[REQUEST] LA KIA – Break the Memory

sakuya

【Requested by Vital

Another request which dates back to 2010, Break the Memory from the album 幽閉遊戯.
The Maid and the Pocket Watch of Blood is probably one of the few touhou themes whose arrange are always good. And I really don’t know why.
If I had to make a ranking, Embodiment of Scarlet Devil would be, to me, the game with the worst BGMs.
This and Shanghai Teahouse ~ Chinese Tea are the only themes which I like a lot.
But this obviously doesn’t mean that I don’t like arranges from those other themes I don’t really love.
Anyway, back on topic, AKIRA‘s voice is pure gold. I used to listen to some of her albums back on the days when I only listened to this kind of musical genre, and I really liked her style.
The lyrics for this song are obviously related to Sakuya Izayoi, being an arrange of her stage theme.
I don’t know why, but it seems to me that they’re probably also talking about Sakuya’s past, when she used to be a Vampire Hunter (Even though that’s not something officially confirmed…)

LA KIA – Break the Memory

形あるものに疑い抱けと 教えたのは
紛れもなく秒針へと変わる この指だと・・・

katachi aru mono ni utagai dake to oshieta no wa
magire mo naku byoushin e to kawaru kono yubi da to…

Things which come with shapes, come with suspicion
Without any doubt, with this finger, I’ll change the second hand…

迷っていたのは世界でもなく この私で
引かれる左手、刃を右手 隠しながら

mayotteita no wa sekai demo naku kono watashi de
hikareru hidarite, yaiba o migite kakushi nagara

Who lost its way is not the world or anything else;
While hiding the blade on my right hand, I’ll draw my left hand!

光を纏う闇の微笑眩しすぎて
絶やさぬために再び刃を握りしめて

hikari o matou yami no bishou mabushisugite
tayasanu tame ni futatabi ha o nigirishimete

The smile of darkness wrapped in light is too dazzling
In order to avoid extermination, I’ll grasp my blade one more time

向かうゴールもなく走り続けて
凶器の意味さえ忘れ
傷つけていたのは自分自身で
代わりを探していたの

mukau gooru mo naku hashiritsudzukete
kyouki no imi sae wasure
kizutsuketeita no wa jibun jishin de
kawari o sagashiteita no

Even if there’s no goal to face, I’ll keep running
Even though I forgot even the meaning of my weapons
The one who hurt me is only myself
That was searching for a chance to change

「安らげる場所なんて要らないわ」なんて嘘で
甘い香りに囲まれ今を生きている

“yasurageru basho nante iranai wa” nante uso de
amai kaori ni kakomare ima o ikiteiru

“I don’t need such a thing as a restful place”, With that lie…
I’m living the present, wrapped in a gentle scent…

忘れかけた名、呼ばれた違和感は 優しく頭を撫でる
人を想うほどに 私の中の冷たい私を殺す

wasurekaketa na, yobareta iwakan wa yasashiku atama o naderu
hito o omou hodo ni watashi no naka no tsumetai watashi o korosu

When they call the name I started to forget, an uncomfortable feeling strikes my head gently
In order to remember people, I’ll kill the cold me inside myself.

Notes:

– 秒針 (byoushin) = Second Hand, the part of the clock that points the seconds. It’s obviously talking about Sakuya’s ability to control time.

yuuheiyuugi

Title: Break the Memory
Circle: LA KIA
Album: 幽閉遊戯 (Yuuhei Yuugi) (Imprisoned Game)
Vocals: AKIRA
Lyrics: AKIRA
Arrangement: Wooming [Kissing the Mirror]
Release Event: C78
Source: メイドと血の懐中時計 (The Maid and the Pocket Watch of Blood), Embodiment of Scarlet Devil, Stage 5 Theme

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [REQUEST] LA KIA – Break the Memory

  1. Vital says:

    I have to agree on you with the Embodiment of Scarlet Devil BGMs, especially when comparing it to ZUN’s other compositions.
    The lyrics are better than I thought they would be. Thank you for taking the time to translate this song! You wouldn’t mind if I used this translation for a video, would you? I’d really appreciate it if you allowed me to.

Leave a Reply

