたよそれは一番の誇る武器
なぜあの瞬間気付かなかったのか

miotoshiteita yo sore wa ichiban no hokoru buki
naze ano shunkan kidzukanakatta no ka

I failed to notice it, that’s the number one prideful weapon!
I wonder how could I not realize it before?

まだ終われないと心に再び火を着けて
あの日の苦渋をまた想って
勝利の地図を描く

mada owarenai to kokoro ni futatabi hi wo tsukete
ano hi no kujuu o mata omotte
shouri no chizu o egaku

As long as I’m not finished, in my heart a flame will light once more;
I’ll think again of the bitterness of those days
And draw a map to the victory!

「弱い者」などと初めから決められはしない
この手で必ず示してみせるから

“yowai mono” nado to hajime kara kimerare wa shinai
kono te de kanarazu shimeshite miseru kara

One shouldn’t state “you’re a weak person” or such from the beginning:
Because I’ll definitely show you my strenght with my own hands!

一筋の光目の前に輝いている
戦おうたとえそれが幻の様に消えようとも

hitosuji no hikari me no mae ni kagayaiteiru
tatakaou tatoe sore ga maboroshi no you ni kieyou to mo

A single ray of light is shining before my eyes:
I’ll fight even if I’d disappear just like an illusion..!

Notes:

– The whole first stanza talks about “the loser / the losers”, and it’s not clear wether she’s talking about herself or some other people.
– Second and Third stanzas are linked together, that’s why I kept the comma at the beginning of the third stanza.
– As note 1, in the thirds stanza is not easy to figure out if the anwser comes from the same person who made the question or if there’s someone else.
– 火を着けて (hi wo tsukete) is pretty strange. Not the sentence itself. “hi wo tsukete” means “to set a fire”, “to light a fire”. But what’s strange is that the kanji for “tsukete” is 付けて, not 着けて. The one used for this song means “to arrive”. I left the translation as “light a fire”, but I wanted to point out that it could have some deeper meanings.
– 示してみせるから (shimeshite miseru kara) Japanese is fucked up. Shimesu = show; Miseru = show. Why using two verbs with the same meaning?! Also, I added “my strenght” because it’s implied and I didn’t know how to make the sentence look normal without adding it.

chiribotan

Title: 覚醒の火種 (kakusei no hidane) (flashpoint of awakening)
Circle: Thousand Stories
Album: 散牡丹 (chiribotan)
Vocals: めらみぽっぷ (Meramipop)
Lyrics: 黒岩サトシ (Satoshi Kuroiwa)
Arrangement: 中島岬 (Misaki Nakajima)
Release Event: Touhou Kouroumu 6
Source: 魔女達の舞踏会 ~ Magus (The Witches’ Ball ~ Magus), Shuusou Gyoku, Marisa Kirisame’s Theme

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [REQUEST] Thousand Stories – 覚醒の火種

  1. Hellscythe says:

    Thaaaaaaaaaaaank you so much! 😀
    Never expected that kind of lyrics. They are nice and encouraging.
    Also, don’t forget to log in Skype, so I can keep spamming you my thanks >=D

Leave a Reply

