[REQUEST] Register6 – 曼珠沙華

manjusyage

【Requested by yAMAiNOS

I think that would be the first time ever I’ve been requested a song that I already knew, from a circle that I still enjoy today, despite being part of my “early touhou phase”: register6.
A thing that probably most of people don’t know is that Komachi is one of my favourite Touhou character (or probably my favourite one).
So, it’s obvious that I’d know a CD with such an awesome Komachi picture on its cover (which I also used for this post due unbearable awesomeness)!
Also, there are so many arrange of Komachi’s theme that I love. My personal best three are Vermillion Halo (obviously), hitokata and 冷酷なる河のほとりで (that I need to translate… mh).
Manjushage is an awesome arrange too. The title “manjushage” is a synonym for “higanbana“, the red spider lilies that in buddhist mythology are a symbol of buddhist afterlife. They’re stricly linked to Sanzu no Kawa, the buddhist version of river Styx, which is the place where Komachi works in the Touhou series.
And so, it’s pretty obvious that the song focuses on these things.
Departing souls, a river that must be crossed, red spider lilies losing their petals, buddhist references and talk about life, death and reincarnation.
The lyrics for this song fit very well with everything.
Though Komachi is often portrayed as a cheerful and lazy character, we shouldn’t forget that she’s a shinigami, a God of death, and so, she’s not that kind of character that hasn’t a serious side.
Luckily, most of the songs that are arranges of her theme have nice lyrics (just like this one) that don’t put Komachi to shame. Nice!

Register6- 曼珠沙華

白みだした空の果て 明の星を仰ぎ見る
引き裂かれた悲しみの 行方は河の向こう

shiromi dashita sora no hate ake no hoshi o aogi miru
hikisakareta kanashimi no yukue wa kawa no mukou

At the end of the whitening sky I look up to the radiant stars
The whereabouts of my ripped sadness lies beyond the river

命短し人の末路 魂を渡す漕ぎ舟は
引く手数多止め処なく 六千散る華のよう

inochi mijikashi hito no hate tama o watasu kogi fune wa
hikuteamata tomedonaku rokusen chiru hana no you

My boat that ferries the spirits of men’s short lives…
A service that won’t ever stop, just as 6000 falling flowers…

【盛者必衰】【栄枯盛衰】
【輪廻転生】【回向】【諸行無常】

“joushahissui” “eikoseisui”
“rinnetenshou” “ekou” “shogyoumujou”

“the prosperous must decay”, “life has ups and downs”
“everything is part of samsara”, “prayers for the departed”, “words are transitory”

消えてゆく命の灯火の際を 涙で送る
彼の岸にまたひとつ咲いてた 紅い華

kieteyuku inochi no tomoshibi no kiwa o namida de okuru
ka no kishi ni mata hitotsu saiteta akai hana

I’ll deliver with tears the light of your vanishing life
As, once again, on the other side of the shore, a crimson flower blossoms.

霞みゆく 輝きが ぽつぽつと 川霧の向こうへ

kasumiyuku kagayaki ga potsupotsu to kawagiri no mukou e

The blurred radiance disappears bit by bit into the river mist…

消えてゆく命の灯火の際を 涙で送る
彼の岸にまたひとつ咲いてた 紅い華

kieteyuku inochi no tomoshibi no kiwa o namida de okuru
ka no kishi ni mata hitotsu saiteta akai hana

I’ll deliver with tears the light of your vanishing life
As, once again, on the other side of the shore, a crimson flower blossoms.

虚ろなる悲しき願いが目指す その行く末に
せめてもの餞の言葉を 『安らかに。』

utsuro naru kanashiki negai ga mezasu sono yukusue ni
semetemo no hanamuke no kotoba o “yasuraka ni”

My sad wish becomes hollow, aiming to my destiny;
At least a farewell message: “Rest in peace”.

Notes:

– 【盛者必衰】【栄枯盛衰】【輪廻転生】【回向】【諸行無常】All of those seems to be buddhist proverbs. I couldn’t figure out their meaning just by analyzing their kanjis, but luckily there’s a pre-made translation for each of them. “Samsara” is the endless cycle of life, death and reincarnation in buddhist religion.
– 彼の岸にまたひとつ咲いてた 紅い華 (As, once again, on the other side of the shore, a crimson flower blossoms) In other words, the “other side of the shore” is the afterlife, and the crimson flower (a higanbana/manjushage/spiderlily) is the departed soul. Red spider lilies are a symbol of departed souls, that appears near Sanzu no Kawa’s shore.

 sadamenorasen

Title: 曼珠沙華 (manjushage) (Red Spider Lily)
Circle: Register6
Album: 運命ノ螺旋 (sadame no rasen) (Spiral of Destiny)
Vocals: mIsAkI
Lyrics: オカヒラ (okahira)
Arrangement: ロー (roo)
Release Event: C81
Source: 彼岸帰航 ~ Riverside View (Higan Retour ~ Riverside View) – Phantasmagoria of Flower View, Komachi Onozuka’s Theme

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [REQUEST] Register6 – 曼珠沙華

  1. Pingback: [SOUND HOLIC] Hi-Ne – 冷酷なる河のほとりで | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  2. Pingback: [REQUEST] Undead Corporation – Flowering Night Fever | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

