ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY – Initium Volume.

foregnuo

So, I’ve translated 待宵姫, why not translating also this masterpiece too?
I’ll never understand why ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY are so underrated.
They’re barely known as a doujin circle, and I think the main reason behind this is because their works are totally overshadowed by hundreds of Touhou doujin circles.
That could totally be understandable, giving that ABSOLUTE CASTAWAYS’s songs are (almost) always original pieces.
They have only arranged some tracks from Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni (and I must admit their cover of the opening was hella good) and Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu, but every other work is 100% original.
I listened to every track they composed, and I must say that finding good tracks among them is easy, but finding a track which is totally stunning compared to the others is quite the task.
Now, about this piece… I’m speechless. I don’t even need words to describe it, It means so much to me and moves me everytime.
Just… just read to the lyrics. Seriously, there’s nothing more to add!

ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY – Initium Volume.

終息する音
空の真ん中へ吸い込まれていく
心ごと連れ去ってくれたなら

shuusoku suru oto
sora no mannaka e suikomarete iku
kokorogoto tsuresattekureta nara

The fading away sound
Dissipates further in the center of the sky
It gently took away everything filling my heart…

消えない痛みも
見えない現在位置(たちいち)も
掴めない明日の象形(かたち)さえ
いつかは全てが 懐かしく変わり行くのだろう
音もなく緩やかに

kienai itami mo
mienai genzai tachiichi mo
tsukamaenai asu no katachi sae
itsuka wa subete ga natsukashiku kawari yuku no darou
oto mo naku yuruyaka ni

Even the pain that can’t be erased,
Even the reality’s location that can’t be seen
And even the shape of the tomorrow you can’t grasp…
I wonder if one day everything will start to change with nostalgia
And the sound will slowly fade away too

声が枯れ果てようと構わない
ワタシは歌うよ 歌い続ける
何もかも失われようとも
心には消し去れない
僅かな未来 残っているから

koe ga kare hate you to kamawanai
watashi wa utau yo utai tsudzukeru
nanimokamo ushinawareyou to mo
kokoro ni wa keshisarenai
wazukana mirai nokotteiru kara

I don’t care if my voice will come to wither
I’ll sing, I’ll keep on singing
Even if I’ll lose everything and anything
Nothing could ever be erased from my heart
Because a little bit of future is still left in it

口ずさんだ音
ワタシだけの旋律 調子はずれでも
“それがいい”と アナタは言ったね

kuchizu sanda oto
watashi da ke no uta choushi wa zuredemo
“sore ga ii” to anata wa itta ne

The sounds I’m humming,
A song just for myself, even if it’s out of tune
“It’s okay”, that’s what you said, right?

正しい生き方
正しい道筋も
予測できる 分かっているはず
震えているのは歩いてないから 知らないから
知ることを恐れてた

tadashii ikikata
tadashii michisuji mo
yosoku dekiru wakatteiru hazu
furueteiru no wa aruitenai kara shiranai kara
shiru koto wo osoreteta

The right way to live
And even the correct path to follow
I should know that they could be predicted
But I didn’t know that, because I was paralyzed, trembling,
I was afraid to know

セカイが終わろうと諦めない
ワタシは歌うよ 歌い続けて
アナタが残した
-Last Volume-を
奏でたい 繋げたい

sekai ga owarou to akiramenai
watashi wa utau yo utai tsudzukete
anata ga nokoshita
monogatari o
kanadetai tsunagetai

I won’t give up even if the world is going to end
I’ll sing, I’ll keep on singing
The story that
You left to me
I want to tie it to me and turn it into music.

暗闇の中でしか
見えないものもあったよ
だけど振り返らない
アナタといたいから
光へと…

kurayami no naka de shika
mienai mono mo atta yo
dakedo furikaeranai
anata to itai kara
hikari e to…

Only in the darkness
There were things that I couldn’t see
But I didn’t look back
Because I was with you
Towards the light…

奇跡の花を空へ還そう
さよなら ありがとう もう大丈夫
最後のScore 餞にして
歩くよ これから

kiseki no hana o sora e kaesou
sayonara arigatou mou daijoubu
saigo no score hanamuke shite
aruku yo korekara

I’ll return the flowers of this miracle to the sky
Farewell, thank you, I’m fine by now
Only the last score, your farewell gift
Can make me move forward, from now on

声が枯れ果てようと構わない
ワタシは歌うよ 歌い続ける
何もかも失われようとも
心には消し去れない
僅かな未来 残っているから

koe ga kare hateyou to kamawanai
watashi wa utau yo utai tsudzukeru
nani mo kamo ushinawareyou to mo
kokoro ni wa keshisarenai
wazukana mirai nokotteiru kara

I don’t care if my voice will come to wither
I’ll sing, I’ll keep on singing
Even if I’ll lose everything and anything
Nothing could ever be erased from my heart
Because a little bit of future is still left in it

Notes:

– First of all, according to the booklet, some words are totally messed up. For instance, -Last Volume- on the lyrics booklet is read as “monogatari”, and 象形 (shoukei) is read as “katachi”. That’s up to the lyricists, I’m guessing.
– “dissipate” at the beginning is not quite the correct translation. “Suikomarete yuku” translated as “to be sucked in” but I didn’t find this really… appealing.
– The fourth stanza was hard to translate. Not because of its contents (those are easy), but because of its style. Sentence order in japanese is different from english, and I wanted to preserve the surprise effect this stanza had by keeping the sentence order while trying not to make a pointless translated stanza. If it doesn’t sound nice to you… well… couldn’t think anything better!
– Stanza number 8 “Turn into music” is uncorrect, the verb translates as “to play something with an instrument”, but saying something like that was far too long, and I found the verb “to play” to be unfitting. Thus, “turn into music”, which is quite near to its original meaning.

lastvolumes

Title: Initium Volume.
Circle: ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY
Album: Last Volume
Vocals: Mitsuki Nakae
Lyrics: Mitsuki Nakae
Arrangement: naotyu-
Release Event: M3-32
Source: Original

About foregroundnoises

I'm a 23 y.o. italian guy, I have a degree in japanese language & culture and I'm currently advancing in my studies. I love music but I'm too self-destructive to attempt to produce it myself. Sometimes I gaze at my shoes and think it's a nice genre. Mainly translating japanese music lyrics (Touhou / doujin / indie / etc) and Gaki no Tsukai clips (worked with Team Gaki too). 宜しくお願いしマスタースパーク。
This entry was posted in Song Lyrics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY – Initium Volume.

  1. Pingback: ABSOLUTE CASTAWAY – Last Volume. | Wishes Hidden in the Foreground Noises

Leave a Reply

