Alice Music – Raison d’être

alice

Raison d’être has never been translated, for what I searched on the internet. And it’s a shame, because it has been one of the song I liked the most back in the days I didn’t listen to touhou doujin music that often.
This song, in fact, dates back to 2011 (and it’s hard to believe that 4 [most recent edit: 6!] years have already passed since its release!), and it has one of the catchiest rhythm I ever listened to in a Touhou arrange.
Also, my favourite track from Alice†Holic it’s not this one, but Can’t Release (already translated). Well, it’s pretty obvious I like more the other one, being arranged by God Yuyoyuppe and performed by my waifu Calo.
But raison d’être comes just right after it.

Alice Music – Raison d’être

冷たい涙の世界
愛しく微笑む貴女の顔を
かすんで見えないけれど
美しく世界を彩るでしょう

tsumetai namida no sekai
itoshiku hohoemu anata no kao o
kasunde mienai keredo
utsukushiku sekai o irodoru deshou

A world of cold tears
Where I can’t clearly see
Your smiling face that I love,
But it will become beautifully colored, right?

どれだけ同じ時を過ごしてきても
答えは変わらない
何度も同じ時をやり直しても
答えは変わらない
並行世界を行ったり来たりと
何度も繰り返して
貴女と共に生きていける世界を
探しているけれど

doredake onaji toki o sugoshite kite mo
kotae wa kawaranai
nandomo onaji toki o yarinaoshite mo
kotae wa kawaranai
heikousekai o ittari kitari to
nandomo kurikaeshite
anata to tomo ni ikiteikeru sekai o
sagashiteiru keredo

Even if time is spent in the same way for many vaults,
The answer doesn’t change.
For how many vaults I redo the same times
The answer doesn’t change.
If I’d come and go in parallel worlds
I’d be repeating everything for many times
Though, I’m searching for a world
In which I’ll be able to live with you

答えは出ないまま時は過ぎ
非情にも貴女は老いていき
幸せそうな笑顔を浮かべ
私を独りにする

kotae wa denai mama toki wa sugi
hijou ni mo anata wa oiteiki
shiawasesouna egao o ukabe
watashi o hitori ni suru

And as an answer doesn’t come, the time flows
And rutlessly, you’re growing old
And that happy-looking smile that comes to my mind
Is only making me lonely.

冷たい涙の世界
愛しく微笑む貴女の事を
どれだけ愛したとして
何が残るというのかしら ねぇ

tsumetai namida no sekai
itoshiku hohoeumu anata no koto o
doredake aishita to shite
nani ga nokoru to iu no kashira nee

A world of cold tears
Where for how much I try to love
Your smiling face so dear to me,
I wonder about what it’s still left

悲劇の戯曲か踊らされてるのか
それもわからないの
貴女と過ごした同じ時間は
もうどこにもありません

higeki no gikyoku ka odorasareteru no ka
soremo wakaranai no
anata to sugoshita onaji jikan wa
mou doko ni mo arimasen

Why am I’m forced to dance to this dramatic play?
That’s something that I don’t understand too.
The same time I spent with you
It’s nowhere to be found anymore.

回顧に浸る妄想なんて
報われないと思いませんか
貴女が残した確かなモノ
ただ抱きしめ眠るの

kaiko ni hitaru mousou nante
mukuwarenai to omoimasen ka
anata ga nokoshita tashikana mono
tada dakishime nemuru no

Don’t you think that, maybe,
Delusion soaked in my memories are unrequited?
That thing you left to me, for sure,
It’s only a embracing sleep.

冷たい涙の世界
愛しく微笑む貴女の顔を
どれだけ口づけ交わし
見つめられたとしてもそれは もう

tsumetai namida no sekai
itoshiku hohoemu anata no kao o
doredake kuchidzuke mawashi
mitsumerareta to shitemo sore wa mou

A world of cold tears
Where for how much I exchanged kisses
With your smiling face that I love,
What I used to stare it’s… anymore…

禁忌の魔法
貴女の為なら
厭うことなく
唱えよう

kinki no mahou
anata no tame nara
itou koto naku
tonaeyou

I’d recite
A forbidden spell
Without caring
If that’s for your sake

ただひたすらに求めた
永遠という悲しい二文字を
理など知らないわ
貴女の笑顔が見れるなら

tada hitasura ni motometa
eien to iu kanashii nimoji o
kotowari nado shiranai wa
anata no egao ga mireru nara

The only thing I honestly searched
Are the two sad characters that makes the word “eternity”
And I don’t care about refusals
If I’d just be albe to see your smile

冷たい涙の世界
愛しく微笑む貴女の顔を
かすんで見えないけれど
美しく世界を彩るでしょう

tsumetai namida no sekai
itoshiku hohoemu anata no kao o
kasunde mienai keredo
utsukushiku sekai o irodoru deshou

A world of cold tears
Where I can’t clearly see
Your smiling face that I love,
But it will become beautifully colored, right?

Notes:

– 永遠という悲しい二文字を – the two sad characters that makes the word “eternity”. The japanese word for “Eternity” (永遠) is composed of two characters, the first meaning “long” and the second meaning “distant”. Thus, “Eternity”.

alicemusic

Title: Raison d’être (reason of being)
Circle: Alice Music
Album: ありす†ほりっく (Alice†Holic)
Vocals: ひなまろ (Hinamaru)
Lyrics: ゆずひこ (Yuzuhiko)
Arrangement: ゆずひこ (Yuzuhiko)
Release Event: 七色魔女の人形舞踏会 (Nanairo Majo no Ningyo Budokai)
Source: ブクレシュティの人形師 (The Doll Maker of Bucuresti), Perfect Cherry Blossom, Stage 3 Theme

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Touhou Lyrics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alice Music – Raison d’être

  1. Pingback: (REQUEST) [Alice Music] 星名優子 – magical love’n you | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

  2. Pingback: The very last 2015 post – foregroundnoises’s past, present and future | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

