[Touhou] 小野塚小町の暴走 – Onozuka Komachi’s runaway

Translator’s Notes

Well, I really like those KomachixShiki stuff, and expecially those kind, made by the same author. For how much I know, there’s another one about Komachi and Shikieiki, which is a parody of jingle bells. Of course one day I’ll sub that one too. I’m starting to like subbing videos, and it’s good to see that people likes my work too. Also, forgive me for using such a small font and such unclear colours. Next time I’ll do something more cleare, like the other video.
Talking about the video, it is way faster than Komachi’s Duty, so subbing it was very difficult, and also trying to understand what Komachi says was not the easiest thing. There could be mistakes, and if you spot some, feel free to leave a comment below. I have no doubt (more or less) about the internal writings that I’ve translated, since they were almost always readable (I still don’t know how I was able to read “Shiki-sama” wrote in that fancy style).
However, here are some notes about some translated sentences and curiosities:
0:21 “[…] Will face their end!” actually this is translated in an unproper way, due the fact that the correct japanese sentence contains the world “pichuun”, which in fanon is the sound produced by colliding to a danmaku in any touhou game. The correct sentence in english would be something like “Will go pichuun!”, in other words “will die”, in other terms, as I wrote.
0:24 I didn’t translate the notes on the background, because they are the wrote-down version of what Komachi is saying as she sings.
0:42 “Tyrol” is a region in Austria, near the North Italy, which is famous due their production of chocolate (which is very good, guaranteed by an italian!)
1:15 “Tsundere… Or kuudere? Or Sadist?” Various stereotypes in anime-characters. If you’re watching this particular touhou video, I’m pretty sure you already know what those terms mean, but I’ll explain it anyway! A tsundere is basically a girl which tends to act violent and grumpy toward a certain person, but actually has a sweet heart, and act in this way because she’s in love with that person. A kuudere is another stereotype, a girl who acts cold and emotionless toward a person, but actually is in love with him/her. A sadist… well, that’s common knowledge, isn’t it?

~Shion

About foregroundnoises

I love music more than everything; I'm also a (shamefully mediocre) bass player and wannabe composer / writer (only in my dreams). Also interested in astronomy, traveling, theatre, literature, poetry, art, movies, mostly everything from Japan and other stuff. I'm also okay with anime stuff as long as I don't have to deal with weeaboos. Touhou project? Love it! Gaki no Tsukai? Love it! Foreground Eclipse? Of course I love them! I'm an university student, I study japanese since years for unknown reasons and I managed to get a degree on japanese language & culture (currently 進学中). I'm italian, but I can (almost) perfectly understand english.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

