[REQUEST] Riverside – scape

KYOUKO

【Requested by Helly

Riverside – scape

空っぽな心で佇むゲートに (In to the silence)
歪んだ残響が 胸の奥を壊していく (Can you feel my sympathy?)

karappona kokoro de tatazumu geeto ni (in to the silence)
hizunda zankyou ga mune no oku o kowashite iku (can you feel my sympathy?)

With my hollow spirit, I stand still towards the gate (into the silence)
As the deflected echo destroys the deepest part of my heart (can you feel my sympathy?)

何気なく見上げた宵空はやけに冷たくて
途切れ途切れ零れた涙の理由も伝えられない

nanigenaku miageta yoi sora wa yake ni tsumetakute
togire togire koboreta namida no wake mo tsutaerarenai

The nonchalant evening sky I looked up was frightfully cold,
And I can’t even explain the reason of those intermittent flowing tears…

今なら間に合うだろうか
ただ無慈悲に迫る霧を統べて
迷わず駆け出せたのなら
見つけられる 揺るぎ無い真実を
僕の鼓動に

ima nara ma ni au darou ka
tada mujihi ni semaru kiri o subete
mayowazu kakedaseta no nara
mitsukerareru yuruginai shinjitsu o
boku no kodou ni

If it’s now, I should make it time, right?
Ruling over a mist that draws near into dull ruthlessness…
If I won’t lose my way and start running
I could find that solid truth
In my heart’s pulsation

有り触れた想いを胸に隠して (Missing together)
交わした言葉さえ 僕を急かし惑わせてる (Can I feel your sentiment?)

arifureta omoi o mune ni kakushite (missing together)
kawashita kotoba sae boku o sekashi madowaseteru (can I feel your sentiment?)

Our common thoughts, hidden in my heart, (missing together)
As well as the words we exchanged are rapidly bewildering me (can I feel your sentiment?)

差し出されたその手に溢れた 眩い光
謎仕掛けの心解き放つ
奇跡 まだ信じたい

sashidasareta sono te ni afureta mabayui hikari ni
nazo shikake no kokoro toki hanatsu
kiseki mada shinjitai

The dazzling light overflowing from the hand you held out
Sets free the mysterious mechanism in my heart:
I still want to believe in miracles.

今なら君の手を引いて
超えていける 晴れぬ闇も全て
迷わず触れ合えたのなら
思い出せる 温かな心音-ヌクモリ-を
心重ねて

ima nara kimi no te o hiite
koeteikeru harenu yami mo subete
mayowazu fureaeta no nara
omoidaseru atatakana nukumori o
kokoro kasanete

If it’s now, I’ll catch your hand
And be able to overcome even the unchanging darkness;
Without losing my way, if our hands are joined,
I’ll be able to remember that warmth
Piled up in my heart

今なら間に合うだろうか
ただ無慈悲に迫る霧を統べて
真っ直ぐに見つめ合えたなら
走り出せる まだ君と生きてたい
この世界で

ima nara ma ni au darou ka
tada mujihi ni semaru kiri o subete
massugu ni mitsumeaeta nara
hashiridaseru mada kimi to ikitetai
kono sekai de

If it’s now, I should make it time, right?
Ruling over a mist that draws near into dull ruthlessness…
If we could gaze upon what lies further ahead,
We could start running: I still want to live with you
Inside this world

今なら君の手を引いて
超えていける 晴れぬ闇も全て
迷わず触れ合えたのなら
紡ぎだせる 鮮やかな旋律を
心重ねて

ima nara kimi no te o hiite
koeteikeru harenu yami mo subete
mayowazu fureaeta no nara
tsumugidaseru azayakana senritsu o
kokoro kasanete

If it’s now, I’ll catch your hand
And be able to overcome even the unchanging darkness;
Without losing my way, if our hands are joined,
I’ll be able to spun out that vivid melody
Piled up in my heart

Notes:

– In the first stanza, the word “心” (kokoro), as even a non-japanese-student knows, means “heart”. But not like the organ we all have (that would be 心臓, shinzou). It’s the concept of “heart” that could also mean “one’s self”, “one’s spirit”, “one’s mind”. Therefore, in order not to repeat the word “heart” two times, I decided to translate it as “spirit”.
– 心音-ヌクモリ- There’s the word 心音 (shin’on, sound of one’s heart) and the word -ヌクモリ- (nukumori, wrote in katakana, meaning “warmth”) next to it, according to the official booklet. Shin’on isn’t read, and “nukumori” is the reading they decided to give to the two kanjis compound.
– 理由 in the second stanza should be read as “riyuu”, but it is, instead, read as “wake”. They both mean “reason”, “meaning”, so it’s not a big deal.
– 僕の鼓動に (boku no kodou ni) I translated it as “in my heart’s pulsation”, even though there’s no word for “heart”. For two reasons: the first being that it’s obvious it’s talking about a heart, the second being that instead of that I would have wrote “my throbbings” or such, which I already used in other translation and didn’t feel like putting in this one too.
– 晴れぬ闇 (harenu yami) I translated it as “unchanging darkness”, because “harenu” means “that doesn’t brighten up”. “Darkness that doesn’t brighten up”, at least to me, sounds kinda stupid. “Unchanging darkness” fits more, in my opinion.

metamor

Title: scape
Circle: Riverside
Album: metamorphoXIs
Vocals: 秣本瑳羅 (Sara Matsumoto)
Lyrics: 秣本瑳羅 (Sara Matsumoto)
Arrangement: _yoc.
Release Event: Reitaisai 9
Source: 妖怪寺へようこそ (Welcome to the Youkai Temple) – Ten Desires, Stage 2 Theme

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [REQUEST] Riverside – scape

  1. Hellscythe says:

    Yaaaaaaay! Thank you a lot! ^^

Leave a Reply

