CLOCKWORKS TRACER – Anthem (For The Fallen Affection)

okuu

With this, only 3 songs left to complete Shangri-La in Bloom. Nice!
Anthem (For The Fallen Affection) is the opening song from the CD, so it kinda feels out of place that I’ve translated it only now.
But there’s no logic in my translations’ order, so it’s okay.
So, that’s an arrange from Nuclear Fusion, a theme that I don’t dislike but I don’t like that much either. I think it’s really appropriate both to Okuu and her stage overall.
But outside the game, is not one of those themes that I’d like to listen to.
I also think that while Okuu’s fight is pretty damn epic (and hella difficult) it’s not very final-boss-ish, and I really don’t know why.
Anyway, there’s no such thing as “dislike” when it comes to Touhou. I just happen to “dislike” common thoughts from fans (for example those who say “Septette for a Dead Princess? BEST TUHU THEME!!11″… seriously? Are you serious? That’s a joke, right?)
Anyway, let’s avoid changing the topic.
Just as Okuu’s theme, this songs stands between the border of “not bad” and “not a masterpiece”, at least to me. Though WeatherH is always amazing.
It’s a good song, but not the best from the album. But again, those are only personal thoughts I’m writing for the sole purpose to fill up some space before posting the lyrics. Come to think about it, I should probably only write a line of random words just to make people think I’m witty enough to write something before translating. So, here’s the random word line:
tits tits tits tits tits tits tits tits tits tits tits tits tits tits tits tits. (because tits will bring views to this wordpress, obv.)

CLOCKWORKS TRACER – Anthem (For The Fallen Affection)

Let’s go!!

接吻る傷跡
ただ散華を待つ衝動
解き放つ誓い
翼もがれるその前に

kuchidzukeru kizuato
tada sange o matsu shoudou
toki hanatsu chikai
tsubasa mo gareru sono mae ni

The scar I kissed;
The urge of waiting just for a glorious death;
The promise to set me free
Just before I could feel even my wings…

Ruined, abandoned, reduced to ashes
Disturbed mind 壊して
Fury, burn out, fire for my vengeance
溶かし尽くせ

ruined, abandoned, reduced to ashes
disturbed mind kowashite
fury, burn out, fire for my vengeance
tokashi tsukuse

Ruined, abandoned, reduced to ashes
Disturbed mind, destroy
Fury, burn out, fire for my vengeance
Melt until you’ll run out of energy!

嘲笑われた運命 今撃ち抜く
抗うは絶望 灼かれ朽ちるまで
貴女がくれたその全て 私が守るから

azawarawareta sadame ima uchinuku
aragau wa zetsubou yakare kuchiru made
anata ga kureta sono subete watashi ga mamoru kara

Now I’ll get rid of the destiny that ridiculed me,
What I’m fighting, is despair; Until it’ll rot as I burn it,
I’ll protect everything you gave to me, so…

Ruined, abandoned, reduced to ashes
Distorted love 捧げて
Fury, burn out, fire for my vengeance
この身果てるまで

ruined, abandoned, reduced to ashes
distorted love sasagete
fury, burn out, fire for my vengeance
kono mi hateru made

Ruined, abandoned, reduced to ashes
Disturbed mind, sacrifice
Fury, burn out, fire for my vengeance
Until my body will wither…

嘲笑われた運命 今撃ち抜く
抗うは絶望 灼かれ朽ちるまで
貴女がくれた心さえ 塵と残らないとしても
何時かの日の照らす場所を 今取り戻すから

azawarawareta sadame ima uchinuku
aragau wa zetsubou yakare kuchiru made
anata ga kureta kokoro sae chiri to nokoranai to shite mo
itsuka no hi no terasu basho o ima torimodosu kara

Now I’ll get rid of the destiny that ridiculed me,
What I’m fighting, is despair; Until it’ll rot as I burn it,
I’ll protect the heart you gave me even if it’ll turn to dust…
For I’ll take back the radiant place back from that day…

Notes:

– 接吻る傷跡 (kuchidzukeru kizuato) according to the official lyrics, its written like that. However, 接吻 is not read as “kuchidzuke” to begin with. It is read as “seppun”, which means “kiss”, just like “kuchidzukeru”.
– 貴女がくれたその全て 私が守るから (anata ga kureta sono subete watashi ga mamoru kara) two things on this. First one being “anata” wrote with the kanji for “woman” (女). So, the word stays “you”, but it implies that we’re talking about a woman (wow, what an intelligente note, considering there’s no such thing as a male in Gensokyo).
Second one is the final “kara”, which implies “because”, “so”, refering to something that is so obvious the speaker doesn’t want to say.
For example, “I will protect everything you gave me, so(kara)…” Could be “…fear not”, or “don’t worry”.
Also, let’s point out that I translated this song FUCKING TWICE. Thanks, unnecessary blackout that made my time spent on translating go to waste.

shangri

Title: Anthem (For The Fallen Affection)
Circle: CLOCKWORK TRACER
Album: Shangri-La in Bloom
Vocals: WeatherH, Yapan (screams)
Lyrics: Yapan
Arrangement: Yapan
Release Event: Reitaisai 10
Source: 霊知の太陽信仰 ~ Nuclear Fusion (Solar Sect of Mystic Wisdom ~ Nuclear Fusion) – Subterranean Animism, Reiuji Utsuho’s Theme

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

